Articles

All Reviews

NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   November 15, 2017
We are preparing to water cool our 1080 Ti with both Phanteks G1080 and XSPC Razer Neo waterblocks and we wanted to share with you the process of disassembling the video card so it can accept the waterblock. This process is very much the same for all current editions of the 10XX Founders Edition series GPUs.
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus Performance Review
By Brent Justice   November 13, 2017
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is out; this new game uses the id Tech 6 game engine and Vulkan API to give you a great gaming experience on the PC with today’s latest GPUs. We will compare performance features, see what settings work best, find what is playable in the game and compare performance among several video cards.
Reeven NAIA 240 All-In-One Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   November 10, 2017
Today we are reviewing Reeven's first AIO cooler to come to market, the NAIA 240. It breaks with tradition a bit in that it is a refillable system rather than permanently closed as we see in many others. Let's see if its Frag-Harder lights and custom color liquid help it keep our overclocked Ryzen 7 cool.
Phanteks Glacier C399A Threadripper Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 08, 2017
The Phanteks Glacier C399A is a custom-designed water cooling block built specifically for AMD's new Threadripper processors. It has great looks, Frag-Harder Disco Lights, is built like a tank, and seems to be just what the doctor ordered when it comes to cooling overclocked Threadripper CPUs.
Thermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass Edition Review
By Zach Throckmorton   November 06, 2017
It's big, it's glass, but don't worry it is tempered in the event should you decide to take a header into it in the middle of the night. It's Thermaltake's View 71 Full Tower Chassis and if you want to see inside your case and show off all those Frag-Harder lights, the View 71 maybe just be your ticket. But how good of a case is it?
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM Review
By Brent Justice   November 02, 2017
NVIDIA is launching the GeForce GTX 1070 Ti today, and we’ve got a custom retail MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti GAMING TITANIUM video card to test and overclock, yes overclock, to the max. We’ll make comparisons against GTX 1080/1070, AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 for a complete review.
Enermax MaxTytan 800W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   November 01, 2017
Enermax pulls out a flagship with its MaxTytan PSU, this one rated at 800 watts. The MaxTytan PSU has some interesting features like its on-demand Dust Free Rotation fan system. It also comes with very "custom" looking SLEEMAX cable covers that wrap every single cable individually like you find in custom rigs. And huge Titanium efficiency!
EK Supremacy EVO Threadripper TR4 Waterblock Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 30, 2017
EK is one of the most heralded names in the enthusiast computer cooling industry. It has been building waterblocks for custom CPU cooling since 2003. It has now thrown its hat into the AMD Threadripper waterblock ring. Does the Supremacy EVO waterblock have the performance to back up its reputation against tough competition?
noblechairs ICON Series Desk Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 26, 2017
While our previous reviews have been of "gaming" chairs, we today move to a more sophisticated take on your computer furniture needs with the noblechairs ICON series seating. This chair is described by the maker as being in the luxury category but carries with it a sub-$400 price tag.
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   October 25, 2017
MSI has launched a new high end entry to its GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING series lineup. The MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO has a lot of performance with improved cooling compared to previous GAMING series video cards. We’ll see how well it performs in several games, and overclock it as high as we can.
MSI X299 XPower Gaming AC Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 24, 2017
The X299 XPower Gaming AC is MSI’s flagship HEDT motherboard for Intel CPU’s. This monster motherboard has an enormous feature set and an fairly large price tag as we have come to expect with HEDT boards. However, there is definite value here if you are looking to put together an Intel based High End DeskTop system.
AMD Q317 Results CEO Prepared Remarks
By Kyle Bennett   October 24, 2017
AMD was kind enough to share its full prepared statement from CEO Lisa Su at its Q317 earnings call this afternoon.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold & Platinum 750W Review
By Paul Johnson   October 24, 2017
We are pulling double duty today in this PSU review as we are putting both the Seasonic Focus GOLD and Platinum 750 watt computer power supplies through our testing gauntlet. Given that Seasonic is holding the top rung in the PSU industry, let's compare Seasonic to Seasonic and look at the value.
GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Gaming 7 TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 19, 2017
We review GIGABYTE’s X399 Aorus Gaming 7 and see how it stacks up in the world of HEDT motherboards. This motherboard is not priced all that high considering the amount of features it touts and certainly it is not priced high for the stability we were afforded while overclocking the Threadripper to 4GHz.
GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 17, 2017
GIGABYTE adds another product to its ever expanding Aorus Gaming line. The X299 Aorus Gaming 3 sounds like it might be at the bottom of the Skylake-X heap feature-wise, but you can hardly call a motherboard with so many features "stripped" down. The GIGABYTE X299 Aorus Gaming 3 has a lot to offer on paper but can it deliver?
Forza Motorsport 7 Video Card Performance Update
By Brent Justice   October 16, 2017
Forza Motorsport 7 gaming performance has changed, video cards stack up differently when compared. We take Forza Motorsport 7 and apply new NVIDIA GeForce 387.92 and AMD Crimson ReLive 17.10.1 drivers to find out how these compare, what performance differences there are, and if AMD Radeon RX Vega is still king in this game.
Overclocking the Intel 8600K - Delidded on Air and Water
By Kyle Bennett   October 11, 2017
We've gotten to spend some quality time with our Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, and of course we have spent our time finding out just how far we could push the processor's clock under both Air Cooling and Water Cooling. We relid and delid as well. The results look to be very promising for the overclocking enthusiast and gamer.
AMD vs. Intel HEDT Platform Showdown Editorial
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 10, 2017
I’ve spent quite a bit of time with AMD’s Threadripper and X399 chipset and I thought I’d give our readers my impression of it and talk about the platform as well as giving interested consumers a general overview of the platform and what it has to offer. We compare it to Intel’s HEDT platform and give our take on this match up.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 09, 2017
Does the AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 play games well at 4K resolution? What game settings work best at 4K, and how does it compare to GeForce GTX 1080 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti? Ten games are tested, new and old, DX11, DX12, and Vulkan at playable game settings and pushed to the max in this all out 4K brawl.
Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K vs 7600K at 5GHz Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 05, 2017
If you were waiting for huge IPC gains out of the new Coffee Lake CPU from Intel, you might be waiting for a very long time. We take the Intel Coffee Lake Core i5-8600K CPU and match it up GHz to GHz with the Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake processor. And we throw in a Ryzen 7 at 4GHz just for fun.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 AIO Liquid CPU Coolers Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 04, 2017
Enermax brings to us the first All-in-One coolers that are purpose-built for AMD's Ryzen Threadripper CPUs. We review both the Liqtech TR4 240 and the Liqtech TR4 360 using our overclocked 1950X Threadripper system and compare these to our XSPC RayStorm custom cooling loop. Yes, we are setting the bar high.
The HardOCP CPU HSF/AIO Cooler Review Platform
By Richard Gouge   October 03, 2017
We are once again updating our CPU Heatsink and All-in-One CPU cooler (HSF/AIO) testing platform. We are also changing up some of the review procedures in order to give our readers a better real-world review of how these coolers compare in real-world environments. How coolers act on an open test bench and in your case can be very different.
Enermax Platimax DF 1200W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   October 02, 2017
If you are looking for a powerhouse of a PSU that is shoehorned into what is a tiny ATX package for the wattage, the Platimax D.F. (Dust Free) PSU may be worthy of your short list. As the name suggests, this PSU sports excellent power efficiency and is fully modular and that could make your HEDT build a lot easier.