Articles

All Reviews

GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 17, 2017
GIGABYTE adds another product to its ever expanding Aorus Gaming line. The X299 Aorus Gaming 3 sounds like it might be at the bottom of the Skylake-X heap feature-wise, but you can hardly call a motherboard with so many features "stripped" down. The GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 has a lot to offer on paper but can it deliver?
Forza Motorsport 7 Video Card Performance Update
By Brent Justice   October 16, 2017
Forza Motorsport 7 gaming performance has changed, video cards stack up differently when compared. We take Forza Motorsport 7 and apply new NVIDIA GeForce 387.92 and AMD Crimson ReLive 17.10.1 drivers to find out how these compare, what performance differences there are, and if AMD Radeon RX Vega is still king in this game.
Overclocking the Intel 8600K - Delidded on Air and Water
By Kyle Bennett   October 11, 2017
We've gotten to spend some quality time with our Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, and of course we have spent our time finding out just how far we could push the processor's clock under both Air Cooling and Water Cooling. We relid and delid as well. The results look to be very promising for the overclocking enthusiast and gamer.
AMD vs. Intel HEDT Platform Showdown Editorial
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 10, 2017
I’ve spent quite a bit of time with AMD’s Threadripper and X399 chipset and I thought I’d give our readers my impression of it and talk about the platform as well as giving interested consumers a general overview of the platform and what it has to offer. We compare it to Intel’s HEDT platform and give our take on this match up.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 09, 2017
Does the AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 play games well at 4K resolution? What game settings work best at 4K, and how does it compare to GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti? Ten games are tested, new and old, DX11, DX12, and Vulkan at playable game settings and pushed to the max in this all out 4K brawl.
Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K vs 7600K at 5GHz Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 05, 2017
If you were waiting for huge IPC gains out of the new Coffee Lake CPU from Intel, you might be waiting for a very long time. We take the Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K CPU and match it up GHz to GHz with the Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake processor. And we throw in a Ryzen 7 at 4GHz just for fun.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
The HardOCP CPU HSF/AIO Cooler Review Platform
By Richard Gouge   October 03, 2017
We are once again updating our CPU Heatsink and All-in-One CPU cooler (HSF/AIO) testing platform. We are also changing up some of the review procedures in order to give our readers a better real-world review of how these coolers compare in real-world environments. How coolers act on an open test bench and in your case can be very different.
Enermax Platimax DF 1200W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   October 02, 2017
If you are looking for a powerhouse of a PSU that is shoehorned into what is a tiny ATX package for the wattage, the Platimax D.F. (Dust Free) PSU may be worthy of your short list. As the name suggests, this PSU sports excellent power efficiency and is fully modular and that could make your HEDT build a lot easier.
ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme Threadripper Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 28, 2017
The ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme is poised to be the definitive choice for a high end Threadripper based build. It’s one of the most feature rich and complete solutions we’ve ever seen in our years of reviewing hardware. It's also one of the most expensive. However, if you are going for a no-holds-barred Threadripper build you won't want to miss this one.
Corsair Hydro GFX GTX 1080 Ti Liquid Cooled Video Card
By Brent Justice   September 26, 2017
We’ve got an exciting new video card for you today, the Corsair Hydro GFX GTX 1080 Ti Liquid Cooled Graphics Card with a Corsair Hydro Series AIO liquid cooling package on board. We find out how well this video card performs, how cool it runs, and how well it will overclock at 4K and 1440p.
Seasonic PRIME 650 Platinum Review
By Paul Johnson   September 19, 2017
This time we review a small Seasonic rated at 650 watts, but this one is part of its flagship Prime series with Platinum rated efficiency. That means, less heat, less noise, and a lower cost of operation over time. So, is the PRIME 650 Platinum PSU worthy of Seasonic's flagship status? We will surely find out.
GIGABYTE AX370 Gaming K7 AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2017
GIGABYTE’s AX370 Gaming K7 is in many ways the motherboard the AX370 Gaming 5 should have been. GIGABYTE has a habit of creating multiple SKUs with differences that are so minor that one can’t help but wonder why two separate models exist when they are almost indistinguishable from one another.
be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   September 14, 2017
It's quiet! It's dark! It's a power pro turned up to eleven! What more is there to say? Actually, this time around there are quite a few good things to say about be quiet. Not so much about the marketing though...
XSPC RayStorm Threadripper Waterblock on Ryzen 7
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2017
If you could mount your Threadripper custom cooling waterblock on your socket AM4 Ryzen 7 CPU, wouldn't you? Of course the answer is yes. However, the results turned out a bit different than we thought those might.
Radeon RX Vega 64 vs Radeon R9 Fury X Clock for Clock
By Brent Justice   September 12, 2017
We take Radeon RX Vega 64 and R9 Fury X video cards, match the cards in terms of GPU clocks and memory bandwidth, then compare performance. Why? The simple answer is that a bunch of people, including ourselves, just wanted to know how far the Vega GCN architecture advanced.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Installation Redux
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2017
We have been seeing reports of folks having issues with AMD Ryzen Threadripper installs. And by that we mean getting the processor itself actually installed down on the motherboard. We give you some quick tips on making this process seamless.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Waterblock Comparison #1
By Kyle Bennett   September 08, 2017
We have been waiting for AMD Threadripper CPU custom cooling parts to make their way to us. We have our first two purpose-built Threadripper waterblocks from XSPC and Bykski. We put both these coolers to the test with our 4GHz overclocked Threadripper in hour long stress tests to see how our temperatures fare.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 versus Radeon R9 Fury X
By Brent Justice   September 05, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X, AMD’s previously fastest GPU for high-end gaming and find out if the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 provides an upgrade path for those on the previous video card. We find out how much faster it is and if it can provide better performance for less money.
MSI X299 SLI Plus LGA 2066 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 05, 2017
Intel’s latest chipset launch requires new motherboards. Everyone has entirely new product lines to look at so we kick things off with MSI’s X299 SLI Plus. This is a basic offering which we have tested with the Intel Core i9-7900X and Intel Core i7-7740X. Again MSI shows us how less is sometimes more.
AMD Threadripper Gooseberry HEDT World Record
By Kyle Bennett   September 03, 2017
This was a Blender benchmark that I was not familiar with till yesterday, but after running it a few times and looking around the Net, I came away very impressed with our rendering time with Threadripper overclocked to 4GHz across all 16 cores.
The Top 5 Best Overclocking CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 01, 2017
We count down another Top 5 best CPUs of all time. These CPUs are special, at least to most HardOCP readers, as these are judged only by the value to enthusiasts due to being highly overclockable in nature. Extra points are awarded for market influence and performance. It's a tough call as there are so many to choose from over the years.
AMD Announces Ryzen Threadripper 1900X
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2017
Today AMD rolls out what is not a very well kept secret, the Ryzen Threadripper model 1900X CPU. There is no doubt that Threadripper has already been a success for AMD, but how exactly does does an 8-core Threadripper fit into High End Desktop (HEDT) world of processors and platforms? The user profile is fairly skinny.