Articles

Reviews

AKRacing Onyx Office Chair Build and First Impressions
By Kyle Bennett   November 07, 2018
We unbox and build the AKRacing Onyx Office Chair. This is a high-end office chair with plenty of size for us big guys. It has several features that stand out over some of our previous chairs reviewed, namely this one be upholstered in "top grain" leather. Let's see how it all goes together and what our first week's impressions are.
Frank Azor VP of Alienware Interview
By Johnny Gatt   November 07, 2018
We got the chance to catch up with Alienware's Frank Azor down at PAX 2018 in Australia recently. He was kind enough to sit down with us and give us a 30 minute candid interview about where Alienware came from, and where it is today, and where he expects Alienware to be going in the future.
noblechairs Hero Gaming Chair Build & First Impressions
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2018
noblechairs delivered us our most liked office chair in the last year of reviewing chairs. It came to us recently with its new Hero series gaming chair and asked if we wanted to review it. We show you the build process and our first thoughts about the Hero. It looks like it is going to pull off the "gaming" look without all the downside.
CORSAIR T2 ROAD WARRIOR Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   September 06, 2018
The Corsair T2 Road Warrior Gaming Chair was made with us guys that are a bit taller and wider in mind. It has been built with a wider seat, a wider back, and its bolsters are not as pronounced as those we found on the T1 Race chair. We gave the T2 Road Warrior two months of our attention and these are our experiences.
T-FORCE VULCAN & G.SKILL Flare X AM4 Overclocking
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 27, 2018
We take a look at some of the new RAM available for the AMD Ryzen AM4 platform and see how well these work out when it comes to overclockability and timing tweaking. On the test bench today are the Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF Gaming Alliance and G.SKILL Flare X Series RAM, both rated at 3200MHz.
Corsair K63 Wireless Gaming Keyboard & Lapboard Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 22, 2018
Corsair leads its "Unplug and Play" initiative with the K63 Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard. Corsair pairs that keyboard with a custom designed K63 Wireless Gaming Lapboard. The goal here is to allow you to easily move away from your computer desk and into the living room or wherever else you want.
Gamdias ACHILLES P1 L Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 19, 2018
When it comes to the trend of gaming chairs, the Gamdias ACHILLES P1 has some features that you will not find on many gaming chairs. It will satisfy your appetite for having Frag Harder Disco Lights, if that happend to be your thing. It is also separates itself from the heard by giving your a pull out leg rest for when you want to relax and take a nap.
Gamdias ACHILLES P1-L RGB Gaming Chair Build
By Kyle Bennett   March 05, 2018
Gamdias is a company that is new to us and primarily focuses on keyboards, mice, and headsets. It is getting into the "gaming chair" market in the USA. It's first chair available here is the ACHILLES P1-L. The "L" stands for "large," so maybe we can fit into this one. Complete with footrest and RGB lighting, we show you the build and our first thoughts.
Pursuit Ergonomic Chair by UPLIFT Desk Review
By Kyle Bennett   March 01, 2018
One day late last year I got a promotional email from a company that I had done business with in the past, The Human Solution, and it featured the Pursuit Ergonomic Chair by UPLIFT Desk. The chair looked extremely comfortable and supportive while not being off-the-charts expensive. Human Solution was kind enough to send one over for review.
Pursuit Ergonomic Chair Unboxing and Build
By Kyle Bennett   December 01, 2017
This time we are going to be reviewing an office chair that might not be on the "gaming" chair radar. The looks and price of the chair grabbed my attention so we reached out to TheHumanSolution.com folks and they sent one over for review. Priced at $330, this looks like it might be a chair that holds a lot of value.
Nitro Concepts S300 Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 30, 2017
Nitro Concepts is a new name in gaming chairs here in North America, but the company does have a somewhat of a good pedigree. Today we are reviewing the first Nitro Concepts chair available in USA, the S300. The S300 is a more cost conscious chair, but still carries with it a German engineered design.
noblechairs ICON Series Desk Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 26, 2017
While our previous reviews have been of "gaming" chairs, we today move to a more sophisticated take on your computer furniture needs with the noblechairs ICON series seating. This chair is described by the maker as being in the luxury category but carries with it a sub-$400 price tag.
Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 02, 2017
This is our second foray into evaluating "gaming furniture." This time we spend a couple months with the Arozzi Gaming Chair. This fine looking specimen has been full of surprises. The Arozzi Vernazza is the "new top-of-the-line model featuring all the latest innovations from Arozzi’s Swedish design team."
Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair Unboxing & Assembly
By Kyle Bennett   May 25, 2017
We continue on in our hunt for the perfect Gaming Chair given how much interest we got from readers last time! This time we are unboxing and showing the full assembly process of the Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair supplied to us by Champ Chairs. We will use it for a month and then report back to you with the full review.
Vertagear Triigger 350 Special Edition Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 19, 2017
What happens when you rope yourself in to doing a gaming chair review? You take your time, do it right, and make sure your butt spends at least a few months in the chair before you write your review. My butt has been in the VertaGear Triigger 350 Gaming Chair for over 3 months, and here are my thoughts.
Steam - Big Data, Crowdsourcing, Explorers, & Curators
By cageymaru   April 04, 2017
Have you ever used Steam to shop for a new game, when you did not know exactly what you wanted to buy, and found its way of organizing and sharing information with you a bit archaic? Me too! John Bain, aka TotalBiscuit is Steam's top "curator," and he has some information on changes coming to Steam, hopefully soon.
Corsair Lapdog - Gaming without a Desk
By Kyle Bennett   June 28, 2016
Corsair recently launched its new Lapdog product and to put it simply it let's you game without a desktop. Its focus is "living room gaming" with the new Corsair Bulldog living room gaming system. While this out of our usual scope, and there are not data points to be collected, we like using it.
SilverStone Reversible Phone Charging & Data Cord
By Kyle Bennett   March 22, 2016
While this product is not in our wheelhouse when it comes to hardware reviews, it does come from a company that you are likely very familiar with, SilverStone. If you have a Smart phone, and you have to charge it, you might want to give this a read.
Amazon Prime Unlimited Photo Storage
By Kyle Bennett   November 05, 2014
This is not our usual subject matter, at all. But surely there are a lot of HardOCP readers that are also Amazon Prime members and a lot of us like a good deal. So is Amazon Prime's new free photo storage up to what us [H]'ers would expect. When it is too good to be true is it always too good to be true?
Cooler Master CM Storm QuickFire XT Keyboard Review
By Earl Keim   April 10, 2014
Cooler Master refreshes its Quick Fire line of keyboards with a full size version that features a conservative, low profile appearance. With a choice of four different Cherry MX key switches, we definitely think there is something to be found here for even the most discerning keyboard enthusiast.
Topre Type Heaven Keyboard Review
By Earl Keim   December 18, 2013
Topre's newest keyboard features a conservative appearance and a standard 104-key keyboard design. The product's custom capacitive key switches are said to provide an extraordinary typing experience and a lengthy product life. If these claims are true, perhaps this keyboard will make its way to your desktop, regardless of its healthy price.
Corsair Vengeance K60 Keyboard and M60 Mouse Review
By Earl Keim   May 16, 2012
Corsair continues to expand its line of Vengeance-branded gaming peripherals with the addition of two new keyboards and two new mice. Today, we evaluate the two products optimized for first person shooters: the Vengeanceآ® K60 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard and the Vengeanceآ® K60 Laser Gaming Mouse.
Inside the Mind of Stuart
By Kyle Bennett   May 08, 2012
Twelve years ago an [H]'er by the name of Mark blessed us with the series of stories you will find cleaned up a bit and published once again here today. Tech based humor directly from "that guy" that we have all run into at least once. It has been a while since we have shared Inside the Mind of Stuart, and we hope you enjoy it again or for the first time.
Patriot Memory PBO Alpine Media Player Review
By HardOCP News   February 24, 2012
On the heels of its Box Office success, Patriot Memory has a brand new HD media player coming to market that is powered by an ARM926 processor and running Android 2.2. Could the PBO Alpine the next edition to your HD home entertainment experience? With a tremendous feature set inside a tiny footprint, we think it is worthy.