Articles

Reviews

MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z Performance Review
By Brent Justice   October 14, 2018
We have an exclusive first look at performance of the new MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z video cards sporting the new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU. We will be comparing performance to a MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X and ASUS ROG STRIX Vega 64 OC video cards in eight games at 1440p and 4K.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 4K Preview
By Brent Justice   September 27, 2018
We look at real-world gaming performance on an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 custom retail factory overclocked video cards at 4K resolution. In this preview we will compare performance in five games at 4K with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE and GeForce GTX 1080 FE.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 1440p Preview
By Brent Justice   September 23, 2018
We look at gaming performance on ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 overclocked video cards at 1440p. In this preview we will compare performance in five graphically intensive games with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti and GeForce GTX 1080. All real-world gameplay compared. No canned benchmarks.
GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition Overclocking Final
By Kyle Bennett   September 23, 2018
We finally got in the RTX 2080 video cards we purchased, and we have been putting those to good use. While Brent is banging out a real-world gameplay preview, I have been seeing just where our RTX 2080 Founders Edition ends up in terms of overclocking. We finally got a solid handle on what our particular Turing GPU and memory are capable of.
The GeForce RTX 2080 Ti is Too Damn High!
By Zarathustra   September 21, 2018
Is the RTX 2080 Ti FE priced too damn high, or is it not? What about the RTX 2080 FE card? Certainly RTX pricing has been a hot topic lately, but what if we adjusted for inflation and actually compared launch prices of NVIDIA video cards over the last 18 years or so? That is exactly what we have done, and laid it all out, so you can make up your own mind.
GeForce RTX 2080 Overclocking Preview with Scanner
By Kyle Bennett   September 21, 2018
We have had very little time to play with our new GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition video cards, but we did want to see just how well this new GPU overclocked out of the box. We put NVIDIA's OC Scanner technology to work and give you our thoughts about just how well it works and what results we got.
AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   September 20, 2018
Ever wonder how much performance you are really getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? What if we took GPUs from AMD and compared performance gained from 2013 to 2018? This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2 article focusing on the Radeon R9 280X, Radeon R9 380X, Radeon RX 480 and Radeon RX 580 in 15 games.
AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1
By Brent Justice   September 04, 2018
Wonder how much performance you are truly getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? We take GPUs from AMD and compare performance gained from 2013 to 2018. This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1 article focusing on the Radeon R9 290X, Radeon R9 390X, Radeon R9 Fury X, and Radeon RX Vega 64 in 14 games.
NVIDIA Controls AIB Launch and Driver Distribution
By Kyle Bennett   August 28, 2018
Since NVIDIA's GPP program got exposed to the world, there have been a lot of changes over at Team Green in the way information about its company is controlled. After its heavy-handed NDAs have sought to muzzle journalists that work with the company, now it is pushing back on its AIBs in order to control the AIB's actions with reviewers.
NVIDIA RTX 2080 and 2080 Ti Unclothed
By Kyle Bennett   August 21, 2018
We get a look behind the svelt exterior of the new RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards. While pricing has got a lot of people turned off, the tech in these new cards is getting us a bit excited. NVIDIA has turned up its Founders Edition cards and even overclocked these. Will this push the AIBs even harder?
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 3
By Brent Justice   August 16, 2018
In Part 3 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance article we are going to compare the GeForce GTX 780 Ti upgrade advantage from GeForce GTX 780, and GeForce GTX 980 Ti from GeForce GTX 980 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti from GeForce GTX 1080. We will see how much each "Ti" version offered in terms of a performance upgrade.
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   August 07, 2018
In Part 2 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance evaluation today we are going to cover the GeForce GTX 780 Ti, GeForce GTX 980 Ti, and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti. We will test all three video cards in fourteen games at 1440p and 4K to see how performance has evolved over the past five years from GPU to GPU.
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 1
By Brent Justice   July 25, 2018
Ever wonder how much performance you are really getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? What if we took GPUs from NVIDIA and AMD and compared performance gained from 2013 to 2018? We are going to start that process today in Part 1 focusing on the GeForce GTX 780, GeForce GTX 980 and GeForce GTX 1080 in 14 games.
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2018
We take The Crew 2 and evaluate ten of today’s latest GPUs in the game. We will find what the highest playable settings are, how video cards compare, and how specific graphics features compare in performance. We will find the best value for gaming, and what graphics settings work best. Is this game worth it, or a graphical flop?
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance and IQ Preview
By Brent Justice   June 27, 2018
We’ve got early access to The Crew 2 thanks to the Gold Edition, a brand new open-world racing game for the PC. Let’s find out how The Crew 2 performs on today’s GPUs in this preview. We also look at graphics settings and hit a little on Image Quality. Hopefully we will have some insight as we know a lot of readers have been waiting for this game.
Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs Pt. 2
By Brent Justice   June 18, 2018
It is time once again to play some older PC games on the latest GPUs of today using the latest drivers. We pull from three 5-year-old games and one 8-year-old game today and see if we can maximize the IQ settings in those games at 1440p and 4K. The theme of the day: Older games that still hold up today in terms of IQ.
State of Decay 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   June 06, 2018
The new game State of Decay 2 is out, running on the Unreal Engine 4. This is an open world zombie survival shooter and is getting a lot of traction with millions of players. We test and compare video card GPU performance in this brand new game. We will find out which cards suite it best at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p resolutions.
Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs
By Brent Justice   May 24, 2018
Have you ever wanted to pull out an older game from years past, and play it on your new video card to see if the gameplay experience is improved by turning on all the highest graphics options, or a higher resolution like 4K? We sure did! We test some older games and see if we can "max out" the gameplay experience in 2018.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Image Quality Review
By Brent Justice   May 07, 2018
We will be comparing Far Cry 5's Overall Quality, Shadows, Volumetric Fog, and Anti-Aliasing image quality. In addition, we will find out if we can improve IQ in the game by adding Anisotropic Filtering and forcing AA from the control panel. We’ve have a video showing you many IQ issues we found in Far Cry 5, and those are plentiful.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   April 17, 2018
We test eleven GPU's performance from the low-end, to the top-end in Far Cry 5. Our goal is to find what settings are playable on each video card in Far Cry 5, and to compare the performance. We will also look at AA and Volumetric Fog performance. If you want to find what the best value GPU is for this game, this is for you.
Dell and HP Resist the NVIDIA GPP Leash - So Far
By Kyle Bennett   April 12, 2018
Since we found out about NVIDIA's GeForce Partner Program, aka GPP, a couple of months ago, we have seen changes implemented by NVIDIA's partners, but what has not happened is far more important to point out at this time.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 02, 2018
Far Cry 5 is finally in retail, and in this preview of video card performance we will compare performance of a few video cards, using real gameplay. This will give you an idea what you need to play Far Cry 5, what image quality settings are playable, and what resolutions work best with each video card. Our full evaluation will come later.
AMD Radeon FreeSync 2 vs NVIDIA G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2018
What happens when you take about 10 dedicated PC gamers and put them down in front of a FreeSync 2 supported system, and a G-Sync supported system and let them play games back to back and then ask them about their gaming experience? That is exactly what we did this week.
NVIDIA VOLTA's TITAN V DX12 Performance Efficiency
By Brent Justice   March 26, 2018
We take the $3,000 NVIDIA TITAN V video card using the new Volta architecture and find out if its DX12 and Async Compute performance is more efficient than the last generation Pascal architecture in gaming performance.