Articles

Reviews

Intel Core i9-9980XE vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper
By Kyle Bennett   November 13, 2018
Today Intel is kicking off its newest High End Desktop processor, the Intel Core i9-9980XE Extreme Edition. This 14nm Skylake-X CPU boasts 18 Cores and 36 Threads and has an expected retail price of $1979. We compare the i9-9980XE to AMD's entire line of Threadripper CPUs to see where the 9980XE sits in the HEDT stack.
Intel Core i9-9900K 9th Generation CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 19, 2018
The new 9th generation Intel i9-9900K CPU is upon us! AMD has been pushing into Intel's desktop market and Intel knows it. Today Intel is pulling the curtain back on "not paid for" reviews and we are happy to be serving you one of those up here today. Is the i9-9900K better than the Ryzen 7 2700X, and is it worth the staggering price premium?
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2018
We have spent a lot of time understanding the new Threadripper 2950X and how it overclocks. We have put it through the paces using a chiller system, water cooling, and air cooling. We show you what Precision Boost Overdrive and what Precision Boost 2 can push the processor to in terms of stable performance as well as manual overclocking.
Threadripper 2990WX - 2950X & Wraith Ripper DIY Install
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2018
Installing your new Threadripper is quite a bit different from any CPU you have likely encountered. However, it is a fairly easy task if you have seen it done before. Since we know many of you will be doing this for the first time, we have updated our Threadripper Installation DIY with a few tips and tricks that will get your on your way.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 13, 2018
AMD teased us a bit last week by showing off its new 2nd Generation Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X packaging and specifications. This week AMD lets us show off the new Threadripper. The 2990WX is likely a lot different part than many people were expecting, and it turns out that it might usher AMD into a newly created market.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X Unboxing
By Kyle Bennett   August 06, 2018
AMD is allowing us to pull back the curtain on it upcoming Generation 2 Threadripper packaging. The new model 2900WX and 2950X CPUs will certainly not be missed on retail shelves and this time the CPUs have a sort of "collector's case" for those of us enthusiasts that like to display such things. It also works a lot better than it did last time around.
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Overclocking Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 01, 2018
With the AMD Ryzen 7 2700 down to as little as $255, now is the time for us to discuss exactly what the benefits, if any, there are to purchasing the 2700 rather than its more expensive 2700X. If you consider yourself a computer hardware enthusiast, and are building a new system any time soon, you will want to give this a read.
AMD's Ryzen Master Overclocking Software Overview
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 21, 2018
AMD has been stepping up its game in the CPU and motherboard arena for the last year. Its Ryzen Master software is an overclocking utility that is motherboard agnostic, which allows overclocking and performance tuning from within Windows. With new chipsets comes a new iteration of this software. We take it for a test drive and let you know what we thought of it.
Precision Boost Overdrive and XFR Enhanced Confusion
By Kyle Bennett   May 01, 2018
We wanted to put together a quick overview about what Precision Boost 2 and XFR2 are NOT about. It seems that slides leaked, and faked, earlier in the 2nd generation Ryzen's development have clouded some people's understanding on what features are included, but more important which features are not.
AMD Precision Boost 2 and Wraith Prism Deep Dive
By Wayne Stovall   April 30, 2018
When AMD presented it new Precision Boost 2 technology, I have to think AMD undersold the feature in terms of what it was actually able to accomplish. The original Precision Boost on the 1st gen Ryzen processors was anemic at best. After seeing what Precision Boost 2 can accomplish, do we even need to try to overclock our new 2700X? Blasphemy!
AMD 2nd Gen Ryzen 2 2700X Zen+ CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   April 19, 2018
AMD has made a huge push back into the CPU market over the last year with its Ryzen CPUs for the desktop market. The Ryzen started the Thread Wars and Intel has tried to answer. We are reviewing the 2nd generation Ryzen today. Did AMD take an already great CPU and make it better?
Intel Rumors - Kaby Lake-X - Skylake-X and Cascade Lake
By Kyle Bennett   April 09, 2018
In this episode of How the Rumor Mill Churns, we address some old Intel CPUs, some new Intel CPUs, and hopefully Intel CPUs that we will never see again. End of Life for good products is often disheartening, but when EOL pertains to something that should have never existed, it goes over a lot better.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper TIM Application
By Kyle Bennett   February 19, 2018
AMD's Threadripper has shown to be a very different CPU in all sorts of ways and this includes how you install the Thermal Interface Material as well should you be pushing your Threadripper's clocks beyond factory defaults. We show you what techniques we have found to give us the best temperatures when overclocking.
How To Install the AMD Threadripper CPU
By Kyle Bennett   February 18, 2018
We have shot a lot of AMD Threadripper videos since its launch. During that time, we have shown various videos about install differences that surround Foxconn and Lotes TR4 sockets that are used on motherboards. We continually get asked about actual install of the CPU so we finally took the time to show you exactly how we do it.
Threadripper Pays for Itself Using Cryptocurrency Mining
By Kyle Bennett   February 01, 2018
If you could have your AMD Ryzen Threadripper pay for itself over time, would you? No matter your feelings towards cryptocurrency mining, you can get your Threadripper mining today, and paying for itself. The process could not be much easier either. The big kicker is the actual wattage load on your system is likely much less than you would guess.
AMD CES 2018 Announcement Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   January 07, 2018
We have gone through the multiple slide decks that AMD has shared with us in the last couple of days and picked through those with a focus on desktop and High End Desktop CPUs and a bit on Radeon products. We have boiled it all down to what we see as being important to computer hardware enthusiasts and gamers.
Quick Facts about Meltdown and Spectre
By Kyle Bennett   January 04, 2018
Meltdown and Spectre have your scratching your head? In-house HardOCP security expert, Joe Wood, has walked us through some very ugly facts about these two new attacks that were fully exposed this week.
AMD Q317 Results CEO Prepared Remarks
By Kyle Bennett   October 24, 2017
AMD was kind enough to share its full prepared statement from CEO Lisa Su at its Q317 earnings call this afternoon.
Overclocking the Intel 8600K - Delidded on Air and Water
By Kyle Bennett   October 11, 2017
We've gotten to spend some quality time with our Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, and of course we have spent our time finding out just how far we could push the processor's clock under both Air Cooling and Water Cooling. We relid and delid as well. The results look to be very promising for the overclocking enthusiast and gamer.
Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K vs 7600K at 5GHz Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 05, 2017
If you were waiting for huge IPC gains out of the new Coffee Lake CPU from Intel, you might be waiting for a very long time. We take the Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K CPU and match it up GHz to GHz with the Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake processor. And we throw in a Ryzen 7 at 4GHz just for fun.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Installation Redux
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2017
We have been seeing reports of folks having issues with AMD Ryzen Threadripper installs. And by that we mean getting the processor itself actually installed down on the motherboard. We give you some quick tips on making this process seamless.
AMD Threadripper Gooseberry HEDT World Record
By Kyle Bennett   September 03, 2017
This was a Blender benchmark that I was not familiar with till yesterday, but after running it a few times and looking around the Net, I came away very impressed with our rendering time with Threadripper overclocked to 4GHz across all 16 cores.
The Top 5 Best Overclocking CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 01, 2017
We count down another Top 5 best CPUs of all time. These CPUs are special, at least to most HardOCP readers, as these are judged only by the value to enthusiasts due to being highly overclockable in nature. Extra points are awarded for market influence and performance. It's a tough call as there are so many to choose from over the years.