Articles

Reviews

Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 15, 2018
This new Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750 watt computer power supply is a revision of its previous PRIME Ultra line of PSUs. This alone makes us wonder just how much better Seasonic can actually make these power supplies, given just how great these were last time around. Let's find out if Seasonic has achieved building an even better PSU.
FSP Hydro PTM 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   December 18, 2017
While FSP is still not a widely known brand name when it comes to enthusiast computer power supplies, it has actually been becoming fairly consistent in designing, manufacturing, and selling PSUs in North America that have not only held their own, but also been impressive products. How does this new member of its Hydro series hold up?
Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB Plus 1250W Titanium PSU
By Paul Johnson   December 04, 2017
Thermaltake's new Toughpower computer power supply comes complete with Frag Harder Disco Lights, but what we want to know is how does it do when it comes to delivering clean and efficient power to your system. This new 1250 watt PSU has fully modular individually sleeved cables and has plenty of power where you need it.
Enermax MaxTytan 800W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   November 01, 2017
Enermax pulls out a flagship with its MaxTytan PSU, this one rated at 800 watts. The MaxTytan PSU has some interesting features like its on-demand Dust Free Rotation fan system. It also comes with very "custom" looking SLEEMAX cable covers that wrap every single cable individually like you find in custom rigs. And huge Titanium efficiency!
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold & Platinum 750W Review
By Paul Johnson   October 24, 2017
We are pulling double duty today in this PSU review as we are putting both the Seasonic Focus GOLD and Platinum 750 watt computer power supplies through our testing gauntlet. Given that Seasonic is holding the top rung in the PSU industry, let's compare Seasonic to Seasonic and look at the value.
Enermax Platimax DF 1200W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   October 02, 2017
If you are looking for a powerhouse of a PSU that is shoehorned into what is a tiny ATX package for the wattage, the Platimax D.F. (Dust Free) PSU may be worthy of your short list. As the name suggests, this PSU sports excellent power efficiency and is fully modular and that could make your HEDT build a lot easier.
Seasonic PRIME 650 Platinum Review
By Paul Johnson   September 19, 2017
This time we review a small Seasonic rated at 650 watts, but this one is part of its flagship Prime series with Platinum rated efficiency. That means, less heat, less noise, and a lower cost of operation over time. So, is the PRIME 650 Platinum PSU worthy of Seasonic's flagship status? We will surely find out.
be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   September 14, 2017
It's quiet! It's dark! It's a power pro turned up to eleven! What more is there to say? Actually, this time around there are quite a few good things to say about be quiet. Not so much about the marketing though...
Seasonic PRIME 1000W Gold Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   August 23, 2017
Seems like yesterday that we would never need a 1000 watt power supply again, but maybe Seasonic knew something we did not. This 1000W monster has some new tricks up its sleeve internally, but let's see if this all makes for a better, more efficient high end computer PSU. Spoiler: This is "the best" 1000w PSU we have ever reviewed.
Cybenetics: Better Paid-For Badges for Your PSU?
By Paul Johnson   August 01, 2017
In the following editorial, we are going to look at what Cybenetics is, how it is "different" from 80 Plus, how it addresses the issues with PSU "certification," and what all we think this new "program" does in the end. We include a back and forth interview with Cybenetics founder as well, and look into some of his answers.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 11, 2017
Seasonic's new high efficiency enthusiast computer power supply claims to be silent through 425 watts of power delivery. An improved fluid dynamic bearing fan helps with this. The Focus sports a cable-free connection panel, and has an industry leading 10 year warranty. And this unit was sourced out of retail stock, just like you would buy.
be quiet! Pure Power 10 600W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 27, 2017
This may come as a shock to you, but be quiet! power supplies are all about...wait for it...exceptionally quiet operation. However that is not the only virtue the Pure Power 10 series extols. be quiet tells us that this PP10 has "peerless dependability" and "best-in-class features." Let's see if we can set it on fire!
Seasonic PRIME 850W Platinum Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 13, 2017
As is usual, Seasonic talks softly and carries a big stick. The biggest stick lately has been its Prime series power supplies. Today's Prime comes to us touting excellent efficiency, a fully modular design, tight output voltage, and a quiet noise profile supplied by a fluid dynamic bearing fan. Does Seasonic continue its current reign?
Thermaltake Smart Pro RGB 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 25, 2017
Frag-harder RGB lighting is all the rage, and so of course we are now seeing those in PSUs too. Thermaltake has a healthy 850 watt PSU here for review today that actually hits the sub-$100 mark by 1 cent. Fully modular with great DC output; is there anything not to like? You can turn the RGB off. And a 7 year warranty.
SilverStone SX800-LTI SFX-L Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 17, 2017
SilverStone continues on its march to absolutely own the small form factor PSU market. This PSU is a huge 800 watts worth of power shoehorned into a SFX-L sized package all while claiming "silent" operation with fanless modes as well. Along with that is a healthy amount of PCIe power plugs and claims of unsurpassed efficiency.
Enermax Revolution SFX 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 01, 2017
The small form factor segment has been hot for a while now when it comes to enthusiast PC builders and Enermax is entering the SFX fray today with the Revolution SFX 650W PSU. It touts fanless modes under 30% load, 100% Japanese capacitors, and complete flat flexible cables for easier routing in tight cases.
Riotoro Onyx 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   April 13, 2017
Riotoro makes some very simple, yet very bold claims about the Onyx 750W that we very much have the ability to test. "Provides reliable power for great gaming" and "Manufactured and stress tested to strict standards for trouble-free installation and smooth operation," are the two that catch our eye. Let's see about that, and value too.
SilverStone Strider Platinum ST1200-PT PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   March 27, 2017
SilverStone comes to us with huge Platinum efficiency power with its Strider PSU rated for 1200 watts of constant power delivery. The PSU also sports a beefy feature set to go along with being able to support even the healthiest enthusiast computer build. Fanless modes below 40% power, dust filtering, and 16 sets of SATA connectors lead the list.
RIOTORO Enigma 850W Computer Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   March 20, 2017
You have likely never heard of a RIOTORO power supply until now. Neither had we until a couple months ago. We have however known the RIOTORO PR guy for many years, and he felt comfortable enough to bring us this new Enigma PSU and allow us to put it through the HardOCP gauntlet.
Enermax Revolution Duo 700W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 21, 2017
Two is always better than one, right? Two fans in your new PSU is a win-win? That is the theory behind the Enermax Revolution Duo series of Power Supply Units. Enermax has a long history of producing PSUs ranging from good to excellent. Where will the new Duo fall in line today?
VIVO 24K 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 16, 2017
VIVO is likely not a brand name that you are familiar with when it comes to enthusiast-level computer power supplies. We were not familiar with the VIVO name assuredly and its single PSU offering. All the more reason to put it through our PSU testing gauntlet when VIVO asked us to. Will VIVO regret putting its value brand PSU to the test?
FSP Twins 500W ATX Redundant Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 01, 2017
Redundant computer power supplies have been a fixture in the enterprise server market since failover hardware solutions were first conceived to deal with contingency planning and system disaster recovery. FSP has now brought its Twins solution to the enthusiast market, and FSP have done it quite well.
FSP Guardian Computer Power Supply Software Review
By Paul Johnson   February 01, 2017
When it comes to computer power supplies and software, there simply are not a lot of entrants into this niche market. However along side of our FSP Twin 500W review today, we have FSP's entrant into the world of PSU monitoring and control software called Guardian. It will monitor and record your PSU's performance over a 30 day period.
SilverStone SFX ST30SF V2.0 300W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 24, 2017
Big things come in small packages they say, but today we are looking at small PSU in a small package. SilverStone has been on a tear lately catering to the Small Form Factor PC enthusiast, and they are looking to do it again with its SFX 300 watt tiny PSU. With a "power density" of 378 watts per liter!