Articles

All Reviews

AMD Launches EPYC Enterprise CPUs Available Today
By Kyle Bennett   June 20, 2017
AMD held it official EPYC enterprise CPU launch today in Austin, TX. If you are not aware of EPYC, it is quite simply AMD's effort to get back into the datacenters that are now firmly held by Intel Xeon processors. What do you get when you take 4 Ryzen 7 CPUs and put those down on a single package with Infinity Fabric? You would be correct, its EPYC.
MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 19, 2017
The first custom retail video card based on AMD’s new Radeon RX 570 GPU is our test bench, the MSI Radeon RX 570 GAMING X is poised to offer incredible performance and overclocking potential out of the Radeon RX 570. We’ll compare it to the competition, plus the Radeon RX 470 and see what advantage it offers.
FSP Windale 6 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 19, 2017
FSP is a very new brand when it comes to CPU air coolers and is entering a market that is highly competitive and seeded with others that have been designing air coolers for quite some time. Its Windale 6 cooler features six direct contact heatpipes, a 120mm fan, and what FSP says is an "optimized fin design." But does it cool?
MSI VR ONE - Wireless VR Backpack Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 15, 2017
The MSI VR ONE is quite simply a full PC that comes in the form of a backpack that allows you to connect your HTC Vive or Oculus Rift for a "wireless" VR experience. This VR ONE unit packs a GTX 1070 laptop GPU to hopefully supply us with the needed 90 frames per second performance required for a perfect Virtual Reality experience.
Seasonic PRIME 850W Platinum Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 13, 2017
As is usual, Seasonic talks softly and carries a big stick. The biggest stick lately has been its Prime series power supplies. Today's Prime comes to us touting excellent efficiency, a fully modular design, tight output voltage, and a quiet noise profile supplied by a fluid dynamic bearing fan. Does Seasonic continue its current reign?
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 4K Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   June 12, 2017
We review a custom GeForce GTX 1080 Ti based video card with custom cooling and a factory overclock built for overclocking. Can the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X truly deliver a consistent enjoyable high-end graphics setting gameplay experience in games at 4K finally? Is a single card viable for current generation gaming at 4K?
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 04, 2017
It’s been years since we’ve reviewed an ASUS ROG offering that was designed for AMD CPUs. That’s not to say that those haven’t existed, those just weren’t worth a look as the AMD side of things has not been compelling for the better part of the last decade. Thanks to AMD Ryzen, we have a reason to take the ASUS Crosshair VI Hero for a test drive and tell you how it fared in the tumultuous sea of AM4 motherboards.
Scythe Mugen 5 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   June 01, 2017
The Mugen 5 is one of the larger CPU air coolers you will find on the market, and with that is has an "asymmetric design for maximum memory compatibility," so it does not extend deep into DIMM territory. The polished copper baseplate, as well as the rest of the HSF is nickel plated. Also we have a newly engineered mounting mechanism.
AMD Launches for Threadripper and Radeon RX Vega
By Kyle Bennett   May 30, 2017
AMD got up on stage at Computex just now and went over what is to come in terms of its news EPYC, Threadripper, Radeon Instinct, and Radeon RX Vega GPUs. We got given a little bit of read meat, but most of what came from AMD left us a bit disappointed in terms of real information. Stringing us along, and we are still eating it up....
The Definitive AMD Ryzen 7 Real-World Gaming Guide
By Brent Justice   May 26, 2017
With our AMD Ryzen 7 overclocked to 4GHz we find out if this is a competitive real-world gaming CPU or not. We compare it with two overclocked Intel 7700K and 2600K systems across six different video card configurations at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p to find out which CPU provides the best gameplay experience using playable game settings.
Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair Unboxing & Assembly
By Kyle Bennett   May 25, 2017
We continue on in our hunt for the perfect Gaming Chair given how much interest we got from readers last time! This time we are unboxing and showing the full assembly process of the Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair supplied to us by Champ Chairs. We will use it for a month and then report back to you with the full review.
Thermaltake Smart Pro RGB 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 25, 2017
Frag-harder RGB lighting is all the rage, and so of course we are now seeing those in PSUs too. Thermaltake has a healthy 850 watt PSU here for review today that actually hits the sub-$100 mark by 1 cent. Fully modular with great DC output; is there anything not to like? You can turn the RGB off. And a 7 year warranty.
Vertagear Triigger 350 Special Edition Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   May 19, 2017
What happens when you rope yourself in to doing a gaming chair review? You take your time, do it right, and make sure your butt spends at least a few months in the chair before you write your review. My butt has been in the VertaGear Triigger 350 Gaming Chair for over 3 months, and here are my thoughts.
SilverStone SX800-LTI SFX-L Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 17, 2017
SilverStone continues on its march to absolutely own the small form factor PSU market. This PSU is a huge 800 watts worth of power shoehorned into a SFX-L sized package all while claiming "silent" operation with fanless modes as well. Along with that is a healthy amount of PCIe power plugs and claims of unsurpassed efficiency.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Raja Koduri Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
Raja Koduri, Radeon Technologies Group Senior VP and Chief Architect, just finished up with his AMD Analyst Day presentation that was firmly focused on its upcoming Vega GPU and how it will pertain to the Machine Learning and Advanced Visualization markets by introducing the Radeon Vega Frontier Edition.
AMD Financial Analyst Day Lisa Su Presentation
By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017
AMD is holding its annual Financial Analyst Day right now. AMD announced its Epyc brand Naples based datacenter processor CPUs as well as its Radeon Instinct Datacenter products based on the Vega GPU. This is AMD CEO Lisa Su's introduction slide deck that touches on all of today's presentations still happening now.
MSI Z270 Krait Gaming LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   May 12, 2017
While it is generally the flagship motherboards that grab the most attention, it's the midrange offerings that see the most sales. MSI's Z270 Krait Gaming motherboard is one of those bread and butter type offerings. It has everything the gamer needs without the unnecessary and expensive fluff.
NZXT Kraken X62 All-in-One CPU Liquid Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   May 10, 2017
With today's NZXT Kraken review we step up the performance ladder and review its X62 model AIO CPU Cooler. As NZXT spells out on it website, and it is not modest about it, saying that the new Kraken series "have been redesigned to bring you the greatest experience in liquid cooling, all backed by an industry-leading 6-year warranty."
Corsair Crystal 460X RGB Compact ATX Mid-Tower Case
By Mike Hermon   May 04, 2017
What do you do when a window just isn't enough? Corsair believes they have the answer in the Crystal 460X RGB case. The front and side are made of tempered glass giving you the ability to show off your pride and joy. Is it more than just a pretty face? Can the Crystal 460X RGB make a PC enthusiast happy?
Enermax Revolution SFX 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   May 01, 2017
The small form factor segment has been hot for a while now when it comes to enthusiast PC builders and Enermax is entering the SFX fray today with the Revolution SFX 650W PSU. It touts fanless modes under 30% load, 100% Japanese capacitors, and complete flat flexible cables for easier routing in tight cases.
MSI Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   April 27, 2017
MSI’s Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium is a feature packed powerhouse that’s got everything you need to take your game to the next level. The MSI Z270 XPower Gaming Titanium is easily one of the most robust solutions for overclocking. If you want a feature rich solution that can deliver the goods on the overclocking front, check this one out.
NZXT Kraken X52 All-In-One CPU Liquid Cooler Review
By Marc Adams   April 25, 2017
NZXT has been stepping up its cooling game this year, and the Kraken X52 All-In-One represents its "in between" liquid CPU cooler model for those cases with somewhat limited space for the radiator. The Kraken X52 comes with a healthy feature set that has most of the bells and whistles that are needed to make it competitive.
PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample Overclocking
By Brent Justice   April 21, 2017
We take the new PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 Golden Sample and overclock it as much as possible as we did not have time to do this in our original review. Find out our final overclocking results and how high the new AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU is capable of going. Will we break through past 1.5GHz on this GPU?
GIGABYTE AORUS AX370-Gaming 5 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   April 20, 2017
At long last we've finally got a full retail AM4 motherboard on hand to put through its paces. GIGABYTE's AX370-Gaming 5 is probably one of the best bets on an AM4 system right now. Unfortunately, that path will have a few bumps in the road. We fill in all the gaps and let you know what to look for.