Articles

Reviews

MSI X299 XPower Gaming AC Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 24, 2017
The X299 XPower Gaming AC is MSI’s flagship HEDT motherboard for Intel CPU’s. This monster motherboard has an enormous feature set and an fairly large price tag as we have come to expect with HEDT boards. However, there is definite value here if you are looking to put together an Intel based High End DeskTop system.
GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Gaming 7 TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 19, 2017
We review GIGABYTE’s X399 Aorus Gaming 7 and see how it stacks up in the world of HEDT motherboards. This motherboard is not priced all that high considering the amount of features it touts and certainly it is not priced high for the stability we were afforded while overclocking the Threadripper to 4GHz.
GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 17, 2017
GIGABYTE adds another product to its ever expanding Aorus Gaming line. The X299 Aorus Gaming 3 sounds like it might be at the bottom of the Skylake-X heap feature-wise, but you can hardly call a motherboard with so many features "stripped" down. The GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 has a lot to offer on paper but can it deliver?
AMD vs. Intel HEDT Platform Showdown Editorial
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 10, 2017
I’ve spent quite a bit of time with AMD’s Threadripper and X399 chipset and I thought I’d give our readers my impression of it and talk about the platform as well as giving interested consumers a general overview of the platform and what it has to offer. We compare it to Intel’s HEDT platform and give our take on this match up.
ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme Threadripper Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 28, 2017
The ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme is poised to be the definitive choice for a high end Threadripper based build. It’s one of the most feature rich and complete solutions we’ve ever seen in our years of reviewing hardware. It's also one of the most expensive. However, if you are going for a no-holds-barred Threadripper build you won't want to miss this one.
GIGABYTE AX370 Gaming K7 AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2017
GIGABYTE’s AX370 Gaming K7 is in many ways the motherboard the AX370 Gaming 5 should have been. GIGABYTE has a habit of creating multiple SKUs with differences that are so minor that one can’t help but wonder why two separate models exist when they are almost indistinguishable from one another.
MSI X299 SLI Plus LGA 2066 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 05, 2017
Intel’s latest chipset launch requires new motherboards. Everyone has entirely new product lines to look at so we kick things off with MSI’s X299 SLI Plus. This is a basic offering which we have tested with the Intel Core i9-7900X and Intel Core i7-7740X. Again MSI shows us how less is sometimes more.
MSI Z270 SLI Plus LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 15, 2017
MSI brings to the table, one of the least expensive SLI capable motherboards based on Intel’s Z270 Express chipset available today. While not totally stripped, it does sacrifice a few things to keep costs down. That said, it’s also got a solid foundation and offers a ton of value for the money. If you are looking to build an LGA 1151 rig, you won’t want to miss this one.
Is Intel's X299 Platform Better than the X99?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 11, 2017
New processors and another socket means a new chipset. Intel's X299 Express chipset replaces the venerable and X99 Express Chipset and updates it's HEDT platform to match it's mainstream offerings and then some. This chipset promises to be the most versatile and feature rich Intel has released to date, but is it really an improvement?
GIGABYTE Z270X Ultra Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 25, 2017
GIGABYTE has been on a roll with all it's 2017 offerings. This generation has seen solid boards for both AMD and Intel fans alike. Today, we switch gears and look at the GIGABYTE Z270X Ultra Gaming. It's the most misleading name GIGABYTE has used to date, but comes in with a very affordable price of $160!
The Top 5 Best Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with excellent features and stability along with great performance. Dan takes a stroll down memory lane and rehashes his top five "best" motherboards. I am sure you will all agree 100%.
BioStar Racing X370GT7 AMD AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
BIOSTAR isn’t exactly a juggernaut of a manufacturer here in the U.S. Despite stiff competition, the big boys are blowing it bad enough at the X370 Ryzen motherboard game that BIOSTAR’s X370GT7 just might be one of the best AM4 motherboard options around. While we think it might actually be good, it still doesn’t make for a smooth ride.
The Top 5 Worst Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 17, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with horrible features and bugs of all kinds. Dan takes a stroll down a very painful memory lane and rehashes his top five..as instructed by his therapist. Let it out Dan...let it out.
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 04, 2017
It’s been years since we’ve reviewed an ASUS ROG offering that was designed for AMD CPUs. That’s not to say that those haven’t existed, those just weren’t worth a look as the AMD side of things has not been compelling for the better part of the last decade. Thanks to AMD Ryzen, we have a reason to take the ASUS Crosshair VI Hero for a test drive and tell you how it fared in the tumultuous sea of AM4 motherboards.
MSI Z270 Krait Gaming LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 12, 2017
While it is generally the flagship motherboards that grab the most attention, it's the midrange offerings that see the most sales. MSI's Z270 Krait Gaming motherboard is one of those bread and butter type offerings. It has everything the gamer needs without the unnecessary and expensive fluff.
MSI Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   April 27, 2017
MSI’s Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium is a feature packed powerhouse that’s got everything you need to take your game to the next level. The MSI Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium is easily one of the most robust solutions for overclocking. If you want a feature rich solution that can deliver the goods on the overclocking front, check this one out.
GIGABYTE AORUS AX370-Gaming 5 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   April 20, 2017
At long last we've finally got a full retail AM4 motherboard on hand to put through its paces. GIGABYTE's AX370-Gaming 5 is probably one of the best bets on an AM4 system right now. Unfortunately, that path will have a few bumps in the road. We fill in all the gaps and let you know what to look for.
ASUS ROG Strix Z270i Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 15, 2017
ASUS brings big gaming power in a tiny package with its latest mini-ITX motherboard: The ROG Strix Z270i Gaming motherboard. We’ve been huge fans of these mini-ITX powerhouses over the years. ASUS has arguably dominated this market with few options coming close to challenging that position. Can ASUS maintain its mITX dominance?
GIGABYTE Aorus Z270X Gaming 9 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 28, 2017
GIGABYTE’s Z270X Gaming 9 is one of the most feature rich and ultra-high end offerings you’ll see for the Z270 chipset this year. We were super fond of last year’s similar offering and as a result, the Z270X Gaming 9 has very large shoes to fill. With its massive feature set and overclocking prowess, it is poised to be one of the best motherboards of the year.
ASUS Maximus IX Formula LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 06, 2017
ASUS is nothing like Hollywood. ASUS can actually turn out sequels which not only match the originals, but surpass them. ASUS Republic of Gamers Maximus IX Formula is another sequel in the long line of Maximus motherboards. Can ASUS continue its long history of awesome sequels? One things for certain, it’s no Robocop 3.
MSI Z270 Gaming M7 LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 23, 2017
MSI’s Z270 Gaming M7 is based on the somewhat uninteresting Z270 Express chipset but never fear, MSI’s latest generation of motherboards brings a few new features to the table, building on the stability, quality, and innovation the brand is known for. Great sound configuration, plenty of M.2 SSD support, and overclocking should draw you in.
GIGABYTE Z270X Gaming 7 LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 03, 2017
GIGABYTE’s Z270X based offerings feel like slightly modified clones of the Z170X line. But hey there are tons of pretty lights on these! In all seriousness, the Z270 chipset based offerings are far more of an evolution than a revolution. That said, GIGABYTE has made improvements that are certainly worth checking out.
GIGABYTE X99 Phoenix SLI Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 14, 2016
GIGABYTE’s X99 Phoenix SLI is another entry into the G1 Gaming lineup. While there is little to nothing that’s truly unique about the feature set, the combination of features and unique aesthetics are hard to argue with. The X99 Phoenix SLI offers good features and stellar looks at a reasonable price point.
GIGABYTE Z170X Designare LGA1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 29, 2016
GIGABYTE has continually impressed us with its offerings as of late. GIGABYTE’s Z170X Designare is poised to continue that trend and add another motherboard to the budding Designare legacy. We are still not fully sure of what exactly "Designare" actually is, but at this point, we see it as GIGABYTE building a solid new brand.