Articles

Reviews

Corsair H115i RGB Platinum All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   October 31, 2018
Corsair is today releasing its "best ever" All-In-One CPU cooler that it has ever built. It has all the Hydro Series AIO features that we are used to hearing about, only now those are better or there are more of them. How can anyone argue with 24 Frag Harder Disco Lights built into your CPU cooler? But seriously, how does it cool?
Noctua AMD Threadripper Air Cooler Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   October 09, 2018
We take all three Noctua air coolers built for AMD Threadripper CPUs and put these to the test on both the 2950X and 2990WX. We run the NH-U14S, NH-U12S, and NH-U9 through the paces with both Precision Boost 2 and Precision Boost Overdrive using multiple fan configurations and compare these to the Silver Arrow and Wraith Ripper too.
Thermalright ARO-M14G Ryzen AM4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   October 02, 2018
Thermalright is known for low cost CPU air coolers that will get a job done. Its new ARO-M14G is a bit different in form factor than what we are used to seeing from the company, but it claims to have built this heatsink specifically for AMD's Ryzen socket AM4 CPUs. It even goes as far as to suggest it is suitable for fanless operation.
Threadripper Air Coolers-Silver Arrow TR4 vs. Wraith Ripper
By Kyle Bennett   September 28, 2018
Cooling the AMD Threadripper CPUs is not to be taken for granted. We pit the Thermalright Silver Arrow TR4 against the Cooler Master Wraith Ripper using both the Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X processors. We show you how both these air coolers perform using Precision Boost 2 and Precision Boost Overdrive.
Enermax EQUILENCE ATX Case Review
By Zach Throckmorton   September 11, 2018
The Enermax EQUILENCE comes with a lot of promises, mostly that it is silent. In our experiences however, "silent" cases are usually hotter on your hardware. Enermax has looked to figure that out while giving us an unassuming looking case that has tons of cooling options and features built into a very workable form factor.
Arctic Freezer 33 eSports ONE CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   September 10, 2018
The Arctic Freezer 33 eSports ONE is a CPU air cooler that packs some very healthy stats into what is a diminutive package if space is of a concern. Its price is also diminutive at only $30. The Freezer 33 touts a thermal coating that creates "micro-turbulences" in order to give it optimised heat-dissipation and increased cooling performance.
Corsair SPEC-Omega Mid-Tower Gaming Case Review
By Zach Throckmorton   September 07, 2018
The Corsair Carbide SPEC-Omega Mid-Tower Gaming Case comes with what Corsair calls an "asymmetrical, angular, bold and dynamic look" so that you will never confuse it with anything else. Beyond that, we want to know how well it works out for a new build and if can give us enough airflow to keep all our hot hardware nice and cool.
Cooler Master ML360R RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   August 14, 2018
If it is Frag Harder Disco Lights you want, then Cooler Master ML360R RGB All-In-One CPU liquid cooler has that in spades. RGB is nice and all, but how does this AIO do where the rubber meets the road? We strap the ML360R RGB to our highly over-volted and overclocked Ryzen 7 processor and find out.
Corsair H100i PRO RGB Liquid AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 20, 2018
Corsair has just unveiled its new model Hydro AIO H100i CPU AIO cooler. These work with all new AMD and desktop Intel processors. Its new claim to fame is super quiet magnetic levitation fans. As usual, cooling our highly overclocked AMD Ryzen CPU is our focus, so how does it cool when pushed to the limit?
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 18, 2018
The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO heatsink and fan cooler combo has been around for about seven years and is incredibly affordable. This HSF is a go-to for many folks on a budget and others that just need cooling that is better than stock. What happens when we put it on our highly overclocked Ryzen 7 CPU?
Cooler Master ML240R RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   June 21, 2018
Cooler Master's claim to fame with the ML240R RGB is, you guessed it, "THE MOST COLORFUL WAY TO COOL." Its Master Liquid series has recently gotten high praise from us when it comes to keeping your CPU cool using an All-In-One cooler. Cooler Master has taken its successful model and adorned it with lots of Frag Harder Disco Lights.
be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   May 24, 2018
The Dark Rock Pro 4 promises two things right up front, "NO COMPROMISE SILENCE AND PERFORMANCE." be quiet! even says it in all caps, so it must mean business. Other marketing speak is "Silent Wings," "Funnel-shaped," "high-performance," and "easily installable." We will put it all to the test on our highly over-volted Ryzen 7.
Watercool Heatkiller IV GTX 1080 Ti Water Block Review
By Wayne Stovall   May 18, 2018
Watercool and its Heatkiller series of custom water components are well known for being some of the best in the world when it comes to performance and design. We give its Heatkiller IV water block for the NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti a good once over, and come away very impressed. Quality and performance all in one package.
AMD Wraith Prism CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   May 15, 2018
AMD has very much upped its game with the latest generation of Ryzen processors. The Ryzen 2700X comes complete with a snazzy looking cooler that has served us well on our test bench, but what happens when you put it inside a hot case with a hot video card and put the screws to it in terms of GHz and wattage on our 4GHz Ryzen testing rig?
Koolance 400A-S Threadripper Water Block V2 Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 11, 2018
Koolance finally has its redesigned version of the CPU-400A-S AMD Threadripper water block out for sale, and we have gotten it through our review testing. Koolance engineers have gone back and fully redesigned this block specifically for Threadripper and it shows both in terms of performance and design.
Barrowch Whale Shark Threadripper Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 09, 2018
The Barrowch Whale Shark Water Block is built specifically for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper processor and its TR4 socket on X399 chipset motherboards. It is one of the best looking water blocks we have seen for Threadripper, and even has an onboard temperature sensor and display right on the water block. Once mounted, how does it cool?
be quiet! Dark Rock 4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   April 30, 2018
be quiet! has quietly made a name for itself in the CPU air cooling business over the years and now demands a very solid following of fans and users. It may surprise you to know, that be quiet!'s claim to fame is...wait for it...being quiet. That however is not usually our main concern when it comes to cooling, which is...wait for it...cooling.
MASTERAIR MA621P Air Cooler for AMD Threadripper
By Kyle Bennett   April 26, 2018
The AMD Ryzen Threadripper is a beast when it comes to overclocking and cooling. Cooler Master steps into the ring with the first Threadripper-specific air cooler that we have come across. We have put it through the paces here on our highly overclocked and overvolted 1950X. Does the MasterAir MA621P have what it takes?
REEVEN OURANOS RC-1401 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   April 10, 2018
REEVEN's OURANOS RC-1401 is a single tower CPU air cooler with a 140mm yellow-bladed fan. Its design keeps your RAM slots in mind while its Speed Switch Adapter claims to maximize cooling efficiency and easing your noise profile. Let's put it on our overclocked Ryzen CPU running a very high vCore and see if it makes the cut.
Barrowch Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   April 04, 2018
Barrow is not a terribly well known name in North America when it comes to water cooling products, but it does produce what is surely top-shelf looking components. Its "Barrowch" line of coolers is supposed to be its best in terms of design and engineering. We breakdown its Whale Shark built for Threadripper and socket TR4.
Ncore V1 No Frame Water Block Prototype Testing
By Kyle Bennett   April 02, 2018
The Ncore V1 is a prototype CPU water block for custom built PC cooling loops. It has a couple of big draws when it comes to enthusiast features, namely it is a direct-die cooler, and the other feature is that no mounting hardware is required. We have put the Ncore V1 through some cooling and have results to share.
Rockit Cool Rockit 88 Delid and Relid Tool
By Kyle Bennett   April 02, 2018
Every since Intel decided to start once again using a thermal interface material in its enthusiast CPUs, we have been looking for better ways to remove the Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS). Rockit Cool has what we consider to be the best tool we have used yet. If safety and ease are priority, this is it.
Koolance 400A-S Threadripper Water Block V2 Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   March 29, 2018
Koolance, not a company to twiddle its thumbs, has been working on gettings is newly designed AMD Ryzen Threadripper water block into the market. We have the first sample in the wild, and as we have done in the past, we show you the unboxing, then break it down to see what all changes have been made inside.
Enermax LiqFusion 240 All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   March 19, 2018
The new Enermax LiqFusion is an All-in-One liquid CPU cooler packed with unique features and desirable options. It has an exclusive RGB-sync waterblock, flow indicator, ceramic bearing pump, as well as a serviceable design, but how well does it cool our highly overclocked Ryzen test system?