Articles

Reviews

AMD Ryzen Threadripper Installation Redux
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2017
We have been seeing reports of folks having issues with AMD Ryzen Threadripper installs. And by that we mean getting the processor itself actually installed down on the motherboard. We give you some quick tips on making this process seamless.
AMD Threadripper Gooseberry HEDT World Record
By Kyle Bennett   September 03, 2017
This was a Blender benchmark that I was not familiar with till yesterday, but after running it a few times and looking around the Net, I came away very impressed with our rendering time with Threadripper overclocked to 4GHz across all 16 cores.
The Top 5 Best Overclocking CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 01, 2017
We count down another Top 5 best CPUs of all time. These CPUs are special, at least to most HardOCP readers, as these are judged only by the value to enthusiasts due to being highly overclockable in nature. Extra points are awarded for market influence and performance. It's a tough call as there are so many to choose from over the years.
AMD Announces Ryzen Threadripper 1900X
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2017
Today AMD rolls out what is not a very well kept secret, the Ryzen Threadripper model 1900X CPU. There is no doubt that Threadripper has already been a success for AMD, but how exactly does does an 8-core Threadripper fit into High End Desktop (HEDT) world of processors and platforms? The user profile is fairly skinny.
The Top 5 Best CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 25, 2017
This week we give you a look at what we think are the "best" CPUs off all time. Surely this is a highly subjective look back at all the CPUs we have been exposed to over the years, and you will very likely have some of your suggestions as well.
Threadripper at 4GHz with XSPC RayStorm Waterblock
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2017
XSPC got us over one of its first waterblocks specifically designed to help handle Ryzen Threadripper CPU's heat while overclocking. We give you a quick unboxing, break down the block itself, and then we look at Threadripper long-term performance. We finally get it dialed in at 4GHz.
The Top 5 Worst CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 17, 2017
We reach back over 20 years to think about what are worst CPUs we have ever had to deal with. Whether it be technical issues or for reasons of simply disappointing the market, these CPUs sucked in some way. Some CPUs you will remember, so you won't, and some you will wish that you did not remember.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X and 1920X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 10, 2017
The day is finally upon us that many CPU enthusiasts have been waiting for. We get to see what AMD's new Threadripper CPU is all about in terms of performance, and in attempts to cool the beast. There has been no lack of hype for months now, so let's see if it is all justified.
Custom DIY Mount for Threadripper Water Cooling
By Kyle Bennett   August 07, 2017
What do you do when you don't have the proper parts that you need to water cool your new thread ripper? Make you own with trash you find around the house. Maybe even repurpose and old water block that is in your closet.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Coldplate Mounting and Mating
By Kyle Bennett   August 05, 2017
When you mount any processor cooling system, you want to make sure that you have the best possible mating surface between the two. That means you want as little Thermal Interface Material as possible. When both surfaces are not flat, this is an issue.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Unboxing and Install
By Kyle Bennett   August 03, 2017
We show you how "easily" the AMD Threadripper comes out of the box, and some hilarity ensues, and then we take you through the simple steps of Threadripper installation. I would consider this a PSA as well because I destroyed the socket on my TR4 motherboard.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Specs and Pricing Revealed
By Kyle Bennett   July 30, 2017
AMD revealed all the details on Threadripper at Siggraph today. Finally no stone left unturned in what has been a truly long drawn out launch by AMD, but finally the trickling is over. We get solid data on all pertinent points to look forward to.
Overclocking the Intel Core i9-7900X X-series Processor
By Kyle Bennett   July 19, 2017
We have finally gotten some time to spend with the new Intel Core i9-7900X, which is a 10-core 20-thread CPU built to be used with the new X299 chipset and motherboard platform. Is this $1000 3.3GHz to 4.3GHz CPU good for overclocking beyond stock? Overclocking the 7900X takes a good bit of cooling, and then a little more for really pushing it hard.
AMD Launches EPYC Enterprise CPUs Available Today
By Kyle Bennett   June 20, 2017
AMD held it official EPYC enterprise CPU launch today in Austin, TX. If you are not aware of EPYC, it is quite simply AMD's effort to get back into the datacenters that are now firmly held by Intel Xeon processors. What do you get when you take 4 Ryzen 7 CPUs and put those down on a single package with Infinity Fabric? You would be correct, its EPYC.
AMD Launches for Threadripper and Radeon RX Vega
By Kyle Bennett   May 30, 2017
AMD got up on stage at Computex just now and went over what is to come in terms of its news EPYC, Threadripper, Radeon Instinct, and Radeon RX Vega GPUs. We got given a little bit of read meat, but most of what came from AMD left us a bit disappointed in terms of real information. Stringing us along, and we are still eating it up....
The Definitive AMD Ryzen 7 Real-World Gaming Guide
By Brent Justice   May 26, 2017
With our AMD Ryzen 7 overclocked to 4GHz we find out if this is a competitive real-world gaming CPU or not. We compare it with two overclocked Intel 7700K and 2600K systems across six different video card configurations at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p to find out which CPU provides the best gameplay experience using playable game settings.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Raja Koduri Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
Raja Koduri, Radeon Technologies Group Senior VP and Chief Architect, just finished up with his AMD Analyst Day presentation that was firmly focused on its upcoming Vega GPU and how it will pertain to the Machine Learning and Advanced Visualization markets by introducing the Radeon Vega Frontier Edition.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Lisa Su Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
AMD is holding its annual Financial Analyst Day right now. AMD announced its Epyc brand Naples based datacenter processor CPUs as well as its Radeon Instinct Datacenter products based on the Vega GPU. This is AMD CEO Lisa Su's introduction slide deck that touches on all of today's presentations still happening now.
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 & 1400 CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   April 11, 2017
AMD has been on a tear with its new Ryzen 7 CPUs over the past few weeks and now it is time for the Ryzen 5 processor family performance to be explored. We are giving away the AMD Reviewer's Kit with a 1600X and 1500X, instead we bought 1600 and 1400 processors to review here today. All data is retail CPUs, and all overclocked to 4GHz.
Overclocking the AMD Ryzen 5 1600 and 1400 CPUs
By Kyle Bennett   April 06, 2017
Much to our surprise, AMD Ryzen 5 CPUs started showing up online for sale last week in North America, so we did what any PC hardware review site would do. We went out and bought four of those and started working on seeing just how much overclocking headroom each of these new CPUs have.
AMD Ryzen Oxide Game Engine Optimized Code Tested
By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2017
There has been a lot of talk about how AMD's new Ryzen processors have pulled up somewhat short at low resolution gaming. AMD explained that code optimizations from game developers are needed to address this issue, and today is the day that we are supposed to start seeing some of that code in action.
Two More Retail Ryzen 7 1700 Overclock Tested
By Kyle Bennett   March 28, 2017
Last week we headed out and purchased two retail Ryzen 7 1700 CPUs to see what 1700 processors purchased would attain in terms of overclocking. After that we went out and purchased two more retail 1700 CPUs to see what those would do overclocking-wise. After spending some time with those, we have a better picture of what to expect.
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Retail CPU Overclocking X 2
By Kyle Bennett   March 20, 2017
We have seen what the Ryzen 7 1700 sampled to us by AMD would do when it comes to overclocking, but what happens when you purchase a 1700 CPU? We went out and purchased one online and one locally and put these to test to find out their overclocking prowess. Not all CPUs are created equally.
AMD Ryzen 5 Processor Family Introduction
By Kyle Bennett   March 15, 2017
AMD has official pulled the kimono back on its new Ryzen 5 series processors which will be for sale very soon. I was working up a little writeup about these new 4 core and 6 core processors, but seeing how as all this information is already leaked, here is the full slide deck for you.