Articles

Reviews

AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 13, 2018
AMD teased us a bit last week by showing off its new 2nd Generation Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X packaging and specifications. This week AMD lets us share all our Threadripper data we have been collecting. The 2990WX is likely a lot different part than many people were expecting, and it turns out that it might usher AMD into a newly created market.
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Overclocking Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 01, 2018
With the AMD Ryzen 7 2700 down to as little as $255, now is the time for us to discuss exactly what the benefits, if any, there are to purchasing the 2700 rather than its more expensive 2700X. If you consider yourself a computer hardware enthusiast, and are building a new system any time soon, you will want to give this a read.
AMD's Ryzen Master Overclocking Software Overview
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 21, 2018
AMD has been stepping up its game in the CPU and motherboard arena for the last year. Its Ryzen Master software is an overclocking utility that is motherboard agnostic, which allows overclocking and performance tuning from within Windows. With new chipsets comes a new iteration of this software. We take it for a test drive and let you know what we thought of it.
Precision Boost Overdrive and XFR Enhanced Confusion
By Kyle Bennett   May 01, 2018
We wanted to put together a quick overview about what Precision Boost 2 and XFR2 are NOT about. It seems that slides leaked, and faked, earlier in the 2nd generation Ryzen's development have clouded some people's understanding on what features are included, but more important which features are not.
AMD Precision Boost 2 and Wraith Prism Deep Dive
By Wayne Stovall   April 30, 2018
When AMD presented it new Precision Boost 2 technology, I have to think AMD undersold the feature in terms of what it was actually able to accomplish. The original Precision Boost on the 1st gen Ryzen processors was anemic at best. After seeing what Precision Boost 2 can accomplish, do we even need to try to overclock our new 2700X? Blasphemy!
AMD 2nd Gen Ryzen 2 2700X Zen+ CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   April 19, 2018
AMD has made a huge push back into the CPU market over the last year with its Ryzen CPUs for the desktop market. The Ryzen started the Thread Wars and Intel has tried to answer. We are reviewing the 2nd generation Ryzen today. Did AMD take an already great CPU and make it better?
Intel Rumors - Kaby Lake-X - Skylake-X and Cascade Lake
By Kyle Bennett   April 09, 2018
In this episode of How the Rumor Mill Churns, we address some old Intel CPUs, some new Intel CPUs, and hopefully Intel CPUs that we will never see again. End of Life for good products is often disheartening, but when EOL pertains to something that should have never existed, it goes over a lot better.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper TIM Application
By Kyle Bennett   February 19, 2018
AMD's Threadripper has shown to be a very different CPU in all sorts of ways and this includes how you install the Thermal Interface Material as well should you be pushing your Threadripper's clocks beyond factory defaults. We show you what techniques we have found to give us the best temperatures when overclocking.
How To Install the AMD Threadripper CPU
By Kyle Bennett   February 18, 2018
We have shot a lot of AMD Threadripper videos since its launch. During that time, we have shown various videos about install differences that surround Foxconn and Lotes TR4 sockets that are used on motherboards. We continually get asked about actual install of the CPU so we finally took the time to show you exactly how we do it.
Threadripper Pays for Itself Using Cryptocurrency Mining
By Kyle Bennett   February 01, 2018
If you could have your AMD Ryzen Threadripper pay for itself over time, would you? No matter your feelings towards cryptocurrency mining, you can get your Threadripper mining today, and paying for itself. The process could not be much easier either. The big kicker is the actual wattage load on your system is likely much less than you would guess.
AMD CES 2018 Announcement Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   January 07, 2018
We have gone through the multiple slide decks that AMD has shared with us in the last couple of days and picked through those with a focus on desktop and High End Desktop CPUs and a bit on Radeon products. We have boiled it all down to what we see as being important to computer hardware enthusiasts and gamers.
Quick Facts about Meltdown and Spectre
By Kyle Bennett   January 04, 2018
Meltdown and Spectre have your scratching your head? In-house HardOCP security expert, Joe Wood, has walked us through some very ugly facts about these two new attacks that were fully exposed this week.
AMD Q317 Results CEO Prepared Remarks
By Kyle Bennett   October 24, 2017
AMD was kind enough to share its full prepared statement from CEO Lisa Su at its Q317 earnings call this afternoon.
Overclocking the Intel 8600K - Delidded on Air and Water
By Kyle Bennett   October 11, 2017
We've gotten to spend some quality time with our Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, and of course we have spent our time finding out just how far we could push the processor's clock under both Air Cooling and Water Cooling. We relid and delid as well. The results look to be very promising for the overclocking enthusiast and gamer.
Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K vs 7600K at 5GHz Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 05, 2017
If you were waiting for huge IPC gains out of the new Coffee Lake CPU from Intel, you might be waiting for a very long time. We take the Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K CPU and match it up GHz to GHz with the Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake processor. And we throw in a Ryzen 7 at 4GHz just for fun.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Installation Redux
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2017
We have been seeing reports of folks having issues with AMD Ryzen Threadripper installs. And by that we mean getting the processor itself actually installed down on the motherboard. We give you some quick tips on making this process seamless.
AMD Threadripper Gooseberry HEDT World Record
By Kyle Bennett   September 03, 2017
This was a Blender benchmark that I was not familiar with till yesterday, but after running it a few times and looking around the Net, I came away very impressed with our rendering time with Threadripper overclocked to 4GHz across all 16 cores.
The Top 5 Best Overclocking CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 01, 2017
We count down another Top 5 best CPUs of all time. These CPUs are special, at least to most HardOCP readers, as these are judged only by the value to enthusiasts due to being highly overclockable in nature. Extra points are awarded for market influence and performance. It's a tough call as there are so many to choose from over the years.
AMD Announces Ryzen Threadripper 1900X
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2017
Today AMD rolls out what is not a very well kept secret, the Ryzen Threadripper model 1900X CPU. There is no doubt that Threadripper has already been a success for AMD, but how exactly does does an 8-core Threadripper fit into High End Desktop (HEDT) world of processors and platforms? The user profile is fairly skinny.
The Top 5 Best CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 25, 2017
This week we give you a look at what we think are the "best" CPUs off all time. Surely this is a highly subjective look back at all the CPUs we have been exposed to over the years, and you will very likely have some of your suggestions as well.
Threadripper at 4GHz with XSPC RayStorm Waterblock
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2017
XSPC got us over one of its first waterblocks specifically designed to help handle Ryzen Threadripper CPU's heat while overclocking. We give you a quick unboxing, break down the block itself, and then we look at Threadripper long-term performance. We finally get it dialed in at 4GHz.
The Top 5 Worst CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 17, 2017
We reach back over 20 years to think about what are worst CPUs we have ever had to deal with. Whether it be technical issues or for reasons of simply disappointing the market, these CPUs sucked in some way. Some CPUs you will remember, so you won't, and some you will wish that you did not remember.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X and 1920X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 10, 2017
The day is finally upon us that many CPU enthusiasts have been waiting for. We get to see what AMD's new Threadripper CPU is all about in terms of performance, and in attempts to cool the beast. There has been no lack of hype for months now, so let's see if it is all justified.