Articles

Reviews

NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   November 15, 2017
We are preparing to water cool our 1080 Ti with both Phanteks G1080 and XSPC Razer Neo waterblocks and we wanted to share with you the process of disassembling the video card so it can accept the waterblock. This process is very much the same for all current editions of the 10XX Founders Edition series GPUs.
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 13, 2017
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is out; this new game uses the id Tech 6 game engine and Vulkan API to give you a great gaming experience on the PC with today’s latest GPUs. We will compare performance features, see what settings work best, find what is playable in the game and compare performance among several video cards.
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM Review
By Brent Justice   November 02, 2017
NVIDIA is launching the GeForce GTX 1070 Ti today, and we’ve got a custom retail MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM video card to test and overclock, yes overclock, to the max. We’ll make comparisons against GTX 1080/1070, AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 for a complete review.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   October 25, 2017
MSI has launched a new high end entry to its GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING series lineup. The MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO has a lot of performance with improved cooling compared to previous GAMING series video cards. We’ll see how well it performs in several games, and overclock it as high as we can.
Forza Motorsport 7 Video Card Performance Update
By Brent Justice   October 16, 2017
Forza Motorsport 7 gaming performance has changed, video cards stack up differently when compared. We take Forza Motorsport 7 and apply new NVIDIA GeForce 387.92 and AMD Crimson ReLive 17.10.1 drivers to find out how these compare, what performance differences there are, and if AMD Radeon RX Vega is still king in this game.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 09, 2017
Does the AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 play games well at 4K resolution? What game settings work best at 4K, and how does it compare to GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti? Ten games are tested, new and old, DX11, DX12, and Vulkan at playable game settings and pushed to the max in this all out 4K brawl.
Corsair Hydro GFX GTX 1080 Ti Liquid Cooled Video Card
By Brent Justice   September 26, 2017
We’ve got an exciting new video card for you today, the Corsair Hydro GFX GTX 1080 Ti Liquid Cooled Graphics Card with a Corsair Hydro Series AIO liquid cooling package on board. We find out how well this video card performs, how cool it runs, and how well it will overclock at 4K and 1440p.
Radeon RX Vega 64 vs Radeon R9 Fury X Clock for Clock
By Brent Justice   September 12, 2017
We take Radeon RX Vega 64 and R9 Fury X video cards, match the cards in terms of GPU clocks and memory bandwidth, then compare performance. Why? The simple answer is that a bunch of people, including ourselves, just wanted to know how far the Vega GCN architecture advanced.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 versus Radeon R9 Fury X
By Brent Justice   September 05, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X, AMD’s previously fastest GPU for high-end gaming and find out if the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 provides an upgrade path for those on the previous video card. We find out how much faster it is and if it can provide better performance for less money.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 versus AMD Radeon R9 Fury
By Brent Justice   August 25, 2017
Do you have an AMD Radeon R9 Fury based video card and want to know if AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 at a lesser price is a performance upgrade? Do you want to know if architecturally AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 is faster than AMD Radeon R9 Fury? This follow-up performance review should answer those questions.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 22, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 to the test in twelve games against the competition in DX12, DX11, and Vulkan to find out if this new video card offers a value. We will also overclock the video card and see if there is any extra potential for gamers.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 14, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 to the test in eleven games mixed among DX11, DX12, and Vulkan to find out what it can deliver. We pit it against the competition's GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070, and in the end, find the strengths and weaknesses of the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 for PC gaming. Is there value at $499?
Dirt 4 Real Gameplay Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   August 08, 2017
Let’s find out how well the new game Dirt 4 performs across seven GPUs. We put a heavy focus on MSAA performance, CMAA performance and EQAA performance across every GPU to find which is more efficient at AA at high resolutions.
AMD Radeon RX Vega GPU Specs and Pricing Revealed
By Brent Justice   July 31, 2017
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 information and pricing and availability has been announced from Siggraph. At least we know what is coming now. We will talk about it, show you the complete presentations, including architecture, for your viewing pleasure. Let’s see what AMD has up its sleeve for the August 14th release of the AMD Vega GPU lineup.
AMD Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2
By Brent Justice   July 26, 2017
It’s time for a big AMD Radeon Software and driver update from AMD. Check out what’s new and how performance has improved in AMD’s latest Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2 driver. AMD is on the top of its driver game this summer.
Blind Test - RX Vega FreeSync vs. GTX 1080 TI G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   July 26, 2017
Totally unscientific and subjective testing is scorned by many, so if that gets your panties in a bunch, I suggest you stop reading. We had the opportunity to preview AMD's RX Vega this weekend, and we put it up against NVIDIA's GTX 1080 Ti, both using 100Hz FreeSync and G-Sync panels, with our testers representing 223 combined years of gaming experience.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   July 24, 2017
MSI is taking it the max with the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z video card, sporting the most robust cooling, the highest factory overclock, and even an unlocked Power Limit switchable BIOS mode, this video card has the potential for the highest overclocking possible out of the GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GPU on air.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition - Part 2
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2017
It’s time to let the liquid flow and put the ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition to the ultimate test. We will connect a Koolance Liquid Cooling System and test GPU frequency, gaming performance, and push the video card as hard as possible for its best overclock. Let’s find out what a little liquid can do for a GTX 1080 Ti.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition Part 1
By Brent Justice   June 26, 2017
Air cooling? Liquid Cooling? How about both, the ASUS ROG Poseidon GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition hybrid video card can run them both. In Part 1 of our evaluation we will test the video card on "air cooling" and overclock it as high as possible. In Part 2, we pump liquid through its veins and compare overclocks.
MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 19, 2017
The first custom retail video card based on AMD’s new Radeon RX 570 GPU is our test bench, the MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X is poised to offer incredible performance and overclocking potential out of the Radeon RX 570. We’ll compare it to the competition, plus the Radeon RX 470 and see what advantage it offers.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 12, 2017
We review a custom GeForce GTX 1080 Ti based video card with custom cooling and a factory overclock built for overclocking. Can the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X truly deliver a consistent enjoyable high-end graphics setting gameplay experience in games at 4K finally? Is a single card viable for current generation gaming at 4K?
PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample Overclocking
By Brent Justice   April 21, 2017
We take the new PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample and overclock it as much as possible as we did not have time to do this in our original review. Find out our final overclocking results and how high the new AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU is capable of going. Will we break through past 1.5GHz on this GPU?
AMD Radeon RX 580 PowerColor Red Devil Golden Sample
By Brent Justice   April 18, 2017
AMD is launching the AMD Radeon RX 500 series today, and we lead with a custom retail Radeon RX 580 GPU based video card from PowerColor. We’ll take the Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample video card through the paces and see how it compares to the competition at the same price point.
Mass Effect: Andromeda Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 04, 2017
Let’s find out how various video cards perform in Mass Effect: Andromeda and what it takes to play this game smoothly at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K. In this preview we’ll examine several video cards, compare apples to apples performance and find the highest playable game settings for each video card.