Articles

All Reviews

Enermax MaxTytan 1250W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 15, 2018
The MaxTytan is the flagship product in the lineup of Enermax power supplies. This is the largest capacity it builds and promises to deliver excellent efficiency. Semi-fanless features makes sure this PSU stays quiet up to ~70% load. It also has a very unique feature in that it will show you the power wattage being delivered on an LCD panel right on the PSU.
Seasonic PRIME 1200W Platinum Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 14, 2018
With BIG Power comes BIG Responsibility! How does Seasonic go about handling all that power with its new PRIME 1200W PLATINUM PSU? Given Seasonic's excellent track record when it comes to high-end PSUs, we have high-end expectations. Once you see the incredible price you will almost have to buy one. Really.
Alienware Wireless Gaming Headset: AW988 Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 12, 2018
We have spent the last few days living with the Alienware AW988 headset perched on our head and have gotten a very good idea of what the first headset from Alienware in nine years is all about. We gamed, we watched movies, and we listened to a lot of music. We tell you how it did and all the features and build quality.
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 07, 2018
Along with the second generation AMD Ryzen CPUs, we are getting the new and somewhat improved X470 chipset motherboards. We have been beating on the Crosshair VII Hero for about a month now and have figured out what we like about, outside of it being an excellent overclocker for the Ryzen 7 CPUs.
State of Decay 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   June 06, 2018
The new game State of Decay 2 is out, running on the Unreal Engine 4. This is an open world zombie survival shooter and is getting a lot of traction with millions of players. We test and compare video card GPU performance in this brand new game. We will find out which cards suite it best at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p resolutions.
Corsair HS70 Wireless Headset Review
By Wayne Stovall   June 04, 2018
If you are a gamer, which we know most HardOCP readers are, a good headset is likely your lifeline in any online game when it comes to communicating with your teammates or even your adversaries. We have been using Corsair's new HS70 for a month now and wanted to share our experiences with this $100 offering.
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Overclocking Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 01, 2018
With the AMD Ryzen 7 2700 down to as little as $255, now is the time for us to discuss exactly what the benefits, if any, there are to purchasing the 2700 rather than its more expensive 2700X. If you consider yourself a computer hardware enthusiast, and are building a new system any time soon, you will want to give this a read.
Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU 10 Years Later
By Paul Johnson   May 31, 2018
We once again take a PSU, actually two this time, that we have been using for a decade, and run those units through the HardOCP PSU Gauntlet one more time. These two units were used for testing motherboards and video cards and have been pushed hard over the years. How does usage and age impact a top-shelf Gold Award PSU from the past?
Corsair TX750M 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 29, 2018
The semi-modular Corsair TX750M claims to be the perfect PSU for high heat case environments as it is rated for continuous output at 50C. We will test it in the hotbox up to 45C, as that is torture enough. Does it deliver Gold rated efficiency and great power inside the incubator?
AMD's StoreMI Technology
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 28, 2018
AMD’s StoreMI or (Store Machine Intelligence Technology) is storage performance enhancement technology, which can accelerate the responsiveness and the perceived speed of mechanical storage devices to SSD levels. This isn’t exactly a new concept, but AMD’s approach to this implementation is different than what we’ve seen in the past.
be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   May 24, 2018
The Dark Rock Pro 4 promises two things right up front, "NO COMPROMISE SILENCE AND PERFORMANCE." be quiet! even says it in all caps, so it must mean business. Other marketing speak is "Silent Wings," "Funnel-shaped," "high-performance," and "easily installable." We will put it all to the test on our highly over-volted Ryzen 7.
Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs
By Brent Justice   May 24, 2018
Have you ever wanted to pull out an older game from years past, and play it on your new video card to see if the gameplay experience is improved by turning on all the highest graphics options, or a higher resolution like 4K? We sure did! We test some older games and see if we can "max out" the gameplay experience in 2018.
AMD's Ryzen Master Overclocking Software Overview
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 21, 2018
AMD has been stepping up its game in the CPU and motherboard arena for the last year. Its Ryzen Master software is an overclocking utility that is motherboard agnostic, which allows overclocking and performance tuning from within Windows. With new chipsets comes a new iteration of this software. We take it for a test drive and let you know what we thought of it.
Watercool Heatkiller IV GTX 1080 Ti Water Block Review
By Wayne Stovall   May 18, 2018
Watercool and its Heatkiller series of custom water components are well known for being some of the best in the world when it comes to performance and design. We give its Heatkiller IV water block for the NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti a good once over, and come away very impressed. Quality and performance all in one package.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Platinum 550W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   May 17, 2018
Seasonic has turned into the go-to PSU supplier for those enthusiasts looking for the best when it comes to supplying long lasting quality power for their gaming rigs and workstations. We dip down a bit in terms of supplied power, this PSU being a "small" 550 watt unit. Will its high efficiency put us in the cool and quiet category as well?
AMD Wraith Prism CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   May 15, 2018
AMD has very much upped its game with the latest generation of Ryzen processors. The Ryzen 2700X comes complete with a snazzy looking cooler that has served us well on our test bench, but what happens when you put it inside a hot case with a hot video card and put the screws to it in terms of GHz and wattage on our 4GHz Ryzen testing rig?
Koolance 400A-S Threadripper Water Block V2 Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 11, 2018
Koolance finally has its redesigned version of the CPU-400A-S AMD Threadripper water block out for sale, and we have gotten it through our review testing. Koolance engineers have gone back and fully redesigned this block specifically for Threadripper and it shows both in terms of performance and design.
Barrowch Whale Shark Threadripper Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 09, 2018
The Barrowch Whale Shark Water Block is built specifically for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper processor and its TR4 socket on X399 chipset motherboards. It is one of the best looking water blocks we have seen for Threadripper, and even has an onboard temperature sensor and display right on the water block. Once mounted, how does it cool?
Far Cry 5 Video Card Image Quality Review
By Brent Justice   May 07, 2018
We will be comparing Far Cry 5's Overall Quality, Shadows, Volumetric Fog, and Anti-Aliasing image quality. In addition, we will find out if we can improve IQ in the game by adding Anisotropic Filtering and forcing AA from the control panel. We’ve have a video showing you many IQ issues we found in Far Cry 5, and those are plentiful.
SilverStone Strider Titanium ST1100-TI 1100W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   May 04, 2018
Silverstone has been very active on small form factor front when it comes to power supplies for a couple of years. Today it totally switches gears and serves up an 1100 watt beast that is fully modular and carries with it the highest efficiency rating on the market. Silverstone says it is the go-to for gaming, folding, mining, scientific calculations, or machine learning.
Precision Boost Overdrive and XFR Enhanced Confusion
By Kyle Bennett   May 01, 2018
We wanted to put together a quick overview about what Precision Boost 2 and XFR2 are NOT about. It seems that slides leaked, and faked, earlier in the 2nd generation Ryzen's development have clouded some people's understanding on what features are included, but more important which features are not.
AMD Precision Boost 2 and Wraith Prism Deep Dive
By Wayne Stovall   April 30, 2018
When AMD presented it new Precision Boost 2 technology, I have to think AMD undersold the feature in terms of what it was actually able to accomplish. The original Precision Boost on the 1st gen Ryzen processors was anemic at best. After seeing what Precision Boost 2 can accomplish, do we even need to try to overclock our new 2700X? Blasphemy!
be quiet! Dark Rock 4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   April 30, 2018
be quiet! has quietly made a name for itself in the CPU air cooling business over the years and now demands a very solid following of fans and users. It may surprise you to know, that be quiet!'s claim to fame is...wait for it...being quiet. That however is not usually our main concern when it comes to cooling, which is...wait for it...cooling.
MASTERAIR MA621P Air Cooler for AMD Threadripper
By Kyle Bennett   April 26, 2018
The AMD Ryzen Threadripper is a beast when it comes to overclocking and cooling. Cooler Master steps into the ring with the first Threadripper-specific air cooler that we have come across. We have put it through the paces here on our highly overclocked and overvolted 1950X. Does the MasterAir MA621P have what it takes?