Articles

Reviews

Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs Pt. 2
By Brent Justice   June 18, 2018
It is time once again to play some older PC games on the latest GPUs of today using the latest drivers. We pull from three 5-year-old games and one 8-year-old game today and see if we can maximize the IQ settings in those games at 1440p and 4K. The theme of the day: Older games that still hold up today in terms of IQ.
State of Decay 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   June 06, 2018
The new game State of Decay 2 is out, running on the Unreal Engine 4. This is an open world zombie survival shooter and is getting a lot of traction with millions of players. We test and compare video card GPU performance in this brand new game. We will find out which cards suite it best at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p resolutions.
Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs
By Brent Justice   May 24, 2018
Have you ever wanted to pull out an older game from years past, and play it on your new video card to see if the gameplay experience is improved by turning on all the highest graphics options, or a higher resolution like 4K? We sure did! We test some older games and see if we can "max out" the gameplay experience in 2018.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Image Quality Review
By Brent Justice   May 07, 2018
We will be comparing Far Cry 5's Overall Quality, Shadows, Volumetric Fog, and Anti-Aliasing image quality. In addition, we will find out if we can improve IQ in the game by adding Anisotropic Filtering and forcing AA from the control panel. We’ve have a video showing you many IQ issues we found in Far Cry 5, and those are plentiful.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   April 17, 2018
We test eleven GPU's performance from the low-end, to the top-end in Far Cry 5. Our goal is to find what settings are playable on each video card in Far Cry 5, and to compare the performance. We will also look at AA and Volumetric Fog performance. If you want to find what the best value GPU is for this game, this is for you.
Dell and HP Resist the NVIDIA GPP Leash - So Far
By Wayne Stovall   April 12, 2018
Since we found out about NVIDIA's GeForce Partner Program, aka GPP, a couple of months ago, we have seen changes implemented by NVIDIA's partners, but what has not happened is far more important to point out at this time.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 02, 2018
Far Cry 5 is finally in retail, and in this preview of video card performance we will compare performance of a few video cards, using real gameplay. This will give you an idea what you need to play Far Cry 5, what image quality settings are playable, and what resolutions work best with each video card. Our full evaluation will come later.
AMD Radeon FreeSync 2 vs NVIDIA G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2018
What happens when you take about 10 dedicated PC gamers and put them down in front of a FreeSync 2 supported system, and a G-Sync supported system and let them play games back to back and then ask them about their gaming experience? That is exactly what we did this week.
NVIDIA VOLTA's TITAN V DX12 Performance Efficiency
By Brent Justice   March 26, 2018
We take the $3,000 NVIDIA TITAN V video card using the new Volta architecture and find out if its DX12 and Async Compute performance is more efficient than the last generation Pascal architecture in gaming performance.
NVIDIA TITAN V Video Card Gaming Review
By Brent Justice   March 20, 2018
What does $3,000 US buy you in terms of gaming performance on the PC in 2018? We are about to find out. We’ve got the Volta GPU powered NVIDIA TITAN V video card in-house, tested in thirteen games at 1440p and 4K, oh and we even overclocked it, just because.
GeForce Partner Program Impacts Consumer Choice
By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2018
While we usually like to focus on all the wonderful and immersive worlds that video cards and their GPUs can open up to us, today we are tackling something a bit different. The GeForce Partner Program, known as GPP in the industry, is a "marketing" program that looks to HardOCP as being an anticompetitive tactic against AMD and Intel.
ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 56 O8G GAMING Review
By Brent Justice   March 05, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 56 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 56 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability. Let’s see what it can do.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance GPU Performance Review
By Brent Justice   February 19, 2018
We take the new game Kingdom Come: Deliverance and test ten current video cards in it to find how each one performs, how those stack up, and what the highest playable settings are. We test 4K, 1440p, and 1080p, with multiple graphics settings, maximum distance sliders, and find out what you need to play this game and have a good experience.
ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 O8G GAMING Video Card
By Brent Justice   February 08, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 64 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability in this air-cooled monster. Let’s see what it can do.
GIGABYTE AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Waterforce Xtreme Edition
By Brent Justice   January 22, 2018
GIGABYTE has released a brand new All-In-One liquid cooled GeForce GTX 1080 Ti video card with the AORUS Waterforce Xtreme Edition video card. This video card gives the Corsair Hydro GFX liquid cooled video card some competition, with a higher out-of-box clock speed we’ll see how fast this video card is and if there is any room left for overclocking.
AMD ReLive versus NVIDIA ShadowPlay Performance
By Brent Justice   January 08, 2018
We take AMD ReLive in the AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition and NVIDIA ShadowPlay as part of GeForce Experience and find out which one is more FPS and CPU-efficient for recording gameplay. We will compare features, specifications, and find out which better suits content creators for recording gameplay.
AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition Performance
By Brent Justice   December 20, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and AMD Radeon RX 580 and test performance in 13 games (DX11, DX12, Vulkan) from video card launch press drivers to the latest AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition 17.12.1 driver released in December. We will see how performance in old and newer games has changed over the course of 2017.
AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition Introduction
By Brent Justice   December 12, 2017
Another year, another AMD Radeon Software release! This year we move to something that hopefully get you AMD video card owners' hearts racing, Radeon "Adrenalin." AMD's GPU driver package has aged very well over the last few years adding a host of new features and Adrenalin is chock full of improvements and couple of new features as well.
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 Ti GAMING Advanced Edition
By Brent Justice   December 05, 2017
Today we review the ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1070 Ti A8G GAMING Advanced Edition video card on the test bench. The video card has very a long name, but also the video card with the highest GeForce GTX 1070 Ti overclock we’ve ever achieved. Find out how it compares to Radeon Vega 64.
Need for Speed Payback Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 20, 2017
Need for Speed Payback is out, we’ll look at feature performance and video card performance comparisons in today’s latest video cards. We’ll find what’s playable, and examine graphics quality setting performance among eight video cards. We will also find out VRAM and CPU usage of this new game so you pick the right video card for gaming.
NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   November 15, 2017
We are preparing to water cool our 1080 Ti with both Phanteks G1080 and XSPC Razer Neo waterblocks and we wanted to share with you the process of disassembling the video card so it can accept the waterblock. This process is very much the same for all current editions of the 10XX Founders Edition series GPUs.
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 13, 2017
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is out; this new game uses the id Tech 6 game engine and Vulkan API to give you a great gaming experience on the PC with today’s latest GPUs. We will compare performance features, see what settings work best, find what is playable in the game and compare performance among several video cards.
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM Review
By Brent Justice   November 02, 2017
NVIDIA is launching the GeForce GTX 1070 Ti today, and we’ve got a custom retail MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM video card to test and overclock, yes overclock, to the max. We’ll make comparisons against GTX 1080/1070, AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 for a complete review.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   October 25, 2017
MSI has launched a new high end entry to its GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING series lineup. The MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO has a lot of performance with improved cooling compared to previous GAMING series video cards. We’ll see how well it performs in several games, and overclock it as high as we can.