Articles

All Reviews

AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   September 20, 2018
Ever wonder how much performance you are really getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? What if we took GPUs from AMD and compared performance gained from 2013 to 2018? This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 2 article focusing on the Radeon R9 280X, Radeon R9 380X, Radeon RX 480 and Radeon RX 580 in 15 games.
SilverStone NJ450 450W Fanless Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   September 19, 2018
SilverStone is no stranger to small form factor PC power supplies as it is the most complete supplier of these to the enthusiast PC marketplace. Today SilverStone is adding complete silence to these SFF PSUs with the 450 watt Nightjar. Excellent efficiency makes silence easier, but can the Nightjar stand up to an extremely hot case?
MSI MEG X399 Creation Threadripper Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   September 18, 2018
MSI’s MEG X399 CREATION motherboard gets put to the test like no motherboard we’ve ever reviewed to date. We beat the hell out of this motherboard on all of our test benches over the last month. We used the MEG for most all our Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X testing so we have a good handle on just how good it is.
noblechairs Hero Gaming Chair Build & First Impressions
By Kyle Bennett   September 12, 2018
noblechairs delivered us our most liked office chair in the last year of reviewing chairs. It came to us recently with its new Hero series gaming chair and asked if we wanted to review it. We show you the build process and our first thoughts about the Hero. It looks like it is going to pull off the "gaming" look without all the downside.
Enermax EQUILENCE ATX Case Review
By Zach Throckmorton   September 11, 2018
The Enermax EQUILENCE comes with a lot of promises, mostly that it is silent. In our experiences however, "silent" cases are usually hotter on your hardware. Enermax has looked to figure that out while giving us an unassuming looking case that has tons of cooling options and features built into a very workable form factor.
Arctic Freezer 33 eSports ONE CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   September 10, 2018
The Arctic Freezer 33 eSports ONE is a CPU air cooler that packs some very healthy stats into what is a diminutive package if space is of a concern. Its price is also diminutive at only $30. The Freezer 33 touts a thermal coating that creates "micro-turbulences" in order to give it optimised heat-dissipation and increased cooling performance.
Corsair SPEC-Omega Mid-Tower Gaming Case Review
By Zach Throckmorton   September 07, 2018
The Corsair Carbide SPEC-Omega Mid-Tower Gaming Case comes with what Corsair calls an "asymmetrical, angular, bold and dynamic look" so that you will never confuse it with anything else. Beyond that, we want to know how well it works out for a new build and if can give us enough airflow to keep all our hot hardware nice and cool.
CORSAIR T2 ROAD WARRIOR Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   September 06, 2018
The Corsair T2 Road Warrior Gaming Chair was made with us guys that are a bit taller and wider in mind. It has been built with a wider seat, a wider back, and its bolsters are not as pronounced as those we found on the T1 Race chair. We gave the T2 Road Warrior two months of our attention and these are our experiences.
AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1
By Brent Justice   September 04, 2018
Wonder how much performance you are truly getting from GPU to GPU upgrade in games? We take GPUs from AMD and compare performance gained from 2013 to 2018. This is our AMD GPU Generational Performance Part 1 article focusing on the Radeon R9 290X, Radeon R9 390X, Radeon R9 Fury X, and Radeon RX Vega 64 in 14 games.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   August 31, 2018
We have spent a lot of time understanding the new Threadripper 2950X and how it overclocks. We have put it through the paces using a chiller system, water cooling, and air cooling. We show you what Precision Boost Overdrive and what Precision Boost 2 can push the processor to in terms of stable performance as well as manual overclocking.
NVIDIA Controls AIB Launch and Driver Distribution
By Kyle Bennett   August 28, 2018
Since NVIDIA's GPP program got exposed to the world, there have been a lot of changes over at Team Green in the way information about its company is controlled. After its heavy-handed NDAs have sought to muzzle journalists that work with the company, now it is pushing back on its AIBs in order to control the AIB's actions with reviewers.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Platinum 650W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   August 28, 2018
Seasonic is back again today with another of its mid-tier computer power supplies, this time the Focus Plus is Platinum rated, which seems to be exceptionally good for a "mid-tier" product. It has a small profile, is fully modular, and carries on the Seasonic tradition of quiet quality at a very affordable $100 price, all with a 10 year warranty.
T-FORCE VULCAN & G.SKILL Flare X AM4 Overclocking
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 27, 2018
We take a look at some of the new RAM available for the AMD Ryzen AM4 platform and see how well these work out when it comes to overclockability and timing tweaking. On the test bench today are the Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF Gaming Alliance and G.SKILL Flare X Series RAM, both rated at 3200MHz.
MSI B350I PRO AC Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   August 23, 2018
While we might be late to the party with a B350 review, we were running tests with it and were so impressed we thought we would put it through the full review process. MSI’s B350I PRO AC might just have been worth the wait. How does this inexpensive powerhouse fair against more expensive offerings?
NVIDIA RTX 2080 and 2080 Ti Unclothed
By Kyle Bennett   August 21, 2018
We get a look behind the svelt exterior of the new RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards. While pricing has got a lot of people turned off, the tech in these new cards is getting us a bit excited. NVIDIA has turned up its Founders Edition cards and even overclocked these. Will this push the AIBs even harder?
Threadripper 2990WX - 2950X & Wraith Ripper DIY Install
By Kyle Bennett   August 20, 2018
Installing your new Threadripper is quite a bit different from any CPU you have likely encountered. However, it is a fairly easy task if you have seen it done before. Since we know many of you will be doing this for the first time, we have updated our Threadripper Installation DIY with a few tips and tricks that will get your on your way.
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 3
By Brent Justice   August 16, 2018
In Part 3 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance article we are going to compare the GeForce GTX 780 Ti upgrade advantage from GeForce GTX 780, and GeForce GTX 980 Ti from GeForce GTX 980 and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti from GeForce GTX 1080. We will see how much each "Ti" version offered in terms of a performance upgrade.
Corsair RM750x 750W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   August 15, 2018
Corsair has been bumping up its street cred lately with PSU designs that are up to HardOCP standards. Today we have its latest 2018 version of the RM series PSU rated at 750 watts. It features Gold efficiency, a fully modular design, has a 10 year warranty, and carries with it a fully modular design, all for the price of $110.
Cooler Master ML360R RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   August 14, 2018
If it is Frag Harder Disco Lights you want, then Cooler Master ML360R RGB All-In-One CPU liquid cooler has that in spades. RGB is nice and all, but how does this AIO do where the rubber meets the road? We strap the ML360R RGB to our highly over-volted and overclocked Ryzen 7 processor and find out.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   August 13, 2018
AMD teased us a bit last week by showing off its new 2nd Generation Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X packaging and specifications. This week AMD lets us show off the new Threadripper. The 2990WX is likely a lot different part than many people were expecting, and it turns out that it might usher AMD into a newly created market.
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   August 08, 2018
Seasonic's PRIME ULTRA TITANIUM is at the very tip top of its PSU product stack, and its product stack is likely the deepest in the industry when it comes to quality computer power supplies for gamers and enthusiast users that truly push their PCs on a normal basis. Is this 850 watt PSU worthy of your hard earned PSU dollars?
NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance Part 2
By Brent Justice   August 07, 2018
In Part 2 of our NVIDIA GPU Generational Performance evaluation today we are going to cover the GeForce GTX 780 Ti, GeForce GTX 980 Ti, and GeForce GTX 1080 Ti. We will test all three video cards in fourteen games at 1440p and 4K to see how performance has evolved over the past five years from GPU to GPU.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X Unboxing
By Kyle Bennett   August 06, 2018
AMD is allowing us to pull back the curtain on it upcoming Generation 2 Threadripper packaging. The new model 2900WX and 2950X CPUs will certainly not be missed on retail shelves and this time the CPUs have a sort of "collector's case" for those of us enthusiasts that like to display such things. It also works a lot better than it did last time around.
AMD Launches B450 Chipset for Socket AM4
By Kyle Bennett   August 01, 2018
AMD has a new chipset that will further leverage the AM4 socket and every Ryzen CPU produced, however not some to the fullest. The differences between the B450 and the B350 are small at best. However, like the B350 the new B450 based boards are certainly shooting for the budget system arena and will likely do well there.