Articles

Reviews

ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition - Part 2
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2017
It’s time to let the liquid flow and put the ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition to the ultimate test. We will connect a Koolance Liquid Cooling System and test GPU frequency, gaming performance, and push the video card as hard as possible for its best overclock. Let’s find out what a little liquid can do for a GTX 1080 Ti.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition Part 1
By Brent Justice   June 26, 2017
Air cooling? Liquid Cooling? How about both, the ASUS ROG Poseidon GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition hybrid video card can run them both. In Part 1 of our evaluation we will test the video card on "air cooling" and overclock it as high as possible. In Part 2, we pump liquid through its veins and compare overclocks.
MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 19, 2017
The first custom retail video card based on AMD’s new Radeon RX 570 GPU is our test bench, the MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X is poised to offer incredible performance and overclocking potential out of the Radeon RX 570. We’ll compare it to the competition, plus the Radeon RX 470 and see what advantage it offers.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 12, 2017
We review a custom GeForce GTX 1080 Ti based video card with custom cooling and a factory overclock built for overclocking. Can the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X truly deliver a consistent enjoyable high-end graphics setting gameplay experience in games at 4K finally? Is a single card viable for current generation gaming at 4K?
PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample Overclocking
By Brent Justice   April 21, 2017
We take the new PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample and overclock it as much as possible as we did not have time to do this in our original review. Find out our final overclocking results and how high the new AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU is capable of going. Will we break through past 1.5GHz on this GPU?
AMD Radeon RX 580 PowerColor Red Devil Golden Sample
By Brent Justice   April 18, 2017
AMD is launching the AMD Radeon RX 500 series today, and we lead with a custom retail Radeon RX 580 GPU based video card from PowerColor. We’ll take the Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample video card through the paces and see how it compares to the competition at the same price point.
Mass Effect: Andromeda Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 04, 2017
Let’s find out how various video cards perform in Mass Effect: Andromeda and what it takes to play this game smoothly at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K. In this preview we’ll examine several video cards, compare apples to apples performance and find the highest playable game settings for each video card.
DX12 versus DX11 Gaming Performance Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   March 22, 2017
We play latest games with DX12 support and find out which is faster, DX12 or DX11? We use the latest drivers from NVIDIA and AMD to find any advantages in this GPU focused review. We’ll get to the bottom of the question, "Should I be running this game in DX12 or DX11 in order to get the best real world gaming performance?"
NVIDIA GeForce 378.78 Performance Driver Follow-Up
By Brent Justice   March 13, 2017
We will take the new NVIDIA GeForce 378.78 performance driver and add it to our NVIDIA Video Card Driver Performance Review graphs to see if this driver has improved performance. NVIDIA has made some very bold claims lately, so let's see if those come through as true gaming advantages.
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   March 09, 2017
NVIDIA is launching the fastest video card it offers for gaming today in the new $699 GeForce GTX 1080 Ti. We will take this video card and test it against the GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX TITAN X at 1440p and 4K resolutions to find out how it compares. Is it really faster than a $1200 GeForce GTX TITAN X Pascal?
Fallout 4 High Resolution Texture Pack Review
By Brent Justice   February 12, 2017
Bethesda has released its official High Resolution Texture Pack DLC for Fallout 4. We will look at performance impact, VRAM capacity usage levels, and compare image quality to see if this High Resolution Texture Pack might be worthy of your bandwidth in actually improving the gameplay experience.
NVIDIA Video Card Driver Performance Review
By Brent Justice   February 08, 2017
We take the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 for a ride in 11 games using drivers from the Windows 10 release to the latest drivers in January of 2017. We will see if and by how much game performance has changed over the course of time on NVIDIA GPUs. Have drivers really improved performance?
AMD Video Card Driver Performance Review - Fine Wine?
By Brent Justice   January 30, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X and AMD Radeon RX 480 for a ride in 11 games using drivers from the time of each video card’s launch date, to the latest AMD Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.1.1 Beta driver. We will see how performance in old and newer games has changed over the course of 2015-2017 with new drivers.
GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 G1 GAMING 6G Review
By Brent Justice   January 23, 2017
We’ve got the brand new GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 G1 GAMING 6G video card to put through the paces and find out how well it performs in games and overclocks. We will compare its highest overclock with one of the best overclocks we’ve achieved on AMD Radeon RX 480 to put it to the test. How will it stand up? Let’s find out.
ASUS STRIX GTX 1060 O6G GAMING Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   January 01, 2017
We are reviewing the ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1060 O6G GAMING video card. We’ve put it through the tests and overclocked this video card as high as possible. We will compare performance with an overclocked ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 O8G GAMING video card and find out which is better performing in real-world gaming.
ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 O8G GAMING Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   December 19, 2016
We put the ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 O8G GAMING video card through the wringer to find out how well this video card performs and overclocks against a highly overclocked MSI GTX 1060 GAMING X video card. Check out the highest overclock and fastest performance we’ve ever achieved to date with and AMD Radeon RX 480.
Watch Dogs 2 Video Card Image Quality Review - Part 3
By Brent Justice   December 12, 2016
In Part 3 of our Watch Dog 2 series we focus on the image quality aspects of this game. We will compare high resolution textures, shadows, ambient occlusion, extra details slider and AA. If you are curious what those features look like, how they compare between quality levels, this article will give you an idea what to expect.
Watch Dogs 2 Video Card Performance Review Part 2
By Brent Justice   December 06, 2016
In Part 2 of our Watch Dogs 2 Video Card Performance Review we go in-depth on WD2 graphics settings and the performance impact of those. We will test the High Resolution Texture Pack, shadow techniques, Ambient Occlusion, the Extra Details slider, and all Anti-Aliasing modes. Real-world gameplay on the newest AMD and NVIDIA GPUs.
Watch Dogs 2 Video Card Performance Review Part 1
By Brent Justice   December 02, 2016
Watch Dogs 2 has been released on the PC. We will have a three part evaluation of performance and image quality starting today with performance comparisons. We will also find the highest playable settings for each graphics card and the gameplay experience delivered. Finally, a graphically demanding game.
Gears of War 4 DX12 Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 23, 2016
We take Gears of War 4, a new Windows 10 only game supporting DX12 natively and compare performance with seven video cards. We will find out which one provides the best experience at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p resolutions, and see how these compare to each other. We will also look specifically at the Async Compute feature.
Deus Ex: Mankind Divided DX12 Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 18, 2016
Deus Ex: Mankind Divided has received official DX12 support in the retail release. We will take the newest AMD and NVIDIA video cards and compare DX12 versus DX11 performance. We will also pit AMD versus NVIDIA in DX11 and DX12 and find out how it all compares in the latest version of this game.
GIGABYTE RX 480 G1 GAMING vs MSI GTX 1060 GAMING X
By Brent Justice   November 10, 2016
We take GIGABYTE’s Radeon RX 480 G1 GAMING video card and pit it against a MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X video card in today’s evaluation. We will overclock both video cards as high as possible and compare performance and find out what both video cards have to offer in the upper $200 price range for gaming.
MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X vs AMD Radeon RX 470
By Brent Justice   October 30, 2016
With recent AMD price drops, online retailer savings and rebates, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti now has new competition on its doorstep. We will re-evaluate the MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X with the now price-comparable AMD Radeon RX 470. The low end enthusiast video card market is getting very crowded.
MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X 4G Review
By Brent Justice   October 25, 2016
NVIDIA is launching the GeForce GTX 1050 Ti and GeForce GTX 1050 today. These lower-end GPUs are priced for those on a budget, but still pack quite a punch. We test the MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X, overclock it, and see how it compares to the competition in the latest games.