Articles

Reviews

MSI VR ONE - Wireless VR Backpack Review
By Wayne Stovall   June 15, 2017
The MSI VR ONE is quite simply a full PC that comes in the form of a backpack that allows you to connect your HTC Vive or Oculus Rift for a "wireless" VR experience. This VR ONE unit packs a GTX 1070 laptop GPU to hopefully supply us with the needed 90 frames per second performance required for a perfect Virtual Reality experience.
Serious Sam VR mGPU NVIDIA GTX Pascal Follow Up
By Wayne Stovall   April 08, 2017
Serious Sam VR was the first commercial enthusiast gaming title to include multi-GPU support with AMD's RX 480 GPU. Now the folks at Croteam have added mGPU support for NVIDIA cards as well. We take a look at how well NVIDIA's VRSLI technology fares in this VR shooter title.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance - Google Earth VR
By Kyle Bennett   November 17, 2016
If you have ever experienced Google Earth, which you likely have, and were impressed with the experience, just imagine having a globe about 6 feet across that you can zoom into so close that you can then stand on the street and look up and appreciate the skyscrapers. So what kind of GPU do you need for this VR application?
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Perf. - Please State Your Name
By Kyle Bennett   November 11, 2016
Please State Your Name is not a game, it is not really an "experience" either, but rather a short film done in a Virtual Reality world, which puts you right in the middle of the story. This genre of VR is where AMD has been putting a lot of its resources. Can we expect the Radeon RX 480 to show us its VR prowess once again?
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Perf. - The Brookhaven Experiment
By Kyle Bennett   November 04, 2016
If naked mutants from another dimension with horribly bad skin conditions interests you, this is YOUR VR game! The Brookhaven Experiment is a tremendously intense 360 degree wave shooter that will keep you on your toes, give you a workout, and probably scare the piss out of you along the way. How do AMD and NVIDIA stack up in VR?
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance - theBlu: Encounter
By Kyle Bennett   October 26, 2016
We are changing gears a bit from Virtual Reality gaming today and are going to focus on a VR experience. theBlu has been around since the inception of the recent VR consumer market. You don't play theBlu, but rather experience it. That said, it can be punishing to lesser GPUs, and this time we see very different performance results from AMD.
Serious Sam VR mGPU AMD RX 480 Follow Up
By Kyle Bennett   October 24, 2016
We all know that Virtual Reality gaming is still in its infancy and we have had lots of great gaming moments already. As content moves forward so is the way game developers are taking advantage of the technologies to make our VR game run better, enhancing our VR experience. Croteam has mGPU working now with AMD's RX 480!
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Serious Sam VR:TLH
By Kyle Bennett   October 21, 2016
If battling Gnaars, Kamikaze dudes, Crazy Frogs, Kleers, Lava Monsters, and Bomb Spawners is on your list of things you want to do more of, then Serious Sam VR: The Last Hope might be right up your alley. We see how AMD and NVIDIA do with providing a great VR experience in SSVR.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: H3VR
By Kyle Bennett   October 17, 2016
Hot Dogs, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades is more of a firearms simulation than it is a game. H3VR certainly does have some gaming and scoring modes of play and the developer is has been very busy increasing the H3VR content depth. If you have never handled a rifle of pistol, H3VR can be somewhat daunting, but certainly rewarding.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Pool Nation VR
By Kyle Bennett   October 07, 2016
If shooting pool is a passion of yours, then Pool Nation VR should be on your list if you own an HTC Vive. Even if you are not a pool shark, this title will likely lure you in to spending many hours shooting stick. But to make it look stunning, you will need a heavy duty GPU up to the task.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Sword Master VR
By Kyle Bennett   September 27, 2016
Do you want to fight the Black Knight in a sword fight? There is not exactly a "Black Knight" in Sword Master VR, but you can certainly get that feeling. In fact, you can fight him and a couple of his friends at the same time if you are up to the challenge. Just pull the sword from the stone for $10.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Trickster VR
By Kyle Bennett   September 23, 2016
Arm yourself with a bow and arrows, a magic sword that flies, or if you prefer, a handful of throwing darts. Then get ready to take on the procedurally generated fantasy world full of cartoonish Orcs, and more Orcs, and some other Orcs. Headshots count as well as chaining your shots so aim is critical. Did I mention the Orcs?
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Space Pirate Trainer
By Kyle Bennett   September 20, 2016
Do you remember playing Galaga? Space Pirate Trainer is a VR game that puts you into an arcade shooter, except as you might have guessed, gameplay is a bit more involved. So how do all the latest GPUs from AMD and NVIDIA hold up to SPT abuse? We wore our arms out, and even knocked a picture off the wall to find out.
Bruce Dell of Euclideon & Holoverse Interview
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2016
It's been five years since we last heard from Bruce Dell of Euclideon about its Unlimited Detail Technology and how he saw it changing the gaming world. Since then Bruce has not been sitting on his hands, and are now delivering the Holoverse VR / AR experience to the folks Down Under. And a new video showing this off!
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Onward Mil-Sim
By Kyle Bennett   September 07, 2016
Downpour Interactive is the company behind the Early Access Game, Onward. It is a self-proclaimed Mil-Sim shooter title. The big thing about this is it looks to be the first VR game that has solid support for multiplayer missions. HTC Vive currently required. What video card do we need this time around for best performance?
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Island 359
By Kyle Bennett   September 01, 2016
When was the last time you got lost in the jungle while hunting dinosaurs? We got lost for a little over an hour last week the day that Island 359آ™ went live on the Steam Store. The Island 359آ™ has the chops to even be able to bring our TITAN X to its knees should you wish to turn up the IQ, and it can be as beautiful as it is scary.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Project Cars
By Kyle Bennett   August 26, 2016
If you like racing games then it is likely that you are familiar with Project Cars. This racing game can push a system to its limits when you turn up the visuals, and that is just what we are doing today while using our HTC Vive VR headset. And this is certainly a game we will add to the VR Leaderboard.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Google's Tilt Brush
By Kyle Bennett   August 22, 2016
We are changing gears a bit with our VR Performance coverage and looking at an application that is not as GPU-intensive as those we have looked at in the recent past. Google's Tilt Brush is a virtual reality application that makes use of the HTC Vive head mounted display and its motion controllers to allow you to paint in 3D space.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance: Valve's Robot Repair
By Kyle Bennett   August 15, 2016
Robot Repair is a mini-game that you can download for free from Steam to use with your HTC Vive VR system. It is highly likely that anyone using a new HTC Vive will play the mini-games inside Valve's The Lab. This is a Source 2 engine demo and perfect to validate prior GPU performance we have tested.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance in Trials on Tatooine
By Kyle Bennett   August 11, 2016
Anyone that buys into an HTC Vive headset will almost assuredly want to wield a lightsaber...for free. This short VR demo built by Lucasfilm’s ILMxLAB aims to put you in a photo-realistic Star Wars environment. Trials on Tatooine is not easy going on all GPUs though and not all will provide a premium VR experience.
AMD & NVIDIA GPU VR Performance in Call of Starseed
By Kyle Bennett   August 09, 2016
We are back this week to take another objective look at AMD and NVIDIA GPU performance in one of the the top selling games in the VR-only realm, The Gallery Episode 1: Call of Starseed. This is another GPU-intensive title that has the ability to put some GPUs on their heels. How do the new RX 480 and GeForce 1000 series perform?
AMD and NVIDIA GPU Vive VR Performance in Raw Data
By Kyle Bennett   August 01, 2016
Both AMD and NVIDIA have had a lot to say about "VR" for a while now. VR is far from mainstream, but we are now seeing some games that are tremendously compelling to play, putting you in middle of the action. Raw Data is one of those, and it is extremely GPU intensive. How do the newest GPUs stack up in Raw Data?
The NVIDIA VR Fun House Experience
By Kyle Bennett   July 14, 2016
The NVIDIA VR Fun House is a little more than a "normal" tech video from the GPU company. This one you get to use the HTC Vive and participate in rather than being stuck on the sidelines watching all the fun. Let's face it, anytime you get to destroy stuff with pistols and hammers, it's a good day.