Articles

All Reviews

Thermaltake Grand RGB 1200W Platinum PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   April 23, 2018
When you start getting into high power PSUs, there are simply not a lot of brands you should trust expensive hardware to. Thermaltake is one of the oldest high power PSU sellers. Do the Frag Harder Disco Lights help it out when we put it on the load tester? No. Does TT still have the PSU chops to hang at 1.2 kilowatts? Yes, it surely does.
AMD 2nd Gen Ryzen 2 2700X Zen+ CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   April 19, 2018
AMD has made a huge push back into the CPU market over the last year with its Ryzen CPUs for the desktop market. The Ryzen started the Thread Wars and Intel has tried to answer. We are reviewing the 2nd generation Ryzen today. Did AMD take an already great CPU and make it better?
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   April 17, 2018
We test eleven GPU's performance from the low-end, to the top-end in Far Cry 5. Our goal is to find what settings are playable on each video card in Far Cry 5, and to compare the performance. We will also look at AA and Volumetric Fog performance. If you want to find what the best value GPU is for this game, this is for you.
Dell and HP Resist the NVIDIA GPP Leash - So Far
By Kyle Bennett   April 12, 2018
Since we found out about NVIDIA's GeForce Partner Program, aka GPP, a couple of months ago, we have seen changes implemented by NVIDIA's partners, but what has not happened is far more important to point out at this time.
REEVEN OURANOS RC-1401 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   April 10, 2018
REEVEN's OURANOS RC-1401 is a single tower CPU air cooler with a 140mm yellow-bladed fan. Its design keeps your RAM slots in mind while its Speed Switch Adapter claims to maximize cooling efficiency and easing your noise profile. Let's put it on our overclocked Ryzen CPU running a very high vCore and see if it makes the cut.
Intel Rumors - Kaby Lake-X - Skylake-X and Cascade Lake
By Kyle Bennett   April 09, 2018
In this episode of How the Rumor Mill Churns, we address some old Intel CPUs, some new Intel CPUs, and hopefully Intel CPUs that we will never see again. End of Life for good products is often disheartening, but when EOL pertains to something that should have never existed, it goes over a lot better.
Seasonic PRIME 600 Titanium Fanless PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   April 09, 2018
The Seasonic PRIME 600 Titanium Fanless PSU has a feature that many find desirable, and as you might have guessed it, that is silence. High efficiency and noise-less performance go hand in hand, but those qualities do not come cheap, however if you are willing to spend, you can own a high end PSU that will never offend your ears.
Barrowch Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   April 04, 2018
Barrow is not a terribly well known name in North America when it comes to water cooling products, but it does produce what is surely top-shelf looking components. Its "Barrowch" line of coolers is supposed to be its best in terms of design and engineering. We breakdown its Whale Shark built for Threadripper and socket TR4.
Ncore V1 No Frame Water Block Prototype Testing
By Kyle Bennett   April 02, 2018
The Ncore V1 is a prototype CPU water block for custom built PC cooling loops. It has a couple of big draws when it comes to enthusiast features, namely it is a direct-die cooler, and the other feature is that no mounting hardware is required. We have put the Ncore V1 through some cooling and have results to share.
Rockit Cool Rockit 88 Delid and Relid Tool
By Kyle Bennett   April 02, 2018
Every since Intel decided to start once again using a thermal interface material in its enthusiast CPUs, we have been looking for better ways to remove the Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS). Rockit Cool has what we consider to be the best tool we have used yet. If safety and ease are priority, this is it.
Far Cry 5 Video Card Performance Preview
By Brent Justice   April 02, 2018
Far Cry 5 is finally in retail, and in this preview of video card performance we will compare performance of a few video cards, using real gameplay. This will give you an idea what you need to play Far Cry 5, what image quality settings are playable, and what resolutions work best with each video card. Our full evaluation will come later.
AMD Radeon FreeSync 2 vs NVIDIA G-Sync
By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2018
What happens when you take about 10 dedicated PC gamers and put them down in front of a FreeSync 2 supported system, and a G-Sync supported system and let them play games back to back and then ask them about their gaming experience? That is exactly what we did this week.
Koolance 400A-S Threadripper Water Block V2 Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   March 29, 2018
Koolance, not a company to twiddle its thumbs, has been working on gettings is newly designed AMD Ryzen Threadripper water block into the market. We have the first sample in the wild, and as we have done in the past, we show you the unboxing, then break it down to see what all changes have been made inside.
GIGABYTE Aorus X399 Designare EX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 28, 2018
GIGABYTE’s X399 Designare EX is a rich, full featured solution for AMD’s Threadripper CPUs. At $370, this isn’t a budget-oriented offering. The thing people usually want to know when looking at motherboards in this price bracket is if such products are worth the extra cost. Read on to find out if this gaming and workstation offering is worthwhile.
NVIDIA VOLTA's TITAN V DX12 Performance Efficiency
By Brent Justice   March 26, 2018
We take the $3,000 NVIDIA TITAN V video card using the new Volta architecture and find out if its DX12 and Async Compute performance is more efficient than the last generation Pascal architecture in gaming performance.
MSI Z370I Gaming Pro Carbon AC mITX Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 23, 2018
Many of us have gotten used to wanting things smaller and smaller in terms of today's electronics, and many enthusiasts have followed that trend when it comes to building fully capable high end desktop PC system. MSI is turning up the heat in the mini-ITX segment with it Gaming Pro Carbon series motherboards.
NVIDIA TITAN V Video Card Gaming Review
By Brent Justice   March 20, 2018
What does $3,000 US buy you in terms of gaming performance on the PC in 2018? We are about to find out. We’ve got the Volta GPU powered NVIDIA TITAN V video card in-house, tested in thirteen games at 1440p and 4K, oh and we even overclocked it, just because.
Enermax LiqFusion 240 All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   March 19, 2018
The new Enermax LiqFusion is an All-in-One liquid CPU cooler packed with unique features and desirable options. It has an exclusive RGB-sync waterblock, flow indicator, ceramic bearing pump, as well as a serviceable design, but how well does it cool our highly overclocked Ryzen test system?
Are More Expensive Motherboards Better Motherboards?
By Daniel Dobrowolski   March 16, 2018
In this editorial Dan Dobrowolski digs into his lifelong experience in the tech sector as well as his more than 10 years of reviewing motherboards for HardOCP and tries to answer a very simple question. While the question is very simple, the depth of answers may surprise you. We have a list of nine things to consider.
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 1000W PSU 10 Year Redux
By Paul Johnson   March 12, 2018
Doing computer PSU reviews for over a decade, and keeping full documentation on those, gives us ability to do something that whets computer PSU enthusiasts' appetites. We get to take some of those PSUs that have been in service for 10 years and retest those. Cooler Master is back on the load bank! How does it look after a decade of service?
GeForce Partner Program Impacts Consumer Choice
By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2018
While we usually like to focus on all the wonderful and immersive worlds that video cards and their GPUs can open up to us, today we are tackling something a bit different. The GeForce Partner Program, known as GPP in the industry, is a "marketing" program that looks to HardOCP as being an anticompetitive tactic against AMD and Intel.
Ncore V1 No Frame Water Block Prototype Sneak Peek
By Kyle Bennett   March 05, 2018
Ncore is a prototype water block that has made its way to us for testing, and it is interesting enough for use to give it some test bench time. This V1 model of the Ncore uses the LGA 1151 socket to mount it to your delidded Intel processor. This block is tiny compared to almost any other air or water cooler on the market. Let's see what it is about.
ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 56 O8G GAMING Review
By Brent Justice   March 05, 2018
We have our first custom retail AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 GPU video card on the test bench in the form of the ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 56 O8G GAMING video card. ASUS has created a robust ROG STRIX version of RX Vega 56 with a factory overclock and overclocking ability. Let’s see what it can do.
Gamdias ACHILLES P1-L RGB Gaming Chair Build
By Kyle Bennett   March 05, 2018
Gamdias is a company that is new to us and primarily focuses on keyboards, mice, and headsets. It is getting into the "gaming chair" market in the USA. It's first chair available here is the ACHILLES P1-L. The "L" stands for "large," so maybe we can fit into this one. Complete with footrest and RGB lighting, we show you the build and our first thoughts.