Articles

All Reviews

AMD Ryzen Threadripper TIM Application
By Kyle Bennett   February 19, 2018
AMD's Threadripper has shown to be a very different CPU in all sorts of ways and this includes how you install the Thermal Interface Material as well should you be pushing your Threadripper's clocks beyond factory defaults. We show you what techniques we have found to give us the best temperatures when overclocking.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance GPU Performance Review
By Brent Justice   February 19, 2018
We take the new game Kingdom Come: Deliverance and test ten current video cards in it to find how each one performs, how those stack up, and what the highest playable settings are. We test 4K, 1440p, and 1080p, with multiple graphics settings, maximum distance sliders, and find out what you need to play this game and have a good experience.
How To Install the AMD Threadripper CPU
By Kyle Bennett   February 18, 2018
We have shot a lot of AMD Threadripper videos since its launch. During that time, we have shown various videos about install differences that surround Foxconn and Lotes TR4 sockets that are used on motherboards. We continually get asked about actual install of the CPU so we finally took the time to show you exactly how we do it.
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   February 16, 2018
We have been waiting for Watercool's new Threadripper water block to show up so we could get to testing it, but they sold so many that they were taking care of their customers first before sending us a review unit. That is something you have to like about a company when you see them going to bat for their customers. Let's open us this HEATKILLER!
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 14, 2018
The ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming promises to be a lower cost options for AMD’s Threadripper processors. This is a "less is more" approach to motherboard design than the exquisite and expensive ROG Zenith Extreme. The ROG brand has always been a premium brand. With these lower cost STRIX boards, does this remain true?
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2018
ASUS dominates the mini-ITX market with its various "I" series motherboards. It proved that going to a smaller form factor didn’t mean compromising on performance, only expandability. Even then, ASUS has mitigated a lot of those limitations as well. Does the ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming motherboard live up to its predecessors.
ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 O8G GAMING Video Card
By Brent Justice   February 08, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 64 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability in this air-cooled monster. Let’s see what it can do.
SilverStone SFX SX500-G 500W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 04, 2018
SilverStone has been championing as well as leading the SFX form factor push for computer power supplies. Its SX500-G represents what we think is he most power we have ever seen shoehorned into a minuscule footprint. SilverStone likes to refer to the it in Watts Per Liter. At 630 "WPL" shows it takes up less than a liter of space in your new build.
Thermaltake Core G21 & View 21 Glass Edition Cases
By Zach Throckmorton   February 02, 2018
This is a two-for-one review: Thermaltake's Core 21 and View 21 Tempered Glass Edition cases are identical aside from the front panel. Both cases feature tempered glass panels that show off your build, and we'll find out what difference the drastically different front panel designs have on case performance.
Threadripper Pays for Itself Using Cryptocurrency Mining
By Kyle Bennett   February 01, 2018
If you could have your AMD Ryzen Threadripper pay for itself over time, would you? No matter your feelings towards cryptocurrency mining, you can get your Threadripper mining today, and paying for itself. The process could not be much easier either. The big kicker is the actual wattage load on your system is likely much less than you would guess.
Cooler Master ML240L RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 29, 2018
The Cooler Master "MasterLiquid" series of coolers is very robust. Today we again look at an "L" model All-In-One cooler that is part of its "Lite" series of AIO that is supposed to be easier on your wallet while delivering an "easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Does the 240mm radiator Lite model deliver value...and cooling?
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 280 AIO Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2018
ENERMAX has been the most aggressive company when it comes to cooling AMD's Threadripper CPU with an easy to use and affordable All-In-One system. Today we are reviewing its THIRD socket TR4-specific AIO. It's previous offerings have been extremely solid and we think that Enermax has stayed on point.
Corsair HX1000 1000W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 23, 2018
The Corsair HX1000 computer power supply is, you guessed it, rated for 1000 huge watts of power delivery to your enthusiast system build. All of this comes in rated at extremely high efficiency, while being fully modular, all Japanese capacitors, and boasting "extremely tight voltage regulation." Let's put all that to the test.
GIGABYTE AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Waterforce Xtreme Edition
By Brent Justice   January 22, 2018
GIGABYTE has released a brand new All-In-One liquid cooled GeForce GTX 1080 Ti video card with the AORUS Waterforce Xtreme Edition video card. This video card gives the Corsair Hydro GFX liquid cooled video card some competition, with a higher out-of-box clock speed we’ll see how fast this video card is and if there is any room left for overclocking.
Cooler Master ML120L RGB All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 17, 2018
Cooler Master has recently revamped its entire line of All-In-One liquid CPU coolers, and it has specifically addressed putting a lower priced product into the market with its "Lite" series of AIOs that it says are "An easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Let's see how its smallest radiator stands up to an overclocked Ryzen CPU.
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 15, 2018
This new Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750 watt computer power supply is a revision of its previous PRIME Ultra line of PSUs. This alone makes us wonder just how much better Seasonic can actually make these power supplies, given just how great these were last time around. Let's find out if Seasonic has achieved building an even better PSU.
MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 12, 2018
MSI’s X370 Gaming M7 ACK brings a solid feature set and potential overclocking to the table. So far things have been a bit bumpy regarding AMD’s AM4 platform, but things have improved a lot recently. AMD’s AGESA code being up to scratch doesn’t mean anything if the motherboard manufacturers don’t do their part. Did MSI do its part?
IceMan AMD Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   January 10, 2018
AMD's Threadripper CPU is finding its way into many computer hardware enthusiasts' HEDT systems, and if you are looking to overclock it to the edge-of-the-envelope 4GHz, you are very possibly going to look to custom loop cooling. We just got in the IceMan Threadripper block and we tear it down to see how it is designed.
AMD ReLive versus NVIDIA ShadowPlay Performance
By Brent Justice   January 08, 2018
We take AMD ReLive in the AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition and NVIDIA ShadowPlay as part of GeForce Experience and find out which one is more FPS and CPU-efficient for recording gameplay. We will compare features, specifications, and find out which better suits content creators for recording gameplay.
Corsair H150i PRO RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 08, 2018
Corsair has just released its largest All-In-One (AIO) cooler to date. With a 360mm radiator, RGB Frag Harder Disco Lights, and magnetic levitation fans, it seems to be hitting all the popular checkboxes that are required nowadays when it comes to just about any product. Our primary concern is how well it cools a very hot overclocked CPU.
AMD CES 2018 Announcement Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   January 07, 2018
We have gone through the multiple slide decks that AMD has shared with us in the last couple of days and picked through those with a focus on desktop and High End Desktop CPUs and a bit on Radeon products. We have boiled it all down to what we see as being important to computer hardware enthusiasts and gamers.
Quick Facts about Meltdown and Spectre
By Kyle Bennett   January 04, 2018
Meltdown and Spectre have your scratching your head? In-house HardOCP security expert, Joe Wood, has walked us through some very ugly facts about these two new attacks that were fully exposed this week.
AMD Threadripper Water Block Cooler Roundup for 2017
By Kyle Bennett   December 29, 2017
We go back and re-test all of our Socket TR4 AMD Threadripper CPU under the same conditions so we can compare all of those directly in one review article. We cover the EK Supremacy EVO, the Koolance 400A-S, the Phanteks 399A, the Swiftech Apogee SKF-TR4, and the XSPC RayStorm NEO.
ASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 27, 2017
ASUS’ purpose built overclocking motherboard stands out as one of the most interesting and provocative motherboards the Republic of Gamers brand has probably ever seen. However, we’ve seen motherboards that opt to specialize in one area lose out in others. We put the Rampage VI APEX to the test and see if its a predator.