Articles

All Reviews

XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   November 15, 2018
AMD is launching the new Radeon RX 590 GPU today, and we have a custom XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy OC+ video card to evaluate. With a high factory overclock, and potential for overclocking, we will compare this video card with the EVGA GTX 1060 SSC overclocked and test at 1080p and 1440p gaming.
NVIDIA on the Cause of RTX 2080 Series Card Failures
By cageymaru   November 14, 2018
If you are a fan of games and computer hardware, especially GPUs, you have undoubtedly seen anecdotal evidence that NVIDIA's new RTX 2080 series cards are failing due to artifacting, simply stopping working, and in some cases actually catching on fire. Now it seems that NVIDIA is owning up to there actually being an issue with its new RTX cards.
Intel Core i9-9980XE vs AMD Ryzen Threadripper
By Kyle Bennett   November 13, 2018
Today Intel is kicking off its newest High End Desktop processor, the Intel Core i9-9980XE Extreme Edition. This 14nm Skylake-X CPU boasts 18 Cores and 36 Threads and has an expected retail price of $1979. We compare the i9-9980XE to AMD's entire line of Threadripper CPUs to see where the 9980XE sits in the HEDT stack.
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FAILS After Gaming for 2 Hours
By Kyle Bennett   November 09, 2018
I have bought and owned NVIDIA graphics cards for a long time. There has been a lot of talk about the RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition failing lately, a lot of that just being anecdotal. After playing games for two hours this evening this is what I was met with. Unlucky? Or do RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition video cards have some issues?
GIGABYTE AORUS P850W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   November 08, 2018
It has been over two years since we did our one and only power supply review with the GIGABYTE namesake. GIGABYTE is once again stepping up to the plate, this time with an AORUS branded unit, which tells us it is supposed to be "POWER OVERWHELMING." This unit comes from a relatively unknown OEM, so how will this AORUS stack up?
AKRacing Onyx Office Chair Build and First Impressions
By Kyle Bennett   November 07, 2018
We unbox and build the AKRacing Onyx Office Chair. This is a high-end office chair with plenty of size for us big guys. It has several features that stand out over some of our previous chairs reviewed, namely this one be upholstered in "top grain" leather. Let's see how it all goes together and what our first week's impressions are.
Frank Azor VP of Alienware Interview
By Johnny Gatt   November 07, 2018
We got the chance to catch up with Alienware's Frank Azor down at PAX 2018 in Australia recently. He was kind enough to sit down with us and give us a 30 minute candid interview about where Alienware came from, and where it is today, and where he expects Alienware to be going in the future.
ASUS ROG STRIX B450-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   November 01, 2018
ASUS’ budget entry into the AM4 Ryzen mini-ITX world certainly has a lot going for it. With so many great mini-ITX motherboards coming from this company, expectations for the ROG STRIX B450-I Gaming are high. This small form factor motherboard lets us overclock as well. We put it to the test and find out just how well it does for $150?
Corsair H115i RGB Platinum All-In-One CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   October 31, 2018
Corsair is today releasing its "best ever" All-In-One CPU cooler that it has ever built. It has all the Hydro Series AIO features that we are used to hearing about, only now those are better or there are more of them. How can anyone argue with 24 Frag Harder Disco Lights built into your CPU cooler? But seriously, how does it cool?
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   October 31, 2018
We’ve put the new ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti video card to the test, pushing the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GPU at 4K in twelve games default and overclocked against an MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X TRIO also default, and overclocked to find the real value. All real-world gaming, no canned benchmarks.
Audeze Mobius Gaming Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 26, 2018
Audeze is a well known name in the headphone world, and it recently used crowdfunding to fund its first foray into the world of gaming headsets. We are reviewing the Mobius headset that promises us that it is more than a headphone, "it's an experience." For $400 we want to know exactly what kind of experience it gives us when it comes to gameplay.
ASUS ROG STRIX B360-I Gaming Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 23, 2018
It seems there is a new mini-ITX motherboard model every time you turn around. We’ve often looked at the higher end of the spectrum on these little power houses. This time we switch gears and look at a more budget oriented option than we are used to, how does this $128 motherboard hold up to its more expensive brethren?
RTX 2070 vs RTX 2080 vs GTX 1080 Ti vs GTX 1070
By Brent Justice   October 22, 2018
We took our world exclusive non-NDA RTX 2070 review and compared that card directly to the GTX 1080 Ti and GTX 1070 cards, both overclocked. Thrown into the mix is the RTX 2080. Our real world gameplay will fully expose the landscape of rasterized gaming and what you should be considering purchasing, if anything for your gaming needs.
Intel Core i9-9900K 9th Generation CPU Review
By Kyle Bennett   October 19, 2018
The new 9th generation Intel i9-9900K CPU is upon us! AMD has been pushing into Intel's desktop market and Intel knows it. Today Intel is pulling the curtain back on "not paid for" reviews and we are happy to be serving you one of those up here today. Is the i9-9900K better than the Ryzen 7 2700X, and is it worth the staggering price premium?
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Gold 550W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   October 17, 2018
Small computer power supplies that are entirely modular are the cornerstone of Seasonic's Focus Plus series. We are reviewing the Gold variant today rated at 550 watts that has a modern design and with hybrid silent fan control with a fluid dynamic bearing fan. Is the smallest PSU in the Focus Plus series making the cut?
MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z Performance Review
By Brent Justice   October 14, 2018
We have an exclusive first look at performance of the new MSI GeForce RTX 2070 GAMING Z video cards sporting the new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 GPU. We will be comparing performance to a MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X and ASUS ROG STRIX Vega 64 OC video cards in eight games at 1440p and 4K.
Noctua AMD Threadripper Air Cooler Roundup
By Kyle Bennett   October 09, 2018
We take all three Noctua air coolers built for AMD Threadripper CPUs and put these to the test on both the 2950X and 2990WX. We run the NH-U14S, NH-U12S, and NH-U9 through the paces with both Precision Boost 2 and Precision Boost Overdrive using multiple fan configurations and compare these to the Silver Arrow and Wraith Ripper too.
GIGABYTE X399 Aorus Xtreme TR4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   October 04, 2018
GIGABYTE expands its Threadripper lineup with its X399 Aorus Xtreme motherboard. This motherboard has a solid, professional focused feature set, and has a lot to offer. We’ve seen some amazing socket TR4 motherboards thus far so the X399 Aorus Xtreme has a lot of competition. We did get to use the Xtreme for a lot of Threadripper testing.
Thermalright ARO-M14G Ryzen AM4 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   October 02, 2018
Thermalright is known for low cost CPU air coolers that will get a job done. Its new ARO-M14G is a bit different in form factor than what we are used to seeing from the company, but it claims to have built this heatsink specifically for AMD's Ryzen socket AM4 CPUs. It even goes as far as to suggest it is suitable for fanless operation.
Thermaltake Toughpower GX1 700W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   October 01, 2018
Thermaltake is no stranger to HardOCP when it comes to making Toughpower PSUs. We have used these for years ourselves. The newest Toughpower is part of Thermaltake's GX1 series. This GX1 700 watt unit touts Gold level efficiency, a fluid dynamic bearing fan, and is oddly not modular in any way, which is something very unusual in today's market.
Threadripper Air Coolers-Silver Arrow TR4 vs. Wraith Ripper
By Kyle Bennett   September 28, 2018
Cooling the AMD Threadripper CPUs is not to be taken for granted. We pit the Thermalright Silver Arrow TR4 against the Cooler Master Wraith Ripper using both the Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX and 2950X processors. We show you how both these air coolers perform using Precision Boost 2 and Precision Boost Overdrive.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 4K Preview
By Brent Justice   September 27, 2018
We look at real-world gaming performance on an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 custom retail factory overclocked video cards at 4K resolution. In this preview we will compare performance in five games at 4K with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE and GeForce GTX 1080 FE.
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti and 2080 1440p Preview
By Brent Justice   September 23, 2018
We look at gaming performance on ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 Ti and ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce RTX 2080 overclocked video cards at 1440p. In this preview we will compare performance in five graphically intensive games with a GeForce GTX 1080 Ti and GeForce GTX 1080. All real-world gameplay compared. No canned benchmarks.
GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition Overclocking Final
By Kyle Bennett   September 23, 2018
We finally got in the RTX 2080 video cards we purchased, and we have been putting those to good use. While Brent is banging out a real-world gameplay preview, I have been seeing just where our RTX 2080 Founders Edition ends up in terms of overclocking. We finally got a solid handle on what our particular Turing GPU and memory are capable of.