Articles

Reviews

Radeon RX Vega 64 vs Radeon R9 Fury X Clock for Clock
By Brent Justice   September 12, 2017
We take Radeon RX Vega 64 and R9 Fury X video cards, match the cards in terms of GPU clocks and memory bandwidth, then compare performance. Why? The simple answer is that a bunch of people, including ourselves, just wanted to know how far the Vega GCN architecture advanced.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 versus Radeon R9 Fury X
By Brent Justice   September 05, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X, AMD’s previously fastest GPU for high-end gaming and find out if the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 provides an upgrade path for those on the previous video card. We find out how much faster it is and if it can provide better performance for less money.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 versus AMD Radeon R9 Fury
By Brent Justice   August 25, 2017
Do you have an AMD Radeon R9 Fury based video card and want to know if AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 at a lesser price is a performance upgrade? Do you want to know if architecturally AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 is faster than AMD Radeon R9 Fury? This follow-up performance review should answer those questions.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 22, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 to the test in twelve games against the competition in DX12, DX11, and Vulkan to find out if this new video card offers a value. We will also overclock the video card and see if there is any extra potential for gamers.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 14, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 to the test in eleven games mixed among DX11, DX12, and Vulkan to find out what it can deliver. We pit it against the competition's GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070, and in the end, find the strengths and weaknesses of the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 for PC gaming. Is there value at $499?
Dirt 4 Real Gameplay Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   August 08, 2017
Let’s find out how well the new game Dirt 4 performs across seven GPUs. We put a heavy focus on MSAA performance, CMAA performance and EQAA performance across every GPU to find which is more efficient at AA at high resolutions.
AMD Radeon RX Vega GPU Specs and Pricing Revealed
By Brent Justice   July 31, 2017
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 information and pricing and availability has been announced from Siggraph. At least we know what is coming now. We will talk about it, show you the complete presentations, including architecture, for your viewing pleasure. Let’s see what AMD has up its sleeve for the August 14th release of the AMD Vega GPU lineup.
AMD Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2
By Brent Justice   July 26, 2017
It’s time for a big AMD Radeon Software and driver update from AMD. Check out what’s new and how performance has improved in AMD’s latest Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2 driver. AMD is on the top of its driver game this summer.
Blind Test - RX Vega FreeSync vs. GTX 1080 TI G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   July 26, 2017
Totally unscientific and subjective testing is scorned by many, so if that gets your panties in a bunch, I suggest you stop reading. We had the opportunity to preview AMD's RX Vega this weekend, and we put it up against NVIDIA's GTX 1080 Ti, both using 100Hz FreeSync and G-Sync panels, with our testers representing 223 combined years of gaming experience.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   July 24, 2017
MSI is taking it the max with the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z video card, sporting the most robust cooling, the highest factory overclock, and even an unlocked Power Limit switchable BIOS mode, this video card has the potential for the highest overclocking possible out of the GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GPU on air.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition - Part 2
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2017
It’s time to let the liquid flow and put the ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition to the ultimate test. We will connect a Koolance Liquid Cooling System and test GPU frequency, gaming performance, and push the video card as hard as possible for its best overclock. Let’s find out what a little liquid can do for a GTX 1080 Ti.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition Part 1
By Brent Justice   June 26, 2017
Air cooling? Liquid Cooling? How about both, the ASUS ROG Poseidon GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition hybrid video card can run them both. In Part 1 of our evaluation we will test the video card on "air cooling" and overclock it as high as possible. In Part 2, we pump liquid through its veins and compare overclocks.
MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 19, 2017
The first custom retail video card based on AMD’s new Radeon RX 570 GPU is our test bench, the MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X is poised to offer incredible performance and overclocking potential out of the Radeon RX 570. We’ll compare it to the competition, plus the Radeon RX 470 and see what advantage it offers.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 12, 2017
We review a custom GeForce GTX 1080 Ti based video card with custom cooling and a factory overclock built for overclocking. Can the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X truly deliver a consistent enjoyable high-end graphics setting gameplay experience in games at 4K finally? Is a single card viable for current generation gaming at 4K?
PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample Overclocking
By Brent Justice   April 21, 2017
We take the new PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample and overclock it as much as possible as we did not have time to do this in our original review. Find out our final overclocking results and how high the new AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU is capable of going. Will we break through past 1.5GHz on this GPU?
AMD Radeon RX 580 PowerColor Red Devil Golden Sample
By Brent Justice   April 18, 2017
AMD is launching the AMD Radeon RX 500 series today, and we lead with a custom retail Radeon RX 580 GPU based video card from PowerColor. We’ll take the Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample video card through the paces and see how it compares to the competition at the same price point.
Mass Effect: Andromeda Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 04, 2017
Let’s find out how various video cards perform in Mass Effect: Andromeda and what it takes to play this game smoothly at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K. In this preview we’ll examine several video cards, compare apples to apples performance and find the highest playable game settings for each video card.
DX12 versus DX11 Gaming Performance Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   March 22, 2017
We play latest games with DX12 support and find out which is faster, DX12 or DX11? We use the latest drivers from NVIDIA and AMD to find any advantages in this GPU focused review. We’ll get to the bottom of the question, "Should I be running this game in DX12 or DX11 in order to get the best real world gaming performance?"
NVIDIA GeForce 378.78 Performance Driver Follow-Up
By Brent Justice   March 13, 2017
We will take the new NVIDIA GeForce 378.78 performance driver and add it to our NVIDIA Video Card Driver Performance Review graphs to see if this driver has improved performance. NVIDIA has made some very bold claims lately, so let's see if those come through as true gaming advantages.
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   March 09, 2017
NVIDIA is launching the fastest video card it offers for gaming today in the new $699 GeForce GTX 1080 Ti. We will take this video card and test it against the GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX TITAN X at 1440p and 4K resolutions to find out how it compares. Is it really faster than a $1200 GeForce GTX TITAN X Pascal?
Fallout 4 High Resolution Texture Pack Review
By Brent Justice   February 12, 2017
Bethesda has released its official High Resolution Texture Pack DLC for Fallout 4. We will look at performance impact, VRAM capacity usage levels, and compare image quality to see if this High Resolution Texture Pack might be worthy of your bandwidth in actually improving the gameplay experience.
NVIDIA Video Card Driver Performance Review
By Brent Justice   February 08, 2017
We take the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 for a ride in 11 games using drivers from the Windows 10 release to the latest drivers in January of 2017. We will see if and by how much game performance has changed over the course of time on NVIDIA GPUs. Have drivers really improved performance?
AMD Video Card Driver Performance Review - Fine Wine?
By Brent Justice   January 30, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X and AMD Radeon RX 480 for a ride in 11 games using drivers from the time of each video card’s launch date, to the latest AMD Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.1.1 Beta driver. We will see how performance in old and newer games has changed over the course of 2015-2017 with new drivers.
GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 G1 GAMING 6G Review
By Brent Justice   January 23, 2017
We’ve got the brand new GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 G1 GAMING 6G video card to put through the paces and find out how well it performs in games and overclocks. We will compare its highest overclock with one of the best overclocks we’ve achieved on AMD Radeon RX 480 to put it to the test. How will it stand up? Let’s find out.