All Reviews

Are More Expensive Motherboards Better Motherboards?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 16, 2018
In this editorial Dan Dobrowolski digs into his lifelong experience in the tech sector as well as his more than 10 years of reviewing motherboards for HardOCP and tries to answer a very simple question. While the question is very simple, the depth of answers may surprise you. We have a list of nine things to consider.
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 1000W PSU 10 Year Redux
By Paul Johnson   March 12, 2018
Doing computer PSU reviews for over a decade, and keeping full documentation on those, gives us ability to do something that whets computer PSU enthusiasts' appetites. We get to take some of those PSUs that have been in service for 10 years and retest those. Cooler Master is back on the load bank! How does it look after a decade of service?
GeForce Partner Program Impacts Consumer Choice
By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2018
While we usually like to focus on all the wonderful and immersive worlds that video cards and their GPUs can open up to us, today we are tackling something a bit different. The GeForce Partner Program, known as GPP in the industry, is a "marketing" program that looks to HardOCP as being an anticompetitive tactic against AMD and Intel.
Ncore V1 No Frame Water Block Prototype Sneak Peek
By Kyle Bennett   March 05, 2018
Ncore is a prototype water block that has made its way to us for testing, and it is interesting enough for use to give it some test bench time. This V1 model of the Ncore uses the LGA 1151 socket to mount it to your delidded Intel processor. This block is tiny compared to almost any other air or water cooler on the market. Let's see what it is about.
By Brent Justice   March 05, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 56 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 56 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability. Let’s see what it can do.
Gamdias ACHILLES P1-L RGB Gaming Chair Build
By Kyle Bennett   March 05, 2018
Gamdias is a company that is new to us and primarily focuses on keyboards, mice, and headsets. It is getting into the "gaming chair" market in the USA. It's first chair available here is the ACHILLES P1-L. The "L" stands for "large," so maybe we can fit into this one. Complete with footrest and RGB lighting, we show you the build and our first thoughts.
Pursuit Ergonomic Chair by UPLIFT Desk Review
By Kyle Bennett   March 01, 2018
One day late last year I got a promotional email from a company that I had done business with in the past, The Human Solution, and it featured the Pursuit Ergonomic Chair by UPLIFT Desk. The chair looked extremely comfortable and supportive while not being off-the-charts expensive. Human Solution was kind enough to send one over for review.
Seasonic PRIME 750W Gold Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 28, 2018
Seasonic has been on point with its PRIME power supplies lately on the Titanium and Platinum spectrum. Funny that a "Gold" efficiency PSU from Seasonic seems like a "low end" product, but rest assured, it seems that Seasonic is incapable of producing anything that is low-end now days. Is its new 750 watt PRIME Gold, [H] Gold?
IceMan Ryzen Threadripper CPU Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   February 27, 2018
IceMan Cooler is not exactly a well known name in North America, but in December we had a few folks ask for a review of its Threadripper water block, so we reached out, and IceMan sent us its water block. Everything looked great till we tried to use it. And of course being able to use it is slightly important, if you want to cool your Threadripper.
CRYORIG H7 Quad Lumi Heatsink CPU Air Cooler
By Richard Gouge   February 26, 2018
The CRYORIG H7 Quad Lumi was the first CPU heatsink with software controlled RGB lighting. It has a Hive Fin technology heatsink, four 6mm heatpipes, a nickel plated copper baseplate, and all the frag harder RGB LEGs one could ask for on a heatsink, but will that make it cool our overclocked AMD Ryzen 7 test system? Today we find out.
HEATKILLER IV Pro Threadripper Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   February 22, 2018 does not mess around when it comes to water cooling enthusiasts computers for well over a decade now. Many of us have been waiting with bated breath for Watercool's entry into the Threadripper cooling market, and it finally is with the HEATKILLER IV Pro. We compare it to five other water blocks.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper TIM Application
By Kyle Bennett   February 19, 2018
AMD's Threadripper has shown to be a very different CPU in all sorts of ways and this includes how you install the Thermal Interface Material as well should you be pushing your Threadripper's clocks beyond factory defaults. We show you what techniques we have found to give us the best temperatures when overclocking.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance GPU Performance Review
By Brent Justice   February 19, 2018
We take the new game Kingdom Come: Deliverance and test ten current video cards in it to find how each one performs, how those stack up, and what the highest playable settings are. We test 4K, 1440p, and 1080p, with multiple graphics settings, maximum distance sliders, and find out what you need to play this game and have a good experience.
How To Install the AMD Threadripper CPU
By Kyle Bennett   February 18, 2018
We have shot a lot of AMD Threadripper videos since its launch. During that time, we have shown various videos about install differences that surround Foxconn and Lotes TR4 sockets that are used on motherboards. We continually get asked about actual install of the CPU so we finally took the time to show you exactly how we do it.
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   February 16, 2018
We have been waiting for Watercool's new Threadripper water block to show up so we could get to testing it, but they sold so many that they were taking care of their customers first before sending us a review unit. That is something you have to like about a company when you see them going to bat for their customers. Let's open us this HEATKILLER!
ASUS ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 14, 2018
The ROG STRIX X399-E Gaming promises to be a lower cost options for AMD’s Threadripper processors. This is a "less is more" approach to motherboard design than the exquisite and expensive ROG Zenith Extreme. The ROG brand has always been a premium brand. With these lower cost STRIX boards, does this remain true?
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2018
ASUS dominates the mini-ITX market with its various "I" series motherboards. It proved that going to a smaller form factor didn’t mean compromising on performance, only expandability. Even then, ASUS has mitigated a lot of those limitations as well. Does the ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I Gaming motherboard live up to its predecessors.
By Brent Justice   February 08, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 64 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability in this air-cooled monster. Let’s see what it can do.
SilverStone SFX SX500-G 500W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 04, 2018
SilverStone has been championing as well as leading the SFX form factor push for computer power supplies. Its SX500-G represents what we think is he most power we have ever seen shoehorned into a minuscule footprint. SilverStone likes to refer to the it in Watts Per Liter. At 630 "WPL" shows it takes up less than a liter of space in your new build.
Thermaltake Core G21 & View 21 Glass Edition Cases
By Zach Throckmorton   February 02, 2018
This is a two-for-one review: Thermaltake's Core 21 and View 21 Tempered Glass Edition cases are identical aside from the front panel. Both cases feature tempered glass panels that show off your build, and we'll find out what difference the drastically different front panel designs have on case performance.
Threadripper Pays for Itself Using Cryptocurrency Mining
By Kyle Bennett   February 01, 2018
If you could have your AMD Ryzen Threadripper pay for itself over time, would you? No matter your feelings towards cryptocurrency mining, you can get your Threadripper mining today, and paying for itself. The process could not be much easier either. The big kicker is the actual wattage load on your system is likely much less than you would guess.
Cooler Master ML240L RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 29, 2018
The Cooler Master "MasterLiquid" series of coolers is very robust. Today we again look at an "L" model All-In-One cooler that is part of its "Lite" series of AIO that is supposed to be easier on your wallet while delivering an "easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Does the 240mm radiator Lite model deliver value...and cooling?
ENERMAX LIQTECH TR4 280 AIO Liquid CPU Cooler Review
By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2018
ENERMAX has been the most aggressive company when it comes to cooling AMD's Threadripper CPU with an easy to use and affordable All-In-One system. Today we are reviewing its THIRD socket TR4-specific AIO. It's previous offerings have been extremely solid and we think that Enermax has stayed on point.
Corsair HX1000 1000W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 23, 2018
The Corsair HX1000 computer power supply is, you guessed it, rated for 1000 huge watts of power delivery to your enthusiast system build. All of this comes in rated at extremely high efficiency, while being fully modular, all Japanese capacitors, and boasting "extremely tight voltage regulation." Let's put all that to the test.