Articles

All Reviews

Seasonic PRIME 650 Platinum Review
By Paul Johnson   September 19, 2017
This time we review a small Seasonic rated at 650 watts, but this one is part of its flagship Prime series with Platinum rated efficiency. That means, less heat, less noise, and a lower cost of operation over time. So, is the PRIME 650 Platinum PSU worthy of Seasonic's flagship status? We will surely find out.
GIGABYTE AX370 Gaming K7 AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2017
GIGABYTE’s AX370 Gaming K7 is in many ways the motherboard the AX370 Gaming 5 should have been. GIGABYTE has a habit of creating multiple SKUs with differences that are so minor that one can’t help but wonder why two separate models exist when they are almost indistinguishable from one another.
be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   September 14, 2017
It's quiet! It's dark! It's a power pro turned up to eleven! What more is there to say? Actually, this time around there are quite a few good things to say about be quiet. Not so much about the marketing though...
XSPC RayStorm Threadripper Waterblock on Ryzen 7
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2017
If you could mount your Threadripper custom cooling waterblock on your socket AM4 Ryzen 7 CPU, wouldn't you? Of course the answer is yes. However, the results turned out a bit different than we thought those might.
Radeon RX Vega 64 vs Radeon R9 Fury X Clock for Clock
By Brent Justice   September 12, 2017
We take Radeon RX Vega 64 and R9 Fury X video cards, match the cards in terms of GPU clocks and memory bandwidth, then compare performance. Why? The simple answer is that a bunch of people, including ourselves, just wanted to know how far the Vega GCN architecture advanced.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Installation Redux
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2017
We have been seeing reports of folks having issues with AMD Ryzen Threadripper installs. And by that we mean getting the processor itself actually installed down on the motherboard. We give you some quick tips on making this process seamless.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Waterblock Comparison #1
By Kyle Bennett   September 08, 2017
We have been waiting for AMD Threadripper CPU custom cooling parts to make their way to us. We have our first two purpose-built Threadripper waterblocks from XSPC and Bykski. We put both these coolers to the test with our 4GHz overclocked Threadripper in hour long stress tests to see how our temperatures fare.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 versus Radeon R9 Fury X
By Brent Justice   September 05, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X, AMD’s previously fastest GPU for high-end gaming and find out if the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 provides an upgrade path for those on the previous video card. We find out how much faster it is and if it can provide better performance for less money.
MSI X299 SLI Plus LGA 2066 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 05, 2017
Intel’s latest chipset launch requires new motherboards. Everyone has entirely new product lines to look at so we kick things off with MSI’s X299 SLI Plus. This is a basic offering which we have tested with the Intel Core i9-7900X and Intel Core i7-7740X. Again MSI shows us how less is sometimes more.
AMD Threadripper Gooseberry HEDT World Record
By Kyle Bennett   September 03, 2017
This was a Blender benchmark that I was not familiar with till yesterday, but after running it a few times and looking around the Net, I came away very impressed with our rendering time with Threadripper overclocked to 4GHz across all 16 cores.
The Top 5 Best Overclocking CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 01, 2017
We count down another Top 5 best CPUs of all time. These CPUs are special, at least to most HardOCP readers, as these are judged only by the value to enthusiasts due to being highly overclockable in nature. Extra points are awarded for market influence and performance. It's a tough call as there are so many to choose from over the years.
AMD Announces Ryzen Threadripper 1900X
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2017
Today AMD rolls out what is not a very well kept secret, the Ryzen Threadripper model 1900X CPU. There is no doubt that Threadripper has already been a success for AMD, but how exactly does does an 8-core Threadripper fit into High End Desktop (HEDT) world of processors and platforms? The user profile is fairly skinny.
Thermaltake View 27 Snow Gull-Wing Window Case Review
By Mike Hermon   August 29, 2017
The Thermaltake View 27 Snow conjures up images of exotic cars with its gullwing window.There is no doubt that this is a good looking computer case. Does adding some nice LED fans and a slick white paint job result in a finely tuned machine or does it fall short?
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 versus AMD Radeon R9 Fury
By Brent Justice   August 25, 2017
Do you have an AMD Radeon R9 Fury based video card and want to know if AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 at a lesser price is a performance upgrade? Do you want to know if architecturally AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 is faster than AMD Radeon R9 Fury? This follow-up performance review should answer those questions.
The Top 5 Best CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 25, 2017
This week we give you a look at what we think are the "best" CPUs off all time. Surely this is a highly subjective look back at all the CPUs we have been exposed to over the years, and you will very likely have some of your suggestions as well.
Seasonic PRIME 1000W Gold Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   August 23, 2017
Seems like yesterday that we would never need a 1000 watt power supply again, but maybe Seasonic knew something we did not. This 1000W monster has some new tricks up its sleeve internally, but let's see if this all makes for a better, more efficient high end computer PSU. Spoiler: This is "the best" 1000w PSU we have ever reviewed.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 22, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 to the test in twelve games against the competition in DX12, DX11, and Vulkan to find out if this new video card offers a value. We will also overclock the video card and see if there is any extra potential for gamers.
Threadripper at 4GHz with XSPC RayStorm Waterblock
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2017
XSPC got us over one of its first waterblocks specifically designed to help handle Ryzen Threadripper CPU's heat while overclocking. We give you a quick unboxing, break down the block itself, and then we look at Threadripper long-term performance. We finally get it dialed in at 4GHz.
The Top 5 Worst CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 17, 2017
We reach back over 20 years to think about what are worst CPUs we have ever had to deal with. Whether it be technical issues or for reasons of simply disappointing the market, these CPUs sucked in some way. Some CPUs you will remember, so you won't, and some you will wish that you did not remember.
Enermax LIQMAX II 240 Liquid CPU AIO CPU Cooler
By Marc Adams   August 16, 2017
Enermax is extremely proud of its Liqmax II 240 CPU AIO cooler. It is one of the few coolers you will find that it proudly displays its TDP rating right on the front of the box, which happens to be "350W+." With its Batwing fan blades, ceramic bearing pump, and Shunt-Channel-Technology it is a sure winner, right? Let's find out.
MSI Z270 SLI Plus LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 15, 2017
MSI brings to the table, one of the least expensive SLI capable motherboards based on Intel’s Z270 Express chipset available today. While not totally stripped, it does sacrifice a few things to keep costs down. That said, it’s also got a solid foundation and offers a ton of value for the money. If you are looking to build an LGA 1151 rig, you won’t want to miss this one.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 14, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 to the test in eleven games mixed among DX11, DX12, and Vulkan to find out what it can deliver. We pit it against the competition's GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070, and in the end, find the strengths and weaknesses of the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 for PC gaming. Is there value at $499?
Is Intel's X299 Platform Better than the X99?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 11, 2017
New processors and another socket means a new chipset. Intel's X299 Express chipset replaces the venerable and X99 Express Chipset and updates it's HEDT platform to match it's mainstream offerings and then some. This chipset promises to be the most versatile and feature rich Intel has released to date, but is it really an improvement?
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X and 1920X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 10, 2017
The day is finally upon us that many CPU enthusiasts have been waiting for. We get to see what AMD's new Threadripper CPU is all about in terms of performance, and in attempts to cool the beast. There has been no lack of hype for months now, so let's see if it is all justified.