Articles

All Reviews

Cooler Master ML360R RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   August 14, 2018
If it is Frag Harder Disco Lights you want, then Cooler Master ML360R RGB All-In-One CPU liquid cooler has that in spades. RGB is nice and all, but how does this AIO do where the rubber meets the road? We strap the ML360R RGB to our highly over-volted and overclocked Ryzen 7 processor and find out.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 13, 2018
AMD teased us a bit last week by showing off its new 2nd Generation Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X packaging and specifications. This week AMD lets us share all our Threadripper data we have been collecting. The 2990WX is likely a lot different part than many people were expecting, and it turns out that it might usher AMD into a newly created market.
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   August 08, 2018
Seasonic's PRIME ULTRA TITANIUM is at the very tip top of its PSU product stack, and its product stack is likely the deepest in the industry when it comes to quality computer power supplies for gamers and enthusiast users that truly push their PCs on a normal basis. Is this 850 watt PSU worthy of your hard earned PSU dollars?
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   August 07, 2018
In Part 2 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance evaluation today we are going to cover the GeForce GTX 780 Ti, GeForce GTX 980 Ti, and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti. We will test all three video cards in fourteen games at 1440p and 4K to see how performance has evolved over the past five years from GPU to GPU.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X Unboxing
By Kyle Bennett   August 06, 2018
AMD is allowing us to pull back the curtain on it upcoming Generation 2 Threadripper packaging. The new model 2900WX and 2950X CPUs will certainly not be missed on retail shelves and this time the CPUs have a sort of "collector's case" for those of us enthusiasts that like to display such things. It also works a lot better than it did last time around.
AMD Launches B450 Chipset for Socket AM4
By Kyle Bennett   August 01, 2018
AMD has a new chipset that will further leverage the AM4 socket and every Ryzen CPU produced, however not some to the fullest. The differences between the B450 and the B350 are small at best. However, like the B350 the new B450 based boards are certainly shooting for the budget system arena and will likely do well there.
Enermax RevoBron 700W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 30, 2018
The Enermax RevoBron 700W is a computer power supply that looks to satisfy those of us not looking to spend an arm and a leg on PSUs. It saves us a few dollars in that it is Bronze level efficiency and semi-modular. For $90 however, it is chock full of cool features, and if it shows to be a good PSU, it may be very well worth the price.
ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 26, 2018
ASUS has another mini-ITX powerhouse on its hands, and this time its for AMD’s 2nd Generation Ryzen processors. The ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I Gaming promises a lot, and frankly we expect a lot from these motherboards. ASUS practically set the standard for enthusiast class mini-ITX motherboards and it has set the bar very high in the past.
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 1
By Brent Justice   July 25, 2018
Ever wonder how much performance you are really getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? What if we took GPUs from NVIDIA and AMD and compared performance gained from 2013 to 2018? We are going to start that process today in Part 1 focusing on the GeForce GTX 780, GeForce GTX 980 and GeForce GTX 1080 in 14 games.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 24, 2018
The Seasonic FOCUS PLUS GOLD series has been nothing but a crowd pleaser. The 650 watt market is however jam packed with lots of competition when it comes to building PSUs. However when it comes to the high end of "Gold" mainstream market power supplies, Seasonic has shown its mid-efficiency PSUs are the competition to be feared.
Corsair K63 Wireless Gaming Keyboard & Lapboard Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 22, 2018
Corsair leads its "Unplug and Play" initiative with the K63 Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard. Corsair pairs that keyboard with a custom designed K63 Wireless Gaming Lapboard. The goal here is to allow you to easily move away from your computer desk and into the living room or wherever else you want.
Corsair H100i PRO RGB Liquid AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 20, 2018
Corsair has just unveiled its new model Hydro AIO H100i CPU AIO cooler. These work with all new AMD and desktop Intel processors. Its new claim to fame is super quiet magnetic levitation fans. As usual, cooling our highly overclocked AMD Ryzen CPU is our focus, so how does it cool when pushed to the limit?
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 18, 2018
The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO heatsink and fan cooler combo has been around for about seven years and is incredibly affordable. This HSF is a go-to for many folks on a budget and others that just need cooling that is better than stock. What happens when we put it on our highly overclocked Ryzen 7 CPU?
Corsair AX1600i 1600W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 17, 2018
1600 watts is a lot of computer power supply to shoehorning into one small box. We have seen this attempted many times, and many times companies have fallen short. Corsair's new flagship AX1600i claims to be the world's best PSU that has gotten even better. We will be the judge of that and judgement has been passed.
Astro Gaming A50 Wireless Headset & Base Station Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 15, 2018
As wireless gaming headsets go, the Astro Gaming A50 comes in at the very high end when it comes to price. These will cost you $300, which is a pretty penny when it comes to upping your gaming experience. We wanted to give the Astro A50 a go and see if it is in any way worth the asking price. We were pleasantly surprised, and let down.
GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi AMD Ryzen Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 11, 2018
GIGABYTE’s flagship X470 motherboard is a gorgeous piece of hardware, packed with features and bristling with options. It fully supports AMD's Precision Boost 2 technology for new Ryzen processors. This motherboard has overclocking in mind with its design and of course has plenty of Frag Harder Disco Lights, should that be your thing.
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2018
We take The Crew 2 and evaluate ten of today’s latest GPUs in the game. We will find what the highest playable settings are, how video cards compare, and how specific graphics features compare in performance. We will find the best value for gaming, and what graphics settings work best. Is this game worth it, or a graphical flop?
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 09, 2018
The Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000W is angling to be the "best" 1 kilowatt computer power supply ever built. It boasts having some of the best power efficiency and delivery on the market, all while delivering features like being fully modular, a fully silent mode, and Seasonic's 12 year warranty.
Kingston HyperX Cloud Alpha Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 06, 2018
HyperX has a very big following with its Cloud series headsets. We are looking at its Cloud Alpha wired headset today. No 7.1 surround, no wireless, no software, no nonsense. Its claim to fame are "Dual Chambered Drivers," and is the exact reason we purchased these for review. Are these worth the $100 price tag?
SilverStone SFX SX650-G 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 02, 2018
SilverStone is back with us today with its new small form factor SX650-G. This one has a bigger fan and a few more connectors than the previous models, so we are expecting great results from this SFX PSU. This one clocks in at 819 watts per liter and does carry a gold efficiency rating. Flat shorty cables are stock with tiny builds in mind.
Logitech G933 7.1 Wireless Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 28, 2018
In our recent discussions about wireless headsets, the Logitech G933 has come up lately as one of the headsets to surely be on your $100 short list. So we bought a set, and have done a good bit gaming, movie watching, and music listening this past week and have a good hold on what the G933 is all about.
MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 28, 2018
MSI’s X470 Gaming M7 AC has a lot going for it with Precision Boost 2. It’s gaming and overclocking focus makes for a compelling option in a competitive sea of motherboard options for AMD’s new Ryzen processors. It has performance and looks as well, and a bit of subtle RGB if that is a checkbox you require.
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance and IQ Preview
By Brent Justice   June 27, 2018
We’ve got early access to The Crew 2 thanks to the Gold Edition, a brand new open-world racing game for the PC. Let’s find out how The Crew 2 performs on today’s GPUs in this preview. We also look at graphics settings and hit a little on Image Quality. Hopefully we will have some insight as we know a lot of readers have been waiting for this game.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Platinum 850W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   June 26, 2018
850 watt computer power supplies from Seasonic are nothing new to us, but Seasonic is taking a bit of a different direction with this Focus line of PSUs. The Focus Plus Platinum has been designed with a small footprint in mind, specifically built for those looking to build high powered small form factor computers like HTPCs.