Articles

Reviews

ASUS PRIME Z390-A LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 02, 2019
Sometimes less is more. We typically work with a lot of motherboards that fall into the more is more category and some that have a high price that can’t easily be justified by most people. The ASUS PRIME Z390-A seems to lean towards less is more. On paper the Z390-A seems to have a lot going for it and is light on fluff. How does it stack up?
ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE II Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2019
The ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II is an ultra-feature rich solution for today’s discerning computing enthusiast. It does not wear ROG branding, and is clad in white shrouding, letting you know that this is a PRIME motherboard. Is it a bargain priced motherboard? Nope. This one comes in at $500. Let's see if it is worth it.
ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 17, 2019
ASUS brings us the one of it most aesthetically pleasing and expensive Z390 motherboards this generation. Even if you have no interest in spending a ton of money on an LGA 1151 motherboard, you will want to give this Formula a look as it certainly shows us that ASUS is not sitting around on its thumbs on the high end.
ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero Z390 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 06, 2019
Taking a queue from Hollywood, ASUS brings us another sequel to its long running ROG franchise with its Maximus XI Hero. While most movie sequels never live up to the original, computer hardware usually improves on the previous iteration. However, that’s not always the case. Is that the case here? Read on and find out.
MSI X399 Creation Threadripper Build - Start to Finish
By Kyle Bennett   January 05, 2019
Building a new computer for yourself is always fun. We had the chance to do it ourselves recently, and we decided to document the entire process on video. We use the MSI MEG X399 Creation motherboard and the MSI RTX 2080 Sea Hawk as the backbone of our system along with an AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X.
MSI MEG Z390 ACE Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 06, 2018
The MSI Enthusiast Gaming lineup expands once again with two Z390 offerings for Intel’s latest 9000 series CPUs. The MEG boards offer a blend of quality, features, with power delivery, and overclocking in mind. MSI has certainly raised the bar for its products over the last few years. So our expectations for the ACE motherboard are high.
ASUS ROG STRIX B450-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   November 01, 2018
ASUS’ budget entry into the AM4 Ryzen mini-ITX world certainly has a lot going for it. With so many great mini-ITX motherboards coming from this company, expectations for the ROG STRIX B450-I Gaming are high. This small form factor motherboard lets us overclock as well. We put it to the test and find out just how well it does for $150?
ASUS ROG STRIX B360-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 23, 2018
It seems there is a new mini-ITX motherboard model every time you turn around. We’ve often looked at the higher end of the spectrum on these little power houses. This time we switch gears and look at a more budget oriented option than we are used to, how does this $128 motherboard hold up to its more expensive brethren?
GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Xtreme TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 04, 2018
GIGABYTE expands its Threadripper lineup with its X399 Aorus Xtreme motherboard. This motherboard has a solid, professional focused feature set, and has a lot to offer. We’ve seen some amazing socket TR4 motherboards thus far so the X399 Aorus Xtreme has a lot of competition. We did get to use the Xtreme for a lot of Threadripper testing.
MSI MEG X399 Creation Threadripper Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2018
MSI’s MEG X399 CREATION motherboard gets put to the test like no motherboard we’ve ever reviewed to date. We beat the hell out of this motherboard on all of our test benches over the last month. We used the MEG for most all our Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X testing so we have a good handle on just how good it is.
MSI B350I PRO AC Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 23, 2018
While we might be late to the party with a B350 review, we were running tests with it and were so impressed we thought we would put it through the full review process. MSI’s B350I PRO AC might just have been worth the wait. How does this inexpensive powerhouse fair against more expensive offerings?
AMD Launches B450 Chipset for Socket AM4
By Kyle Bennett   August 01, 2018
AMD has a new chipset that will further leverage the AM4 socket and every Ryzen CPU produced, however not some to the fullest. The differences between the B450 and the B350 are small at best. However, like the B350 the new B450 based boards are certainly shooting for the budget system arena and will likely do well there.
ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 26, 2018
ASUS has another mini-ITX powerhouse on its hands, and this time its for AMD’s 2nd Generation Ryzen processors. The ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming promises a lot, and frankly we expect a lot from these motherboards. ASUS practically set the standard for enthusiast class mini-ITX motherboards and it has set the bar very high in the past.
GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi AMD Ryzen Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 11, 2018
GIGABYTE’s flagship X470 motherboard is a gorgeous piece of hardware, packed with features and bristling with options. It fully supports AMD's Precision Boost 2 technology for new Ryzen processors. This motherboard has overclocking in mind with its design and of course has plenty of Frag Harder Disco Lights, should that be your thing.
MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 28, 2018
MSI’s X470 Gaming M7 AC has a lot going for it with Precision Boost 2. It’s gaming and overclocking focus makes for a compelling option in a competitive sea of motherboard options for AMD’s new Ryzen processors. It has performance and looks as well, and a bit of subtle RGB if that is a checkbox you require.
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 07, 2018
Along with the second generation AMD Ryzen CPUs, we are getting the new and somewhat improved X470 chipset motherboards. We have been beating on the Crosshair VII Hero for about a month now and have figured out what we like about, outside of it being an excellent overclocker for the Ryzen 7 CPUs.
AMD's StoreMI Technology
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 28, 2018
AMD’s StoreMI or (Store Machine Intelligence Technology) is storage performance enhancement technology, which can accelerate the responsiveness and the perceived speed of mechanical storage devices to SSD levels. This isn’t exactly a new concept, but AMD’s approach to this implementation is different than what we’ve seen in the past.
GIGABYTE Aorus X399 Designare EX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 28, 2018
GIGABYTE’s X399 Designare EX is a rich, full featured solution for AMD’s Threadripper CPUs. At $370, this isn’t a budget-oriented offering. The thing people usually want to know when looking at motherboards in this price bracket is if such products are worth the extra cost. Read on to find out if this gaming and workstation offering is worthwhile.
MSI Z370I Gaming Pro Carbon AC mITX Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 23, 2018
Many of us have gotten used to wanting things smaller and smaller in terms of today's electronics, and many enthusiasts have followed that trend when it comes to building fully capable high end desktop PC system. MSI is turning up the heat in the mini-ITX segment with it Gaming Pro Carbon series motherboards.
Are More Expensive Motherboards Better Motherboards?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 16, 2018
In this editorial Dan Dobrowolski digs into his lifelong experience in the tech sector as well as his more than 10 years of reviewing motherboards for HardOCP and tries to answer a very simple question. While the question is very simple, the depth of answers may surprise you. We have a list of nine things to consider.
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 14, 2018
The ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming promises to be a lower cost options for AMD’s Threadripper processors. This is a "less is more" approach to motherboard design than the exquisite and expensive ROG Zenith Extreme. The ROG brand has always been a premium brand. With these lower cost STRIX boards, does this remain true?
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2018
ASUS dominates the mini-ITX market with its various "I" series motherboards. It proved that going to a smaller form factor didn’t mean compromising on performance, only expandability. Even then, ASUS has mitigated a lot of those limitations as well. Does the ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming motherboard live up to its predecessors.
MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 12, 2018
MSI’s X370 Gaming M7 ACK brings a solid feature set and potential overclocking to the table. So far things have been a bit bumpy regarding AMD’s AM4 platform, but things have improved a lot recently. AMD’s AGESA code being up to scratch doesn’t mean anything if the motherboard manufacturers don’t do their part. Did MSI do its part?
ASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 27, 2017
ASUS’ purpose built overclocking motherboard stands out as one of the most interesting and provocative motherboards the Republic of Gamers brand has probably ever seen. However, we’ve seen motherboards that opt to specialize in one area lose out in others. We put the Rampage VI APEX to the test and see if its a predator.