Articles

Reviews

Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   February 16, 2018
We have been waiting for Watercool's new Threadripper water block to show up so we could get to testing it, but they sold so many that they were taking care of their customers first before sending us a review unit. That is something you have to like about a company when you see them going to bat for their customers. Let's open us this HEATKILLER!
Thermaltake Core G21 & View 21 Glass Edition Cases
By Zach Throckmorton   February 02, 2018
This is a two-for-one review: Thermaltake's Core 21 and View 21 Tempered Glass Edition cases are identical aside from the front panel. Both cases feature tempered glass panels that show off your build, and we'll find out what difference the drastically different front panel designs have on case performance.
Cooler Master ML240L RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 29, 2018
The Cooler Master "MasterLiquid" series of coolers is very robust. Today we again look at an "L" model All-In-One cooler that is part of its "Lite" series of AIO that is supposed to be easier on your wallet while delivering an "easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Does the 240mm radiator Lite model deliver value...and cooling?
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 280 AIO Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2018
ENERMAX has been the most aggressive company when it comes to cooling AMD's Threadripper CPU with an easy to use and affordable All-In-One system. Today we are reviewing its THIRD socket TR4-specific AIO. It's previous offerings have been extremely solid and we think that Enermax has stayed on point.
Cooler Master ML120L RGB All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 17, 2018
Cooler Master has recently revamped its entire line of All-In-One liquid CPU coolers, and it has specifically addressed putting a lower priced product into the market with its "Lite" series of AIOs that it says are "An easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Let's see how its smallest radiator stands up to an overclocked Ryzen CPU.
IceMan AMD Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   January 10, 2018
AMD's Threadripper CPU is finding its way into many computer hardware enthusiasts' HEDT systems, and if you are looking to overclock it to the edge-of-the-envelope 4GHz, you are very possibly going to look to custom loop cooling. We just got in the IceMan Threadripper block and we tear it down to see how it is designed.
Corsair H150i PRO RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 08, 2018
Corsair has just released its largest All-In-One (AIO) cooler to date. With a 360mm radiator, RGB Frag Harder Disco Lights, and magnetic levitation fans, it seems to be hitting all the popular checkboxes that are required nowadays when it comes to just about any product. Our primary concern is how well it cools a very hot overclocked CPU.
AMD Threadripper Water Block Cooler Roundup for 2017
By Kyle Bennett   December 29, 2017
We go back and re-test all of our Socket TR4 AMD Threadripper CPU under the same conditions so we can compare all of those directly in one review article. We cover the EK Supremacy EVO, the Koolance 400A-S, the Phanteks 399A, the Swiftech Apogee SKF-TR4, and the XSPC RayStorm NEO.
Koolance 400A-S TR4 Threadripper CPU Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 24, 2017
Koolance is a well known name in the mainstream water cooling market but over the years it has paid more attention to the enterprise market. Koolance is however dipping its toe into the Threadripper cooling market, when others aren't yet, with an enthusiast water block for the TR4 socket. Let's see how it stacks up the rest of the current TR4 water blocks.
Swiftech Apogee SKF Threadripper Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 19, 2017
Swiftech has long been known for it cooling prowess among computer enthusiasts for two decades. Not to be left behind, Swiftech is now starting production on a water block specifically designed for AMD's Threadripper. Not only is it designed for socket TR4, this new block comes to use with an advanced micro-fin design.
Optimus Water Cooling V1 Intel CPU Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 14, 2017
Optimus Water Cooling is primed to give the competition a run for the money when it comes to water cooling your very hot and overclocked LGA 115X CPU. This block is made right here right in the USA. Does "revolutionary patent-pending Hybrid Fin technology" transform a simple water block into something that can dominate its competition?
Koolance Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 11, 2017
Not to be left out of the rush to cool AMD's HEDT Threadripper CPU, Koolance joins the fray. We just got in our "CPU-400A-S" water block and we give you an upfront and personal look as we back the curtain to see what is inside of this soon-to-come cooler.
Phanteks Glacier G1080 Video Card Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 10, 2017
Do you have the desire to run your high-end NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti at crazy sustained clock rates, with core temperatures just about 10 degrees C over ambient, and doing all that while in near silence? Phanteks has the answer for you with its Glacier series G1080 custom cooling system for your GeForce card. Frag Harder Disco Lights included.
Optimus V1 Silver Water Block Unboxing and Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 07, 2017
Optimus Water Cooling may be a company that you are not familiar with. That is because this is its first publicly available computer water cooling product in retail. Optimus is a US company building products made and sourced right here in the good ole US of A. We just took delivery of it new V1 Silver water block for Intel sockets.
Swiftech Apogee SKF TR4 Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 06, 2017
We have been waiting for "the next" AMD Threadripper water block to show up on the market, and it is finally here. The limited edition Apogee SKF-TR4 "Heirloom Series" is a great looking piece of hardware so of course we want to take it apart and show you what is hidden beneath the extremely shiny exterior.
Phanteks G1080 GPU Water Block Assembly and Flow
By Kyle Bennett   December 06, 2017
Phanteks recently sent us its Glacier series water block for our Founders Edition GTX 1080 Ti. We take you through the full process of getting it installed. We check out the mating surfaces of the GPU, capacitors, and MOSFETs and show you just how well it all fits together. Then finally we show exactly how the coolant flows in 4K!
XSPC Razor Neo GTX 1080 Ti Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 21, 2017
If you are thinking about delving in water cooling your high end NVIDIA GTX 1080 or 1080 Ti video card, the XSPC Razor Neo is certainly worthy of being on your short list. Outside of its incredibly good looks, Frag Harder Disco Lights, and easy install process, does it work well when it comes to overclocking and cooling your GTX 1080 Ti?
XSPC Razor Neo Waterblock for GTX 1080 Ti Build
By Kyle Bennett   November 20, 2017
Have you ever wondered just how involved it is to install water cooling onto your very expensive video card? We walk you through installing the XSPC Razor New Waterblock onto our NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti video card and show you just how everything fits and how easily it all goes.
Reeven NAIA 240 All-In-One Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   November 10, 2017
Today we are reviewing Reeven's first AIO cooler to come to market, the NAIA 240. It breaks with tradition a bit in that it is a refillable system rather than permanently closed as we see in many others. Let's see if its Frag-Harder lights and custom color liquid help it keep our overclocked Ryzen 7 cool.
Phanteks Glacier C399A Threadripper Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 08, 2017
The Phanteks Glacier C399A is a custom-designed water cooling block built specifically for AMD's new Threadripper processors. It has great looks, Frag-Harder Disco Lights, is built like a tank, and seems to be just what the doctor ordered when it comes to cooling overclocked Threadripper CPUs.
Thermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass Edition Review
By Zach Throckmorton   November 06, 2017
It's big, it's glass, but don't worry it is tempered in the event should you decide to take a header into it in the middle of the night. It's Thermaltake's View 71 Full Tower Chassis and if you want to see inside your case and show off all those Frag-Harder lights, the View 71 maybe just be your ticket. But how good of a case is it?
EK Supremacy EVO Threadripper TR4 Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 30, 2017
EK is one of the most heralded names in the enthusiast computer cooling industry. It has been building waterblocks for custom CPU cooling since 2003. It has now thrown its hat into the AMD Threadripper waterblock ring. Does the Supremacy EVO waterblock have the performance to back up its reputation against tough competition?
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
The HardOCP CPU HSF/AIO Cooler Review Platform
By Richard Gouge   October 03, 2017
We are once again updating our CPU Heatsink and All-in-One CPU cooler (HSF/AIO) testing platform. We are also changing up some of the review procedures in order to give our readers a better real-world review of how these coolers compare in real-world environments. How coolers act on an open test bench and in your case can be very different.