Articles

All Reviews

Cooler Master ML120L RGB All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 17, 2018
Cooler Master has recently revamped its entire line of All-In-One liquid CPU coolers, and it has specifically addressed putting a lower priced product into the market with its "Lite" series of AIOs that it says are "An easy, reliable and low noise plunge into liquid cooling." Let's see how its smallest radiator stands up to an overclocked Ryzen CPU.
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 15, 2018
This new Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750 watt computer power supply is a revision of its previous PRIME Ultra line of PSUs. This alone makes us wonder just how much better Seasonic can actually make these power supplies, given just how great these were last time around. Let's find out if Seasonic has achieved building an even better PSU.
MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 12, 2018
MSI’s X370 Gaming M7 ACK brings a solid feature set and potential overclocking to the table. So far things have been a bit bumpy regarding AMD’s AM4 platform, but things have improved a lot recently. AMD’s AGESA code being up to scratch doesn’t mean anything if the motherboard manufacturers don’t do their part. Did MSI do its part?
IceMan AMD Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   January 10, 2018
AMD's Threadripper CPU is finding its way into many computer hardware enthusiasts' HEDT systems, and if you are looking to overclock it to the edge-of-the-envelope 4GHz, you are very possibly going to look to custom loop cooling. We just got in the IceMan Threadripper block and we tear it down to see how it is designed.
AMD ReLive versus NVIDIA ShadowPlay Performance
By Brent Justice   January 08, 2018
We take AMD ReLive in the AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition and NVIDIA ShadowPlay as part of GeForce Experience and find out which one is more FPS and CPU-efficient for recording gameplay. We will compare features, specifications, and find out which better suits content creators for recording gameplay.
Corsair H150i PRO RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   January 08, 2018
Corsair has just released its largest All-In-One (AIO) cooler to date. With a 360mm radiator, RGB Frag Harder Disco Lights, and magnetic levitation fans, it seems to be hitting all the popular checkboxes that are required nowadays when it comes to just about any product. Our primary concern is how well it cools a very hot overclocked CPU.
AMD CES 2018 Announcement Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   January 07, 2018
We have gone through the multiple slide decks that AMD has shared with us in the last couple of days and picked through those with a focus on desktop and High End Desktop CPUs and a bit on Radeon products. We have boiled it all down to what we see as being important to computer hardware enthusiasts and gamers.
Quick Facts about Meltdown and Spectre
By Kyle Bennett   January 04, 2018
Meltdown and Spectre have your scratching your head? In-house HardOCP security expert, Joe Wood, has walked us through some very ugly facts about these two new attacks that were fully exposed this week.
AMD Threadripper Water Block Cooler Roundup for 2017
By Wayne Stovall   December 29, 2017
We go back and re-test all of our Socket TR4 AMD Threadripper CPU under the same conditions so we can compare all of those directly in one review article. We cover the EK Supremacy EVO, the Koolance 400A-S, the Phanteks 399A, the Swiftech Apogee SKF-TR4, and the XSPC RayStorm NEO.
ASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 27, 2017
ASUS’ purpose built overclocking motherboard stands out as one of the most interesting and provocative motherboards the Republic of Gamers brand has probably ever seen. However, we’ve seen motherboards that opt to specialize in one area lose out in others. We put the Rampage VI APEX to the test and see if its a predator.
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   December 26, 2017
The ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme is new motherboard for AMD Ryzen CPUs that comes with a very specific host of computer hardware enthusiast features with cooling being at the forefront of that feature set. 3200MHz certification for RAM, Intel NIC, ROG backplate, and pre-mounted IO shield are just a few of the cool features it offers up.
Koolance 400A-S TR4 Threadripper CPU Water Block Review
By Wayne Stovall   December 24, 2017
Koolance is a well known name in the mainstream water cooling market but over the years it has paid more attention to the enterprise market. Koolance is however dipping its toe into the Threadripper cooling market, when others aren't yet, with an enthusiast water block for the TR4 socket. Let's see how it stacks up the rest of the current TR4 water blocks.
AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition Performance
By Brent Justice   December 20, 2017
We take the AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 and AMD Radeon RX 580 and test performance in 13 games (DX11, DX12, Vulkan) from video card launch press drivers to the latest AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition 17.12.1 driver released in December. We will see how performance in old and newer games has changed over the course of 2017.
Swiftech Apogee SKF Threadripper Water Block Review
By Wayne Stovall   December 19, 2017
Swiftech has long been known for it cooling prowess among computer enthusiasts for two decades. Not to be left behind, Swiftech is now starting production on a water block specifically designed for AMD's Threadripper. Not only is it designed for socket TR4, this new block comes to use with an advanced micro-fin design.
FSP Hydro PTM 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   December 18, 2017
While FSP is still not a widely known brand name when it comes to enthusiast computer power supplies, it has actually been becoming fairly consistent in designing, manufacturing, and selling PSUs in North America that have not only held their own, but also been impressive products. How does this new member of its Hydro series hold up?
Optimus Water Cooling V1 Intel CPU Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 14, 2017
Optimus Water Cooling is primed to give the competition a run for the money when it comes to water cooling your very hot and overclocked LGA 115X CPU. This block is made right here right in the USA. Does "revolutionary patent-pending Hybrid Fin technology" transform a simple water block into something that can dominate its competition?
AMD Radeon Software Adrenalin Edition Introduction
By Brent Justice   December 12, 2017
Another year, another AMD Radeon Software release! This year we move to something that hopefully get you AMD video card owners' hearts racing, Radeon "Adrenalin." AMD's GPU driver package has aged very well over the last few years adding a host of new features and Adrenalin is chock full of improvements and couple of new features as well.
Koolance Threadripper Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 11, 2017
Not to be left out of the rush to cool AMD's HEDT Threadripper CPU, Koolance joins the fray. We just got in our "CPU-400A-S" water block and we give you an upfront and personal look as we back the curtain to see what is inside of this soon-to-come cooler.
Phanteks Glacier G1080 Video Card Water Block Review
By Kyle Bennett   December 10, 2017
Do you have the desire to run your high-end NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti at crazy sustained clock rates, with core temperatures just about 10 degrees C over ambient, and doing all that while in near silence? Phanteks has the answer for you with its Glacier series G1080 custom cooling system for your GeForce card. Frag Harder Disco Lights included.
Optimus V1 Silver Water Block Unboxing and Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 07, 2017
Optimus Water Cooling may be a company that you are not familiar with. That is because this is its first publicly available computer water cooling product in retail. Optimus is a US company building products made and sourced right here in the good ole US of A. We just took delivery of it new V1 Silver water block for Intel sockets.
Swiftech Apogee SKF TR4 Water Block Breakdown
By Kyle Bennett   December 06, 2017
We have been waiting for "the next" AMD Threadripper water block to show up on the market, and it is finally here. The limited edition Apogee SKF-TR4 "Heirloom Series" is a great looking piece of hardware so of course we want to take it apart and show you what is hidden beneath the extremely shiny exterior.
Phanteks G1080 GPU Water Block Assembly and Flow
By Kyle Bennett   December 06, 2017
Phanteks recently sent us its Glacier series water block for our Founders Edition GTX 1080 Ti. We take you through the full process of getting it installed. We check out the mating surfaces of the GPU, capacitors, and MOSFETs and show you just how well it all fits together. Then finally we show exactly how the coolant flows in 4K!
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 Ti GAMING Advanced Edition
By Brent Justice   December 05, 2017
Today we review the ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1070 Ti A8G GAMING Advanced Edition video card on the test bench. The video card has very a long name, but also the video card with the highest GeForce GTX 1070 Ti overclock we’ve ever achieved. Find out how it compares to Radeon Vega 64.
Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB Plus 1250W Titanium PSU
By Paul Johnson   December 04, 2017
Thermaltake's new Toughpower computer power supply comes complete with Frag Harder Disco Lights, but what we want to know is how does it do when it comes to delivering clean and efficient power to your system. This new 1250 watt PSU has fully modular individually sleeved cables and has plenty of power where you need it.