Articles

Reviews

Overclocking the Intel Core i9-7900X X-series Processor
By Kyle Bennett   July 19, 2017
We have finally gotten some time to spend with the new Intel Core i9-7900X, which is a 10-core 20-thread CPU built to be used with the new X299 chipset and motherboard platform. Is this $1000 3.3GHz to 4.3GHz CPU good for overclocking beyond stock? Overclocking the 7900X takes a good bit of cooling, and then a little more for really pushing it hard.
AMD Launches EPYC Enterprise CPUs Available Today
By Wayne Stovall   June 20, 2017
AMD held it official EPYC enterprise CPU launch today in Austin, TX. If you are not aware of EPYC, it is quite simply AMD's effort to get back into the datacenters that are now firmly held by Intel Xeon processors. What do you get when you take 4 Ryzen 7 CPUs and put those down on a single package with Infinity Fabric? You would be correct, its EPYC.
AMD Launches for Threadripper and Radeon RX Vega
By Wayne Stovall   May 30, 2017
AMD got up on stage at Computex just now and went over what is to come in terms of its news EPYC, Threadripper, Radeon Instinct, and Radeon RX Vega GPUs. We got given a little bit of read meat, but most of what came from AMD left us a bit disappointed in terms of real information. Stringing us along, and we are still eating it up....
The Definitive AMD Ryzen 7 Real-World Gaming Guide
By Brent Justice   May 26, 2017
With our AMD Ryzen 7 overclocked to 4GHz we find out if this is a competitive real-world gaming CPU or not. We compare it with two overclocked Intel 7700K and 2600K systems across six different video card configurations at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p to find out which CPU provides the best gameplay experience using playable game settings.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Raja Koduri Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
Raja Koduri, Radeon Technologies Group Senior VP and Chief Architect, just finished up with his AMD Analyst Day presentation that was firmly focused on its upcoming Vega GPU and how it will pertain to the Machine Learning and Advanced Visualization markets by introducing the Radeon Vega Frontier Edition.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Lisa Su Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
AMD is holding its annual Financial Analyst Day right now. AMD announced its Epyc brand Naples based datacenter processor CPUs as well as its Radeon Instinct Datacenter products based on the Vega GPU. This is AMD CEO Lisa Su's introduction slide deck that touches on all of today's presentations still happening now.
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 & 1400 CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   April 11, 2017
AMD has been on a tear with its new Ryzen 7 CPUs over the past few weeks and now it is time for the Ryzen 5 processor family performance to be explored. We are giving away the AMD Reviewer's Kit with a 1600X and 1500X, instead we bought 1600 and 1400 processors to review here today. All data is retail CPUs, and all overclocked to 4GHz.
Overclocking the AMD Ryzen 5 1600 and 1400 CPUs
By Kyle Bennett   April 06, 2017
Much to our surprise, AMD Ryzen 5 CPUs started showing up online for sale last week in North America, so we did what any PC hardware review site would do. We went out and bought four of those and started working on seeing just how much overclocking headroom each of these new CPUs have.
AMD Ryzen Oxide Game Engine Optimized Code Tested
By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2017
There has been a lot of talk about how AMD's new Ryzen processors have pulled up somewhat short at low resolution gaming. AMD explained that code optimizations from game developers are needed to address this issue, and today is the day that we are supposed to start seeing some of that code in action.
Two More Retail Ryzen 7 1700 Overclock Tested
By Kyle Bennett   March 28, 2017
Last week we headed out and purchased two retail Ryzen 7 1700 CPUs to see what 1700 processors purchased would attain in terms of overclocking. After that we went out and purchased two more retail 1700 CPUs to see what those would do overclocking-wise. After spending some time with those, we have a better picture of what to expect.
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Retail CPU Overclocking X 2
By Kyle Bennett   March 20, 2017
We have seen what the Ryzen 7 1700 sampled to us by AMD would do when it comes to overclocking, but what happens when you purchase a 1700 CPU? We went out and purchased one online and one locally and put these to test to find out their overclocking prowess. Not all CPUs are created equally.
AMD Ryzen 5 Processor Family Introduction
By Kyle Bennett   March 15, 2017
AMD has official pulled the kimono back on its new Ryzen 5 series processors which will be for sale very soon. I was working up a little writeup about these new 4 core and 6 core processors, but seeing how as all this information is already leaked, here is the full slide deck for you.
AMD Ryzen 1700 CPU vs 1700X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2017
So there has been a lot of talk about what Ryzen CPU do you buy? The way I think is that you want to buy the least expensive one that will give you the best performance. That is exactly what we expect to find out here today. Is the Ryzen 1700 for $330 as good as the $400 1700X, or even the $500 1800X?
AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   March 02, 2017
Saying that we have waited for a long time for a "real" CPU out of AMD would be a gross understatement, but today AMD looks to remedy that. We are now offered up a new CPU that carries the branding name of Ryzen. Has AMD risen from the CPU graveyard? You be the judge after looking at the data.
Relid Your Intel CPU on the Cheap with no Delid Tools
By Kyle Bennett   February 21, 2017
So we have covered a lot about taking your shiny new Intel CPUs apart lately, affectionately known as "delidding." What we have found in our journey is that "relidding" the processor might be an important part of the process as well. But what if you do not have a fancy tool that will help you put Humpty back together again?
Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU Re-Lid Overclocking Results
By Kyle Bennett   February 15, 2017
We have spent a couple of weeks tweaking the Core i5-7600K processor that we bought in retail after pulling the Integrated Heat Spreader and replacing the Thermal Interface Material with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra. Many of you wanted to see what we could get with air cooling, so we did.
3D Print Your Own Intel Delid Tool for Skylake & Kaby Lake
By Kyle Bennett   February 09, 2017
A lot of us have come to find out recently that Intel once again skimped on the Thermal Interface Material inside these processors' Integrated Heat Spreaders. You can fix that issue however, and now there are some ways to do it safely. If you have a 3D printer, you can make the process a lot safer, and the tools needed much less expensive.
7600K Naked Die Cooling Temperature Follow-Up
By Kyle Bennett   February 07, 2017
Last week we decided to see if we could get our naked Intel Core i5-7600K working in the LGA socket after going through the delidding process. We did in fact get the system functional, but the real goal was to achieve better cooling. This is a quick summation of what exactly we experienced.
Intel Core i5-7600K Naked Die Installation with Water Block
By Kyle Bennett   February 03, 2017
After our recent experiments with delidding and relidding our 7700K and 7600K to see if we could get better operating temperatures, we decided it was time to go topless! Popping the top on your CPU is one thing, and getting it to work in the current processor socket is another. Get out your pocket knife, we are going to have to make some cuts.
Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Temp Results
By Kyle Bennett   February 02, 2017
We got in our retail purchased Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake architecture processor and of course the first thing we wanted to do was overclock it to 5GHz, and then very quickly remove the Integrated Heat Spreader and see how much better we could make our load temperatures. Once again, we got very good results certainly worth sharing.
Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU Overclocking Follow-up
By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2017
Last week we shared our overclocking results with our retail purchased Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake processor. We then took the Integrated Heat Spreader off, replaced the Thermal Interface Material and tried again for 5GHz with 3600MHz memory and failed. This time, less RAM MHz and more core voltage!
Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Results
By Kyle Bennett   January 19, 2017
Is there any reason at all to take a razor blade, garage workbench vice, or any sort of other tool to your brand new Kaby Lake CPU? Of course there is. That reason being that the Thermal Interface Material used by Intel on its desktop CPUs is pretty much crap...at least to us enthusiasts.
Kaby Lake 7700K vs Sandy Bridge 2600K IPC Review
By Kyle Bennett   January 13, 2017
There are many HardOCP readers that are still running Sandy Bridge CPUs and have been waiting with anticipation of one day upgrading to a new system. One of the biggest things asked in the last month is just how the 2600K stacks up against the new 7700K processor. So we got hold of one of our readers 2600K systems and put it to the test.
Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7700K Overclocking Preview
By Kyle Bennett   January 03, 2017
After having a few weeks to play around with Intel's new Kaby Lake architecture Core i7-7700K processors, we finally have some results that we want to discuss when it comes to overclocking and the magic 5GHz many of us are looking for, and what we think your chances are of getting there yourself.