Articles

Reviews

GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Xtreme TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 04, 2018
GIGABYTE expands its Threadripper lineup with its X399 Aorus Xtreme motherboard. This motherboard has a solid, professional focused feature set, and has a lot to offer. We’ve seen some amazing socket TR4 motherboards thus far so the X399 Aorus Xtreme has a lot of competition. We did get to use the Xtreme for a lot of Threadripper testing.
MSI MEG X399 Creation Threadripper Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2018
MSI’s MEG X399 CREATION motherboard gets put to the test like no motherboard we’ve ever reviewed to date. We beat the hell out of this motherboard on all of our test benches over the last month. We used the MEG for most all our Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X testing so we have a good handle on just how good it is.
MSI B350I PRO AC Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 23, 2018
While we might be late to the party with a B350 review, we were running tests with it and were so impressed we thought we would put it through the full review process. MSI’s B350I PRO AC might just have been worth the wait. How does this inexpensive powerhouse fair against more expensive offerings?
AMD Launches B450 Chipset for Socket AM4
By Kyle Bennett   August 01, 2018
AMD has a new chipset that will further leverage the AM4 socket and every Ryzen CPU produced, however not some to the fullest. The differences between the B450 and the B350 are small at best. However, like the B350 the new B450 based boards are certainly shooting for the budget system arena and will likely do well there.
ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 26, 2018
ASUS has another mini-ITX powerhouse on its hands, and this time its for AMD’s 2nd Generation Ryzen processors. The ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming promises a lot, and frankly we expect a lot from these motherboards. ASUS practically set the standard for enthusiast class mini-ITX motherboards and it has set the bar very high in the past.
GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi AMD Ryzen Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 11, 2018
GIGABYTE’s flagship X470 motherboard is a gorgeous piece of hardware, packed with features and bristling with options. It fully supports AMD's Precision Boost 2 technology for new Ryzen processors. This motherboard has overclocking in mind with its design and of course has plenty of Frag Harder Disco Lights, should that be your thing.
MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 28, 2018
MSI’s X470 Gaming M7 AC has a lot going for it with Precision Boost 2. It’s gaming and overclocking focus makes for a compelling option in a competitive sea of motherboard options for AMD’s new Ryzen processors. It has performance and looks as well, and a bit of subtle RGB if that is a checkbox you require.
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 07, 2018
Along with the second generation AMD Ryzen CPUs, we are getting the new and somewhat improved X470 chipset motherboards. We have been beating on the Crosshair VII Hero for about a month now and have figured out what we like about, outside of it being an excellent overclocker for the Ryzen 7 CPUs.
AMD's StoreMI Technology
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 28, 2018
AMD’s StoreMI or (Store Machine Intelligence Technology) is storage performance enhancement technology, which can accelerate the responsiveness and the perceived speed of mechanical storage devices to SSD levels. This isn’t exactly a new concept, but AMD’s approach to this implementation is different than what we’ve seen in the past.
GIGABYTE Aorus X399 Designare EX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 28, 2018
GIGABYTE’s X399 Designare EX is a rich, full featured solution for AMD’s Threadripper CPUs. At $370, this isn’t a budget-oriented offering. The thing people usually want to know when looking at motherboards in this price bracket is if such products are worth the extra cost. Read on to find out if this gaming and workstation offering is worthwhile.
MSI Z370I Gaming Pro Carbon AC mITX Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 23, 2018
Many of us have gotten used to wanting things smaller and smaller in terms of today's electronics, and many enthusiasts have followed that trend when it comes to building fully capable high end desktop PC system. MSI is turning up the heat in the mini-ITX segment with it Gaming Pro Carbon series motherboards.
Are More Expensive Motherboards Better Motherboards?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 16, 2018
In this editorial Dan Dobrowolski digs into his lifelong experience in the tech sector as well as his more than 10 years of reviewing motherboards for HardOCP and tries to answer a very simple question. While the question is very simple, the depth of answers may surprise you. We have a list of nine things to consider.
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 14, 2018
The ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming promises to be a lower cost options for AMD’s Threadripper processors. This is a "less is more" approach to motherboard design than the exquisite and expensive ROG Zenith Extreme. The ROG brand has always been a premium brand. With these lower cost STRIX boards, does this remain true?
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2018
ASUS dominates the mini-ITX market with its various "I" series motherboards. It proved that going to a smaller form factor didn’t mean compromising on performance, only expandability. Even then, ASUS has mitigated a lot of those limitations as well. Does the ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming motherboard live up to its predecessors.
MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 12, 2018
MSI’s X370 Gaming M7 ACK brings a solid feature set and potential overclocking to the table. So far things have been a bit bumpy regarding AMD’s AM4 platform, but things have improved a lot recently. AMD’s AGESA code being up to scratch doesn’t mean anything if the motherboard manufacturers don’t do their part. Did MSI do its part?
ASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 27, 2017
ASUS’ purpose built overclocking motherboard stands out as one of the most interesting and provocative motherboards the Republic of Gamers brand has probably ever seen. However, we’ve seen motherboards that opt to specialize in one area lose out in others. We put the Rampage VI APEX to the test and see if its a predator.
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 26, 2017
The ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme is new motherboard for AMD Ryzen CPUs that comes with a very specific host of computer hardware enthusiast features with cooling being at the forefront of that feature set. 3200MHz certification for RAM, Intel NIC, ROG backplate, and pre-mounted IO shield are just a few of the cool features it offers up.
GIGABYTE Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   November 27, 2017
Intel’s launched yet another chipset, so for better or worse that means new motherboards for Intel’s mainstream market. We look at GIGABYTE’s Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming to see if it’s worthy of a Coffee Lake CPU. And now that you can actually find the 8700K in stock, it is worth talking about.
MSI X299 XPower Gaming AC Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 24, 2017
The X299 XPower Gaming AC is MSI’s flagship HEDT motherboard for Intel CPU’s. This monster motherboard has an enormous feature set and an fairly large price tag as we have come to expect with HEDT boards. However, there is definite value here if you are looking to put together an Intel based High End DeskTop system.
GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Gaming 7 TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 19, 2017
We review GIGABYTE’s X399 Aorus Gaming 7 and see how it stacks up in the world of HEDT motherboards. This motherboard is not priced all that high considering the amount of features it touts and certainly it is not priced high for the stability we were afforded while overclocking the Threadripper to 4GHz.
GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 17, 2017
GIGABYTE adds another product to its ever expanding Aorus Gaming line. The X299 Aorus Gaming 3 sounds like it might be at the bottom of the Skylake-X heap feature-wise, but you can hardly call a motherboard with so many features "stripped" down. The GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 has a lot to offer on paper but can it deliver?
AMD vs. Intel HEDT Platform Showdown Editorial
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 10, 2017
I’ve spent quite a bit of time with AMD’s Threadripper and X399 chipset and I thought I’d give our readers my impression of it and talk about the platform as well as giving interested consumers a general overview of the platform and what it has to offer. We compare it to Intel’s HEDT platform and give our take on this match up.
ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme Threadripper Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 28, 2017
The ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme is poised to be the definitive choice for a high end Threadripper based build. It’s one of the most feature rich and complete solutions we’ve ever seen in our years of reviewing hardware. It's also one of the most expensive. However, if you are going for a no-holds-barred Threadripper build you won't want to miss this one.
GIGABYTE AX370 Gaming K7 AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2017
GIGABYTE’s AX370 Gaming K7 is in many ways the motherboard the AX370 Gaming 5 should have been. GIGABYTE has a habit of creating multiple SKUs with differences that are so minor that one can’t help but wonder why two separate models exist when they are almost indistinguishable from one another.