Articles

Reviews

Your Mail in Rebate May Be In Jeopardy
By Kyle Bennett   November 13, 2008
If you use mail in rebates for virtually any product in North America, you will want to read up on this and start making sure your money is safe.
Western Digital VelociRaptor Showcase
By Kyle Bennett   April 21, 2008
Many hard drive enthusiasts have been waiting for the next in the Western Digital Raptor series of storage. Today we have a quick look at the VelociRaptor. A 300GB hard drive that is sort of crazy, but aimed at being really cool.
Our Powermonkey Experiences
By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2008
Stuck in the back of a cab or at the airport or in a client's office with a dead phone or PDA? Power Monkey swoops in to the rescue by charging up just about any mobile device you have with you. And a solar panel for the tree huggers too!
NVIDIAآ’s Enthusiast System Architecture
By Kyle Bennett   November 05, 2007
NVIDIA's ESA promises to deliver some system monitoring tools that reach into system areas that are normally left untouched. Extending a reach into monitoring your PSU, chassis, and cooling system looks to be a very welcome addition to enthusiast hardware.
Matrox TripleHead2Go Digital Edition
By Brent Justice   September 24, 2007
Multi-display gaming has never looked so good. We evaluate the new Matrox TrippleHead2Go Digital Edition which spreads your games across multiple-displays. We will look at features, show screenshots, test performance including SLI, and share our gameplay experiences.
The New Commodore Rocks آ– Because I Said So!
By Kyle Bennett   September 11, 2007
Commodore Gaming comes to HardOCP looking to get some free press about its new gaming machines in North America. Check out what happens when you ask this tech company to back up its performance claims. You wanted free press, here ya go!
Corsair DDR3 Product Preview @ 2GHz
By Kyle Bennett   August 02, 2007
We showcase the future of DDR3 using Corsairآ’s next generation DDR3 memory that scales to 2GHz clock speeds. We also discuss pricing, real world expectations, and the DDR3 memory module market in general in our first DDR3 memory article.
TrackIR 4 Pro Point-of-View Headset
By Jason Wall   July 11, 2007
This infrared motion tracking system gets clipped onto your headset or visor and allows you to change your POV in-game by merely moving your head. This is a great idea, but does it work, and who is it for?
Dell Dimension E521
By Jason Wall   July 03, 2007
Dell has been our most-frequently evaluated integrator, but weآ’ve never had a Dell system quite like this one. It has an AMD processor and sells for for about $1000. We find out if itآ’s a good budget buy and if it will tolerate a third-party hardware upgrade.
Computex Day 3 Pictures
By Kyle Bennett   June 11, 2007
We share with you some of the sights of Computex in Taipei, Taiwan last week.
Computex Day 2 Pictures
By Kyle Bennett   June 10, 2007
We share with you some of the sights of Computex in Taipei, Taiwan last week.
Computex Day 1 Pictures
By Kyle Bennett   June 06, 2007
We share with you some of the sights of Computex in Taipei, Taiwan this week.
30 Days with Mac OS X
By Brian Boyko   June 05, 2007
It's supposedly the best of both worlds - the stability and security of a Unix operating system with an easy end-user interface. It's Mac OS X, and we spend 30 days using it to find out what Apple has to offer over Windows. The "30 Days" saga continues...
XP vs. Vista - A Tale of Framerates: Redux
By Jason Wall   June 05, 2007
We recently published an article comparing framerate performance in XP versus Vista on NVIDIA hardware. Our readership wanted to see what ATI could do with the same task so that we could see if Vista was really to blame for what we saw.
AMD's Griffin Processor & Puma Mobile Platform
By Kyle Bennett   May 18, 2007
We got the skinny on the upcoming Griffin Mobile platform that will be offered by AMD in the future. While Griffin is not truly an enthusiast body of work, these slides do contain some very forward looking information.
XP vs. Vista - A Tale of Framerates
By Jason Wall   May 07, 2007
Seldom has the rumor mill turned faster than when gamers talk about gaming in Vista. Some folks are staying away from the new OS simply because they feel it doesnآ’t game well. We set out to put some hard numbers on those claims.
Puget Computers Custom System
By Josh Norem   May 03, 2007
Puget Custom Computers is a boutique builder from the Great Northwest that specializes in quiet, custom, hardcore machines. Its previous machines that weآ’ve seen have been hobbled by one thing or another, so we decided to check in and see if things are improving.
State of the Silicon Union - Q207
By Kyle Bennett   April 30, 2007
Where are AMD, Intel, and NVIDIA headed? We give our thoughts and predictions about what is going to happen in the computer technology market place over the next few years.
Alienware Aurora 7500-R4
By Gary Huff   April 18, 2007
The latest system to pass under the [H] microscope is a Vista machine equipped with an AMD processor. Is the combination of gaming hardware and Windows Vista an out-of-this-world experience or an extraterrestrial headache?
Top 12 Vista Tweaks
By Josh Norem   April 16, 2007
We've filtered and sorted through the hundreds of Vista hints and tweaks to find the ones that we think the most readers will find useful. While Vista still feels new, these hints and tweaks might help you settle into your OS.
Maingear X-Cube
By Tim Roper   April 11, 2007
Last year's winner for Best Boutique Integrator returns with a small form-factor gaming box. Will the X-Cube live up to Maingear's high reputation, or will unexepected problems throw a monkeywrench into the works?
30 Days with PlayStation 3
By HardOCP News   April 09, 2007
After long delays, even longer lines and shortages that have only recently begun to subside, Sony's next generation console is finally here. [H] Console spent 30 days with the PlayStation 3 and we share our thoughts on this month long journey.
Rebuilding the Beast
By Kyle Bennett   April 06, 2007
A quick write-up outlining my personal system upgrade that has been a long time coming. Stepping up to a Core 2 Duo and an 8800 just in time for STALKER!
30 Days with Windows Vista
By Brian Boyko   April 04, 2007
Comparisons, conjecture, and controversy. Microsoft's new operating system is here, but is it ready for primetime? We spend 30 days with Windows Vista to see if it's worth the leap or if Microsoft should go back to the drawing board.