Articles

All Reviews

AMD Radeon VII Interview with Scott Herkelman
By Kyle Bennett   January 14, 2019
We had the opportunity to talk to Scott Herkelman at AMD about the new Radeon VII GPU at CES 2019, and he was kind enough to answer questions that we had. We get his thoughts on the new Radeon VII, its full specifications and die size, FreeSync, multi-GPU, 16GB of HBM2, AMD getting back into direct retail sales of video cards, and more.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing: i9-9900K CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 13, 2019
We delve a bit deeper into Battlefield V testing and what all impacts your ability to play multiplayer with your brand new NVIDIA RTX video card with all the shiny Ray Tracing bits turned on. In this fifth installment, we head back to give a quick look at just how CPU width in terms of cores and threads impact your gameplay. Clock is still king at the high end.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Ti Performance
By Brent Justice   January 07, 2019
How many frames will NVIDIA Ray Tracing cost you in Battlefield V with the RTX 2080 Ti? We take an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti OC and turn on NVIDIA Ray Tracing in BFV Multiplayer at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K to find out. We test VRAM capacity, which reveals something very important that can impact NVIDIA Ray Tracing performance.
ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero Z390 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 06, 2019
Taking a queue from Hollywood, ASUS brings us another sequel to its long running ROG franchise with its Maximus XI Hero. While most movie sequels never live up to the original, computer hardware usually improves on the previous iteration. However, that’s not always the case. Is that the case here? Read on and find out.
MSI X399 Creation Threadripper Build - Start to Finish
By Kyle Bennett   January 05, 2019
Building a new computer for yourself is always fun. We had the chance to do it ourselves recently, and we decided to document the entire process on video. We use the MSI MEG X399 Creation motherboard and the MSI RTX 2080 Sea Hawk as the backbone of our system along with an AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing - CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 02, 2019
We have been doing some deep dives into playing Battlefield V 64-person multiplayer lately and testing what exactly the cost of using NVIDIA Ray Tracing is in terms of framerate performance using new NVIDIA RTX 2070 and RTX 2080 cards. We did get questioned on using a 5GHz overclocked 7700K instead of the suggested CPU that EA recommends.
Seasonic FOCUS SGX-450 450W SFX-L PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   December 31, 2018
Seasonic is delving deeper into the small form factor end of the power supply pool with its new FOCUS SGX. The SGX-450 has a 125mm x 125mm footprint, is supplied with an ATX adapter bracket, is fully modular, carries Gold efficiency certification, and comes with Seasonic's rock solid 10 year warranty.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 25, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI Sea Hawk RTX 2080 Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   December 20, 2018
MSI sent over its new Sea Hawk RTX 2080 card for use in a build video. This is a fair simple RTX card build that is purchased with a pre-installed All-In-One cooler. We wanted to see how well it overclocked and spent a night of gaming in order to do that and we have to say we were pleased with our results.
Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold RGB
By Paul Johnson   December 19, 2018
The Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold (RGB Sync Edition) claim to fame is that we can now have Frag Harder Disco Lights on, or rather inside of our PSU. While the RGB lighting is not much concern to us, we do however want to know if this Thoughpower stays inside ATX specification, and if so, does it shine brightly while doing it?
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2070 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 17, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
Scythe Ninja 5 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   December 13, 2018
The Scythe Ninja 5 is a very big CPU heatsink with a lot of cooling fin area, so we expect a lot out of it. The Ninja 5 also comes in a push / pull configuration out of the box. It has cutaways for taller DIMMs and professes to be "ultra silent." Let's put it on this highly overvolted Ryzen 7 and see how it handles over 140 watts of power.
Intel 2018 Architecture Day
By Kyle Bennett   December 12, 2018
Intel invited some of the press out to California to talk about where it is headed in terms of its overall business in the very near future. If news in the CPU world has excited you recently, you will surely want to be up to date with how Intel sees its future in the desktop market. If chiplets and 3D die stacking whet your enthusiast appetite, read on.
Corsair SF600 (2018) 600W SFX Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   December 07, 2018
Corsair is no stranger to the enthusiast computer power supply market, and most of its PSUs are built for ATX form factor cases. Corsair does however dabble a bit in the SFX end of the spectrum which tries to shoehorn as much power as possible into the smallest space possible. Let's see what the new SF600 is all about.
MSI MEG Z390 ACE Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 06, 2018
The MSI Enthusiast Gaming lineup expands once again with two Z390 offerings for Intel’s latest 9000 series CPUs. The MEG boards offer a blend of quality, features, with power delivery, and overclocking in mind. MSI has certainly raised the bar for its products over the last few years. So our expectations for the ACE motherboard are high.
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO Review
By Brent Justice   December 05, 2018
We review MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO in the latest 2018 games using all the RTX features capable at this time. We compare performance at 1440p and 4K with an overclocked GTX 1080 and RX Vega 64. DXR Reflection Ray Tracing in Battlefield V and Adaptive Shading RTX technology in Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus.
Intel Core i5-9600K Processor Overclocking Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 29, 2018
The Intel Core i5-9600K Processor will likely hit the the sweet spot for a lot of desktop PC enthusiasts and gamers. We have a solid 6-Core count with a Turbo Boost clock of 4.6GHz coming in for right around $270. What kind of overclock will the new 9600K CPU support and remain 100% stable?
RTX 2080 Ti FE Escapes Testing by Dying After 8 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 21, 2018
We have spent over $4000 on NVIDIA RTX cards, on both 2080 Founders Edition and 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards for testing here at HardOCP. As it stands now, two of our three 2080 Ti FE cards have died on us. Another one just bit the dust, and with very little fanfare this time.
noblechairs HERO Series Office and Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   November 20, 2018
noblechairs impressed us with its ICON series office chair, and now it is back with its HERO series chair. The HERO is built with the same attention to detail that the ICON is, but it is built for larger guys and has an upgraded list of features, along with a bigger price tag. We used the HERO for a month and here are our thoughts on it.
Deepcool Captain 240 EX All-In-One CPU Cooler
By Richard Gouge   November 19, 2018
Deepcool states its mission is to provide "the best and personalized thermal solutions." Its Captain EX series of AIO CPU coolers has what it calls a "Steam Punk" look with visible liquid flow, but what we are most concerned with is just how well it cools our overclocked and over-volted Ryzen 7 processor. And it has "anti-explosion" rubber material.
XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   November 15, 2018
AMD is launching the new Radeon RX 590 GPU today, and we have a custom XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ video card to evaluate. With a high factory overclock, and potential for overclocking, we will compare this video card with the EVGA GTX 1060 SSC overclocked and test at 1080p and 1440p gaming.
NVIDIA on the Cause of RTX 2080 Series Card Failures
By cageymaru   November 14, 2018
If you are a fan of games and computer hardware, especially GPUs, you have undoubtedly seen anecdotal evidence that NVIDIA's new RTX 2080 series cards are failing due to artifacting, simply stopping working, and in some cases actually catching on fire. Now it seems that NVIDIA is owning up to there actually being an issue with its new RTX cards.
Intel Core i9-9980XE vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper
By Kyle Bennett   November 13, 2018
Today Intel is kicking off its newest High End Desktop processor, the Intel Core i9-9980XE Extreme Edition. This 14nm Skylake-X CPU boasts 18 Cores and 36 Threads and has an expected retail price of $1979. We compare the i9-9980XE to AMD's entire line of Threadripper CPUs to see where the 9980XE sits in the HEDT stack.
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FAILS After Gaming for 2 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 09, 2018
I have bought and owned NVIDIA graphics cards for a long time. There has been a lot of talk about the RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition failing lately, a lot of that just being anecdotal. After playing games for two hours this evening this is what I was met with. Unlucky? Or do RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards have some issues?