Articles

Reviews

AMD Radeon VII Interview with Scott Herkelman
By Kyle Bennett   January 14, 2019
We had the opportunity to talk to Scott Herkelman at AMD about the new Radeon VII GPU at CES 2019, and he was kind enough to answer questions that we had. We get his thoughts on the new Radeon VII, its full specifications and die size, FreeSync, multi-GPU, 16GB of HBM2, AMD getting back into direct retail sales of video cards, and more.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Ti Performance
By Brent Justice   January 07, 2019
How many frames will NVIDIA Ray Tracing cost you in Battlefield V with the RTX 2080 Ti? We take an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti OC and turn on NVIDIA Ray Tracing in BFV Multiplayer at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K to find out. We test VRAM capacity, which reveals something very important that can impact NVIDIA Ray Tracing performance.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing - CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 02, 2019
We have been doing some deep dives into playing Battlefield V 64-person multiplayer lately and testing what exactly the cost of using NVIDIA Ray Tracing is in terms of framerate performance using new NVIDIA RTX 2070 and RTX 2080 cards. We did get questioned on using a 5GHz overclocked 7700K instead of the suggested CPU that EA recommends.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 25, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI Sea Hawk RTX 2080 Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   December 20, 2018
MSI sent over its new Sea Hawk RTX 2080 card for use in a build video. This is a fair simple RTX card build that is purchased with a pre-installed All-In-One cooler. We wanted to see how well it overclocked and spent a night of gaming in order to do that and we have to say we were pleased with our results.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2070 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 17, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   December 05, 2018
We review MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO in the latest 2018 games using all the RTX features capable at this time. We compare performance at 1440p and 4K with an overclocked GTX 1080 and RX Vega 64. DXR Reflection Ray Tracing in Battlefield V and Adaptive Shading RTX technology in Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus.
RTX 2080 Ti FE Escapes Testing by Dying After 8 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 21, 2018
We have spent over $4000 on NVIDIA RTX cards, on both 2080 Founders Edition and 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards for testing here at HardOCP. As it stands now, two of our three 2080 Ti FE cards have died on us. Another one just bit the dust, and with very little fanfare this time.
XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   November 15, 2018
AMD is launching the new Radeon RX 590 GPU today, and we have a custom XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ video card to evaluate. With a high factory overclock, and potential for overclocking, we will compare this video card with the EVGA GTX 1060 SSC overclocked and test at 1080p and 1440p gaming.
NVIDIA on the Cause of RTX 2080 Series Card Failures
By cageymaru   November 14, 2018
If you are a fan of games and computer hardware, especially GPUs, you have undoubtedly seen anecdotal evidence that NVIDIA's new RTX 2080 series cards are failing due to artifacting, simply stopping working, and in some cases actually catching on fire. Now it seems that NVIDIA is owning up to there actually being an issue with its new RTX cards.
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FAILS After Gaming for 2 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 09, 2018
I have bought and owned NVIDIA graphics cards for a long time. There has been a lot of talk about the RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition failing lately, a lot of that just being anecdotal. After playing games for two hours this evening this is what I was met with. Unlucky? Or do RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards have some issues?
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 31, 2018
We’ve put the new ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti video card to the test, pushing the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GPU at 4K in twelve games default and overclocked against an MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO also default, and overclocked to find the real value. All real-world gaming, no canned benchmarks.
RTX 2070 vs RTX 2080 vs GTX 1080 Ti vs GTX 1070
By Brent Justice   October 22, 2018
We took our world exclusive non-NDA RTX 2070 review and compared that card directly to the GTX 1080 Ti and GTX 1070 cards, both overclocked. Thrown into the mix is the RTX 2080. Our real world gameplay will fully expose the landscape of rasterized gaming and what you should be considering purchasing, if anything for your gaming needs.
MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z Performance Review
By Brent Justice   October 14, 2018
We have an exclusive first look at performance of the new MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z video cards sporting the new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU. We will be comparing performance to a MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X and ASUS ROG STRIX Vega 64 OC video cards in eight games at 1440p and 4K.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 4K Preview
By Brent Justice   September 27, 2018
We look at real-world gaming performance on an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 custom retail factory overclocked video cards at 4K resolution. In this preview we will compare performance in five games at 4K with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE and GeForce GTX 1080 FE.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 1440p Preview
By Brent Justice   September 23, 2018
We look at gaming performance on ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 overclocked video cards at 1440p. In this preview we will compare performance in five graphically intensive games with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti and GeForce GTX 1080. All real-world gameplay compared. No canned benchmarks.
GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition Overclocking Final
By Kyle Bennett   September 23, 2018
We finally got in the RTX 2080 video cards we purchased, and we have been putting those to good use. While Brent is banging out a real-world gameplay preview, I have been seeing just where our RTX 2080 Founders Edition ends up in terms of overclocking. We finally got a solid handle on what our particular Turing GPU and memory are capable of.
The GeForce RTX 2080 Ti is Too Damn High!
By Zarathustra   September 21, 2018
Is the RTX 2080 Ti FE priced too damn high, or is it not? What about the RTX 2080 FE card? Certainly RTX pricing has been a hot topic lately, but what if we adjusted for inflation and actually compared launch prices of NVIDIA video cards over the last 18 years or so? That is exactly what we have done, and laid it all out, so you can make up your own mind.
GeForce RTX 2080 Overclocking Preview with Scanner
By Kyle Bennett   September 21, 2018
We have had very little time to play with our new GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition video cards, but we did want to see just how well this new GPU overclocked out of the box. We put NVIDIA's OC Scanner technology to work and give you our thoughts about just how well it works and what results we got.
AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   September 20, 2018
Ever wonder how much performance you are really getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? What if we took GPUs from AMD and compared performance gained from 2013 to 2018? This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2 article focusing on the Radeon R9 280X, Radeon R9 380X, Radeon RX 480 and Radeon RX 580 in 15 games.
AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1
By Brent Justice   September 04, 2018
Wonder how much performance you are truly getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? We take GPUs from AMD and compare performance gained from 2013 to 2018. This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1 article focusing on the Radeon R9 290X, Radeon R9 390X, Radeon R9 Fury X, and Radeon RX Vega 64 in 14 games.
NVIDIA Controls AIB Launch and Driver Distribution
By Kyle Bennett   August 28, 2018
Since NVIDIA's GPP program got exposed to the world, there have been a lot of changes over at Team Green in the way information about its company is controlled. After its heavy-handed NDAs have sought to muzzle journalists that work with the company, now it is pushing back on its AIBs in order to control the AIB's actions with reviewers.
NVIDIA RTX 2080 and 2080 Ti Unclothed
By Kyle Bennett   August 21, 2018
We get a look behind the svelt exterior of the new RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards. While pricing has got a lot of people turned off, the tech in these new cards is getting us a bit excited. NVIDIA has turned up its Founders Edition cards and even overclocked these. Will this push the AIBs even harder?
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 3
By Brent Justice   August 16, 2018
In Part 3 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance article we are going to compare the GeForce GTX 780 Ti upgrade advantage from GeForce GTX 780, and GeForce GTX 980 Ti from GeForce GTX 980 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti from GeForce GTX 1080. We will see how much each "Ti" version offered in terms of a performance upgrade.