Articles

Reviews

Reeven NAIA 240 All-In-One Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   November 10, 2017
Today we are reviewing Reeven's first AIO cooler to come to market, the NAIA 240. It breaks with tradition a bit in that it is a refillable system rather than permanently closed as we see in many others. Let's see if its Frag-Harder lights and custom color liquid help it keep our overclocked Ryzen 7 cool.
Phanteks Glacier C399A Threadripper Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 08, 2017
The Phanteks Glacier C399A is a custom-designed water cooling block built specifically for AMD's new Threadripper processors. It has great looks, Frag-Harder Disco Lights, is built like a tank, and seems to be just what the doctor ordered when it comes to cooling overclocked Threadripper CPUs.
Thermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass Edition Review
By Zach Throckmorton   November 06, 2017
It's big, it's glass, but don't worry it is tempered in the event should you decide to take a header into it in the middle of the night. It's Thermaltake's View 71 Full Tower Chassis and if you want to see inside your case and show off all those Frag-Harder lights, the View 71 maybe just be your ticket. But how good of a case is it?
EK Supremacy EVO Threadripper TR4 Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 30, 2017
EK is one of the most heralded names in the enthusiast computer cooling industry. It has been building waterblocks for custom CPU cooling since 2003. It has now thrown its hat into the AMD Threadripper waterblock ring. Does the Supremacy EVO waterblock have the performance to back up its reputation against tough competition?
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
The HardOCP CPU HSF/AIO Cooler Review Platform
By Richard Gouge   October 03, 2017
We are once again updating our CPU Heatsink and All-in-One CPU cooler (HSF/AIO) testing platform. We are also changing up some of the review procedures in order to give our readers a better real-world review of how these coolers compare in real-world environments. How coolers act on an open test bench and in your case can be very different.
XSPC RayStorm Threadripper Waterblock on Ryzen 7
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2017
If you could mount your Threadripper custom cooling waterblock on your socket AM4 Ryzen 7 CPU, wouldn't you? Of course the answer is yes. However, the results turned out a bit different than we thought those might.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Waterblock Comparison #1
By Kyle Bennett   September 08, 2017
We have been waiting for AMD Threadripper CPU custom cooling parts to make their way to us. We have our first two purpose-built Threadripper waterblocks from XSPC and Bykski. We put both these coolers to the test with our 4GHz overclocked Threadripper in hour long stress tests to see how our temperatures fare.
Thermaltake View 27 Snow Gull-Wing Window Case Review
By Mike Hermon   August 29, 2017
The Thermaltake View 27 Snow conjures up images of exotic cars with its gullwing window.There is no doubt that this is a good looking computer case. Does adding some nice LED fans and a slick white paint job result in a finely tuned machine or does it fall short?
Enermax LIQMAX II 240 Liquid CPU AIO CPU Cooler
By Marc Adams   August 16, 2017
Enermax is extremely proud of its Liqmax II 240 CPU AIO cooler. It is one of the few coolers you will find that it proudly displays its TDP rating right on the front of the box, which happens to be "350W+." With its Batwing fan blades, ceramic bearing pump, and Shunt-Channel-Technology it is a sure winner, right? Let's find out.
FSP Windale 6 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 19, 2017
FSP is a very new brand when it comes to CPU air coolers and is entering a market that is highly competitive and seeded with others that have been designing air coolers for quite some time. Its Windale 6 cooler features six direct contact heatpipes, a 120mm fan, and what FSP says is an "optimized fin design." But does it cool?
Scythe Mugen 5 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 01, 2017
The Mugen 5 is one of the larger CPU air coolers you will find on the market, and with that is has an "asymmetric design for maximum memory compatibility," so it does not extend deep into DIMM territory. The polished copper baseplate, as well as the rest of the HSF is nickel plated. Also we have a newly engineered mounting mechanism.
NZXT Kraken X62 All-in-One CPU Liquid Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   May 10, 2017
With today's NZXT Kraken review we step up the performance ladder and review its X62 model AIO CPU Cooler. As NZXT spells out on it website, and it is not modest about it, saying that the new Kraken series "have been redesigned to bring you the greatest experience in liquid cooling, all backed by an industry-leading 6-year warranty."
Corsair Crystal 460X RGB Compact ATX Mid-Tower Case
By Mike Hermon   May 04, 2017
What do you do when a window just isn't enough? Corsair believes they have the answer in the Crystal 460X RGB case. The front and side are made of tempered glass giving you the ability to show off your pride and joy. Is it more than just a pretty face? Can the Crystal 460X RGB make a PC enthusiast happy?
NZXT Kraken X52 All-In-One CPU Liquid Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   April 25, 2017
NZXT has been stepping up its cooling game this year, and the Kraken X52 All-In-One represents its "in between" liquid CPU cooler model for those cases with somewhat limited space for the radiator. The Kraken X52 comes with a healthy feature set that has most of the bells and whistles that are needed to make it competitive.
Thermalright True Spirit 140 Direct CPU Air Cooler
By Marc Adams   April 19, 2017
Thermalright has been laying low in the USA for the last few years, actually almost 5 years the way we see it. The True Spirit 120 was an inexpensive Titan when it came to cooling hot CPUs. Thermalright's legacy is extended today with the True Spirit 140 Direct, is it worthy of the "True Spirit" name and your hard earned dollar?
NZXT Kraken X42 All-In-One CPU Liquid Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   March 06, 2017
The new NZXT Kraken X42 is its new "entry level" All-In-One CPU liquid cooler. The Kraken series is not new to us, but NZXT makes a lot of claims about this cooler being better in many ways, and of course has all kinds of cool RGB LED lights built into it. But all of this comes a price. Does it keep your CPU cooler while overclocking?
LEPA NEOllusion RGB CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   February 23, 2017
LEPA comes to us today with a new air cooler that is specifically focused on users that are looking for a little more bling inside their desktop computer build. And while really cool lights may or may not be your thing, we wanted to see just how the NEOllusion performed when it comes to its primary function, CPU cooling.
Reeven Okeanos RC-1402 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   February 14, 2017
The Reeven Okeanos RC-1402 is not exactly a new CPU air cooler, but it is not widely available in the United States so it has not gotten a lot of coverage in North America. The cost for the cooler is not low, and two staggered-sized fans are included in the box, so we have fairly high performance expectations for this twin tower cooler.
Scythe FUMA SCFM-1000 Twin Tower CPU Air Cooler
By Marc Adams   January 12, 2017
Scythe has a history of building CPU air coolers that not only perform well, but are also are a value in terms of your hard earned money. The FUMA cooler is built with the PC hardware enthusiast in mind and sports multiple fan configurations and comes supplied with two fans so you do not have any added cost.
Streacom DB4 Fanless Aluminum Chassis Review
By HardOCP News   January 06, 2017
This case review is for all of you mini-ITX system builders out there that may be looking for something a bit different than the normal case....that looks like a computer case. The Streacom DB4 fanless chassis may be exactly the HTPC case that will grace your living room....with grace.
Thermaltake Tower 900 Vertical Super Tower Chassis Review
By HardOCP News   December 04, 2016
It's a tower and it's super! Thermaltake's new Tower 900 is not close to your typical PC computer enclosure. It is built for a very specific customer; the enthusiast that wants plenty of room to do highly customized build and then have the ability to easily show it off is the target demographic for this chassis.
Anidees AI Crystal Mid-Tower Case Review
By HardOCP News   November 07, 2016
Anidees tells us, "It's not just a case with glass side panel." Fair enough, and most enthusiasts know they either want to be able to peek inside and feel the satisfaction of their handiwork. Assuredly though, now days you need more features than just a glass door to satisfy system builders.
Corsair Carbide Series AIR 740 Cube Case Review
By HardOCP News   October 10, 2016
Corsair is back with another cube type case this time in its Carbide AIR series. The model AIR 740 is a big steel case that has a big footprint, and along with that comes a spacious interior that will lend itself to just about any amount of hardware you want to install and Corsair has its sights set on excellent cooling for all that hardware.