Articles

Reviews

ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 O8G GAMING Review
By Brent Justice   March 18, 2019
The ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 O8G GAMING offers up a good balance of performance and features. The question is, at the $600 price point, does it actually provide the best gameplay experience when you compare it with an AMD Radeon RX Vega 64? We put these two video cards head to head in this evaluation.
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   March 07, 2019
The MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO takes the GeForce RTX 2080 Ti to new heights in performance and overclocking. We’ve got Metro Exodus NVIDIA Ray Tracing performance, 1440p and 4K gameplay, and we compare this video card overclocked as well as in silent mode for more efficient gameplay.
AMD Radeon VII Chilling & Undervolting
By Brent Justice   February 24, 2019
Is anyway to improve Radeon VII power efficiency, GPU temperature, and fan noise without drastically changing the gameplay experience. Is Radeon Chill or GPU undervolting the answer? We run the Radeon VII through some real world gaming and show you exactly what Chill and Undervolting will do to, or for your gameplay.
AMD Radeon VII Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   February 14, 2019
The AMD Radeon VII has been launched and we take it through its paces in eight games compared to an MSI GeForce RTX 2080 VENTUS video card dollar-to-dollar at $699.99, and throw in the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition as well for a complete comparison. Only real gameplay tested as usual.
AMD Radeon VII Unboxing and Teardown Video
By Kyle Bennett   February 04, 2019
We show you what is inside the new AMD Radeon VII reviewer's kit, and then breakdown the entire video card to show you what is under that sleek new shroud.
MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   January 30, 2019
We’ve got a fast factory overclocked MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z video card to review today. We’ll take it through its paces in many games, and find out how it performs, including overclocking performance with the competition. Does the RTX 2060 deliver better performance at a lower price compared to the last generation?
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2060 Performance
By Brent Justice   January 20, 2019
The new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 GPU is the least expensive GPU to support NVIDIA Ray Tracing at $349 MSRP. What kind of real-world ray traced performance can it deliver in Battlefield V multiplayer with DXR turned on? We take a very fast MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6GB video card and find out. Will it just work?
AMD Radeon VII Interview with Scott Herkelman
By Kyle Bennett   January 14, 2019
We had the opportunity to talk to Scott Herkelman at AMD about the new Radeon VII GPU at CES 2019, and he was kind enough to answer questions that we had. We get his thoughts on the new Radeon VII, its full specifications and die size, FreeSync, multi-GPU, 16GB of HBM2, AMD getting back into direct retail sales of video cards, and more.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Ti Performance
By Brent Justice   January 07, 2019
How many frames will NVIDIA Ray Tracing cost you in Battlefield V with the RTX 2080 Ti? We take an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti OC and turn on NVIDIA Ray Tracing in BFV Multiplayer at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K to find out. We test VRAM capacity, which reveals something very important that can impact NVIDIA Ray Tracing performance.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing - CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 02, 2019
We have been doing some deep dives into playing Battlefield V 64-person multiplayer lately and testing what exactly the cost of using NVIDIA Ray Tracing is in terms of framerate performance using new NVIDIA RTX 2070 and RTX 2080 cards. We did get questioned on using a 5GHz overclocked 7700K instead of the suggested CPU that EA recommends.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 25, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI Sea Hawk RTX 2080 Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   December 20, 2018
MSI sent over its new Sea Hawk RTX 2080 card for use in a build video. This is a fair simple RTX card build that is purchased with a pre-installed All-In-One cooler. We wanted to see how well it overclocked and spent a night of gaming in order to do that and we have to say we were pleased with our results.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2070 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 17, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   December 05, 2018
We review MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO in the latest 2018 games using all the RTX features capable at this time. We compare performance at 1440p and 4K with an overclocked GTX 1080 and RX Vega 64. DXR Reflection Ray Tracing in Battlefield V and Adaptive Shading RTX technology in Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus.
RTX 2080 Ti FE Escapes Testing by Dying After 8 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 21, 2018
We have spent over $4000 on NVIDIA RTX cards, on both 2080 Founders Edition and 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards for testing here at HardOCP. As it stands now, two of our three 2080 Ti FE cards have died on us. Another one just bit the dust, and with very little fanfare this time.
XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   November 15, 2018
AMD is launching the new Radeon RX 590 GPU today, and we have a custom XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ video card to evaluate. With a high factory overclock, and potential for overclocking, we will compare this video card with the EVGA GTX 1060 SSC overclocked and test at 1080p and 1440p gaming.
NVIDIA on the Cause of RTX 2080 Series Card Failures
By cageymaru   November 14, 2018
If you are a fan of games and computer hardware, especially GPUs, you have undoubtedly seen anecdotal evidence that NVIDIA's new RTX 2080 series cards are failing due to artifacting, simply stopping working, and in some cases actually catching on fire. Now it seems that NVIDIA is owning up to there actually being an issue with its new RTX cards.
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FAILS After Gaming for 2 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 09, 2018
I have bought and owned NVIDIA graphics cards for a long time. There has been a lot of talk about the RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition failing lately, a lot of that just being anecdotal. After playing games for two hours this evening this is what I was met with. Unlucky? Or do RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards have some issues?
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 31, 2018
We’ve put the new ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti video card to the test, pushing the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GPU at 4K in twelve games default and overclocked against an MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO also default, and overclocked to find the real value. All real-world gaming, no canned benchmarks.
RTX 2070 vs RTX 2080 vs GTX 1080 Ti vs GTX 1070
By Brent Justice   October 22, 2018
We took our world exclusive non-NDA RTX 2070 review and compared that card directly to the GTX 1080 Ti and GTX 1070 cards, both overclocked. Thrown into the mix is the RTX 2080. Our real world gameplay will fully expose the landscape of rasterized gaming and what you should be considering purchasing, if anything for your gaming needs.
MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z Performance Review
By Brent Justice   October 14, 2018
We have an exclusive first look at performance of the new MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z video cards sporting the new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU. We will be comparing performance to a MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X and ASUS ROG STRIX Vega 64 OC video cards in eight games at 1440p and 4K.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 4K Preview
By Brent Justice   September 27, 2018
We look at real-world gaming performance on an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 custom retail factory overclocked video cards at 4K resolution. In this preview we will compare performance in five games at 4K with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE and GeForce GTX 1080 FE.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 1440p Preview
By Brent Justice   September 23, 2018
We look at gaming performance on ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 overclocked video cards at 1440p. In this preview we will compare performance in five graphically intensive games with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti and GeForce GTX 1080. All real-world gameplay compared. No canned benchmarks.
GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition Overclocking Final
By Kyle Bennett   September 23, 2018
We finally got in the RTX 2080 video cards we purchased, and we have been putting those to good use. While Brent is banging out a real-world gameplay preview, I have been seeing just where our RTX 2080 Founders Edition ends up in terms of overclocking. We finally got a solid handle on what our particular Turing GPU and memory are capable of.