Articles

All Reviews

Overclocking the Intel Core i9-7900X X-series Processor
By Kyle Bennett   July 19, 2017
We have finally gotten some time to spend with the new Intel Core i9-7900X, which is a 10-core 20-thread CPU built to be used with the new X299 chipset and motherboard platform. Is this $1000 3.3GHz to 4.3GHz CPU good for overclocking beyond stock? Overclocking the 7900X takes a good bit of cooling, and then a little more for really pushing it hard.
The Top 5 Best Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with excellent features and stability along with great performance. Dan takes a stroll down memory lane and rehashes his top five "best" motherboards. I am sure you will all agree 100%.
BioStar Racing X370GT7 AMD AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
BIOSTAR isn’t exactly a juggernaut of a manufacturer here in the U.S. Despite stiff competition, the big boys are blowing it bad enough at the X370 Ryzen motherboard game that BIOSTAR’s X370GT7 just might be one of the best AM4 motherboard options around. While we think it might actually be good, it still doesn’t make for a smooth ride.
The Top 5 Worst Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 17, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with horrible features and bugs of all kinds. Dan takes a stroll down a very painful memory lane and rehashes his top five..as instructed by his therapist. Let it out Dan...let it out.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 11, 2017
Seasonic's new high efficiency enthusiast computer power supply claims to be silent through 425 watts of power delivery. An improved fluid dynamic bearing fan helps with this. The Focus sports a cable-free connection panel, and has an industry leading 10 year warranty. And this unit was sourced out of retail stock, just like you would buy.
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition - Part 2
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2017
It’s time to let the liquid flow and put the ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition to the ultimate test. We will connect a Koolance Liquid Cooling System and test GPU frequency, gaming performance, and push the video card as hard as possible for its best overclock. Let’s find out what a little liquid can do for a GTX 1080 Ti.
be quiet! Pure Power 10 600W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 27, 2017
This may come as a shock to you, but be quiet! power supplies are all about...wait for it...exceptionally quiet operation. However that is not the only virtue the Pure Power 10 series extols. be quiet tells us that this PP10 has "peerless dependability" and "best-in-class features." Let's see if we can set it on fire!
ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition Part 1
By Brent Justice   June 26, 2017
Air cooling? Liquid Cooling? How about both, the ASUS ROG Poseidon GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Platinum Edition hybrid video card can run them both. In Part 1 of our evaluation we will test the video card on "air cooling" and overclock it as high as possible. In Part 2, we pump liquid through its veins and compare overclocks.
AMD Launches EPYC Enterprise CPUs Available Today
By Wayne Stovall   June 20, 2017
AMD held it official EPYC enterprise CPU launch today in Austin, TX. If you are not aware of EPYC, it is quite simply AMD's effort to get back into the datacenters that are now firmly held by Intel Xeon processors. What do you get when you take 4 Ryzen 7 CPUs and put those down on a single package with Infinity Fabric? You would be correct, its EPYC.
MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 19, 2017
The first custom retail video card based on AMD’s new Radeon RX 570 GPU is our test bench, the MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X is poised to offer incredible performance and overclocking potential out of the Radeon RX 570. We’ll compare it to the competition, plus the Radeon RX 470 and see what advantage it offers.
FSP Windale 6 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 19, 2017
FSP is a very new brand when it comes to CPU air coolers and is entering a market that is highly competitive and seeded with others that have been designing air coolers for quite some time. Its Windale 6 cooler features six direct contact heatpipes, a 120mm fan, and what FSP says is an "optimized fin design." But does it cool?
MSI VR ONE - Wireless VR Backpack Review
By Wayne Stovall   June 15, 2017
The MSI VR ONE is quite simply a full PC that comes in the form of a backpack that allows you to connect your HTC Vive or Oculus Rift for a "wireless" VR experience. This VR ONE unit packs a GTX 1070 laptop GPU to hopefully supply us with the needed 90 frames per second performance required for a perfect Virtual Reality experience.
Seasonic PRIME 850W Platinum Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 13, 2017
As is usual, Seasonic talks softly and carries a big stick. The biggest stick lately has been its Prime series power supplies. Today's Prime comes to us touting excellent efficiency, a fully modular design, tight output voltage, and a quiet noise profile supplied by a fluid dynamic bearing fan. Does Seasonic continue its current reign?
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 12, 2017
We review a custom GeForce GTX 1080 Ti based video card with custom cooling and a factory overclock built for overclocking. Can the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X truly deliver a consistent enjoyable high-end graphics setting gameplay experience in games at 4K finally? Is a single card viable for current generation gaming at 4K?
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 04, 2017
It’s been years since we’ve reviewed an ASUS ROG offering that was designed for AMD CPUs. That’s not to say that those haven’t existed, those just weren’t worth a look as the AMD side of things has not been compelling for the better part of the last decade. Thanks to AMD Ryzen, we have a reason to take the ASUS Crosshair VI Hero for a test drive and tell you how it fared in the tumultuous sea of AM4 motherboards.
Scythe Mugen 5 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 01, 2017
The Mugen 5 is one of the larger CPU air coolers you will find on the market, and with that is has an "asymmetric design for maximum memory compatibility," so it does not extend deep into DIMM territory. The polished copper baseplate, as well as the rest of the HSF is nickel plated. Also we have a newly engineered mounting mechanism.
AMD Launches for Threadripper and Radeon RX Vega
By Wayne Stovall   May 30, 2017
AMD got up on stage at Computex just now and went over what is to come in terms of its news EPYC, Threadripper, Radeon Instinct, and Radeon RX Vega GPUs. We got given a little bit of read meat, but most of what came from AMD left us a bit disappointed in terms of real information. Stringing us along, and we are still eating it up....
The Definitive AMD Ryzen 7 Real-World Gaming Guide
By Brent Justice   May 26, 2017
With our AMD Ryzen 7 overclocked to 4GHz we find out if this is a competitive real-world gaming CPU or not. We compare it with two overclocked Intel 7700K and 2600K systems across six different video card configurations at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p to find out which CPU provides the best gameplay experience using playable game settings.
Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair Unboxing & Assembly
By Kyle Bennett   May 25, 2017
We continue on in our hunt for the perfect Gaming Chair given how much interest we got from readers last time! This time we are unboxing and showing the full assembly process of the Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair supplied to us by Champ Chairs. We will use it for a month and then report back to you with the full review.
Thermaltake Smart Pro RGB 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 25, 2017
Frag-harder RGB lighting is all the rage, and so of course we are now seeing those in PSUs too. Thermaltake has a healthy 850 watt PSU here for review today that actually hits the sub-$100 mark by 1 cent. Fully modular with great DC output; is there anything not to like? You can turn the RGB off. And a 7 year warranty.
Vertagear Triigger 350 Special Edition Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 19, 2017
What happens when you rope yourself in to doing a gaming chair review? You take your time, do it right, and make sure your butt spends at least a few months in the chair before you write your review. My butt has been in the VertaGear Triigger 350 Gaming Chair for over 3 months, and here are my thoughts.
SilverStone SX800-LTI SFX-L Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 17, 2017
SilverStone continues on its march to absolutely own the small form factor PSU market. This PSU is a huge 800 watts worth of power shoehorned into a SFX-L sized package all while claiming "silent" operation with fanless modes as well. Along with that is a healthy amount of PCIe power plugs and claims of unsurpassed efficiency.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Raja Koduri Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
Raja Koduri, Radeon Technologies Group Senior VP and Chief Architect, just finished up with his AMD Analyst Day presentation that was firmly focused on its upcoming Vega GPU and how it will pertain to the Machine Learning and Advanced Visualization markets by introducing the Radeon Vega Frontier Edition.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Lisa Su Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
AMD is holding its annual Financial Analyst Day right now. AMD announced its Epyc brand Naples based datacenter processor CPUs as well as its Radeon Instinct Datacenter products based on the Vega GPU. This is AMD CEO Lisa Su's introduction slide deck that touches on all of today's presentations still happening now.