Articles

All Reviews

Threadripper at 4GHz with XSPC RayStorm Waterblock
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2017
XSPC got us over one of its first waterblocks specifically designed to help handle Ryzen Threadripper CPU's heat while overclocking. We give you a quick unboxing, break down the block itself, and then we look at Threadripper long-term performance. We finally get it dialed in at 4GHz.
The Top 5 Worst CPUs of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 17, 2017
We reach back over 20 years to think about what are worst CPUs we have ever had to deal with. Whether it be technical issues or for reasons of simply disappointing the market, these CPUs sucked in some way. Some CPUs you will remember, so you won't, and some you will wish that you did not remember.
Enermax LIQMAX II 240 Liquid CPU AIO CPU Cooler
By Marc Adams   August 16, 2017
Enermax is extremely proud of its Liqmax II 240 CPU AIO cooler. It is one of the few coolers you will find that it proudly displays its TDP rating right on the front of the box, which happens to be "350W+." With its Batwing fan blades, ceramic bearing pump, and Shunt-Channel-Technology it is a sure winner, right? Let's find out.
MSI Z270 SLI Plus LGA 1151 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 15, 2017
MSI brings to the table, one of the least expensive SLI capable motherboards based on Intel’s Z270 Express chipset available today. While not totally stripped, it does sacrifice a few things to keep costs down. That said, it’s also got a solid foundation and offers a ton of value for the money. If you are looking to build an LGA 1151 rig, you won’t want to miss this one.
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   August 14, 2017
We put the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 to the test in eleven games mixed among DX11, DX12, and Vulkan to find out what it can deliver. We pit it against the competition's GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070, and in the end, find the strengths and weaknesses of the new AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 for PC gaming. Is there value at $499?
Is Intel's X299 Platform Better than the X99?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 11, 2017
New processors and another socket means a new chipset. Intel's X299 Express chipset replaces the venerable and X99 Express Chipset and updates it's HEDT platform to match it's mainstream offerings and then some. This chipset promises to be the most versatile and feature rich Intel has released to date, but is it really an improvement?
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X and 1920X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 10, 2017
The day is finally upon us that many CPU enthusiasts have been waiting for. We get to see what AMD's new Threadripper CPU is all about in terms of performance, and in attempts to cool the beast. There has been no lack of hype for months now, so let's see if it is all justified.
Dirt 4 Real Gameplay Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   August 08, 2017
Let’s find out how well the new game Dirt 4 performs across seven GPUs. We put a heavy focus on MSAA performance, CMAA performance and EQAA performance across every GPU to find which is more efficient at AA at high resolutions.
Custom DIY Mount for Threadripper Water Cooling
By Kyle Bennett   August 07, 2017
What do you do when you don't have the proper parts that you need to water cool your new thread ripper? Make you own with trash you find around the house. Maybe even repurpose and old water block that is in your closet.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Coldplate Mounting and Mating
By Kyle Bennett   August 05, 2017
When you mount any processor cooling system, you want to make sure that you have the best possible mating surface between the two. That means you want as little Thermal Interface Material as possible. When both surfaces are not flat, this is an issue.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Unboxing and Install
By Kyle Bennett   August 03, 2017
We show you how "easily" the AMD Threadripper comes out of the box, and some hilarity ensues, and then we take you through the simple steps of Threadripper installation. I would consider this a PSA as well because I destroyed the socket on my TR4 motherboard.
Arozzi Vernazza Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 02, 2017
This is our second foray into evaluating "gaming furniture." This time we spend a couple months with the Arozzi Gaming Chair. This fine looking specimen has been full of surprises. The Arozzi Vernazza is the "new top-of-the-line model featuring all the latest innovations from Arozzi’s Swedish design team."
Cybenetics: Better Paid-For Badges for Your PSU?
By Paul Johnson   August 01, 2017
In the following editorial, we are going to look at what Cybenetics is, how it is "different" from 80 Plus, how it addresses the issues with PSU "certification," and what all we think this new "program" does in the end. We include a back and forth interview with Cybenetics founder as well, and look into some of his answers.
AMD Radeon RX Vega GPU Specs and Pricing Revealed
By Brent Justice   July 31, 2017
AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and 56 information and pricing and availability has been announced from Siggraph. At least we know what is coming now. We will talk about it, show you the complete presentations, including architecture, for your viewing pleasure. Let’s see what AMD has up its sleeve for the August 14th release of the AMD Vega GPU lineup.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper Specs and Pricing Revealed
By Kyle Bennett   July 30, 2017
AMD revealed all the details on Threadripper at Siggraph today. Finally no stone left unturned in what has been a truly long drawn out launch by AMD, but finally the trickling is over. We get solid data on all pertinent points to look forward to.
AMD Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2
By Brent Justice   July 26, 2017
It’s time for a big AMD Radeon Software and driver update from AMD. Check out what’s new and how performance has improved in AMD’s latest Crimson ReLive Edition 17.7.2 driver. AMD is on the top of its driver game this summer.
Blind Test - RX Vega FreeSync vs. GTX 1080 TI G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   July 26, 2017
Totally unscientific and subjective testing is scorned by many, so if that gets your panties in a bunch, I suggest you stop reading. We had the opportunity to preview AMD's RX Vega this weekend, and we put it up against NVIDIA's GTX 1080 Ti, both using 100Hz FreeSync and G-Sync panels, with our testers representing 223 combined years of gaming experience.
GIGABYTE Z270X Ultra Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 25, 2017
GIGABYTE has been on a roll with all it's 2017 offerings. This generation has seen solid boards for both AMD and Intel fans alike. Today, we switch gears and look at the GIGABYTE Z270X Ultra Gaming. It's the most misleading name GIGABYTE has used to date, but comes in with a very affordable price of $160!
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   July 24, 2017
MSI is taking it the max with the MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti LIGHTNING Z video card, sporting the most robust cooling, the highest factory overclock, and even an unlocked Power Limit switchable BIOS mode, this video card has the potential for the highest overclocking possible out of the GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GPU on air.
Overclocking the Intel Core i9-7900X X-series Processor
By Kyle Bennett   July 19, 2017
We have finally gotten some time to spend with the new Intel Core i9-7900X, which is a 10-core 20-thread CPU built to be used with the new X299 chipset and motherboard platform. Is this $1000 3.3GHz to 4.3GHz CPU good for overclocking beyond stock? Overclocking the 7900X takes a good bit of cooling, and then a little more for really pushing it hard.
The Top 5 Best Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with excellent features and stability along with great performance. Dan takes a stroll down memory lane and rehashes his top five "best" motherboards. I am sure you will all agree 100%.
BioStar Racing X370GT7 AMD AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 18, 2017
BIOSTAR isn’t exactly a juggernaut of a manufacturer here in the U.S. Despite stiff competition, the big boys are blowing it bad enough at the X370 Ryzen motherboard game that BIOSTAR’s X370GT7 just might be one of the best AM4 motherboard options around. While we think it might actually be good, it still doesn’t make for a smooth ride.
The Top 5 Worst Motherboards of All Time
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 17, 2017
We have been reviewing motherboards here at HardOCP for about 20 years now. And in that time, many have been flush with horrible features and bugs of all kinds. Dan takes a stroll down a very painful memory lane and rehashes his top five..as instructed by his therapist. Let it out Dan...let it out.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 11, 2017
Seasonic's new high efficiency enthusiast computer power supply claims to be silent through 425 watts of power delivery. An improved fluid dynamic bearing fan helps with this. The Focus sports a cable-free connection panel, and has an industry leading 10 year warranty. And this unit was sourced out of retail stock, just like you would buy.