Articles

Reviews

Intel 335 Series 240 GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   February 05, 2013
Intel has released its new Intel 335 Series SSDs featuring 20nm MLC NAND and a SandForce SF-2281 processor. Its new MLC NAND boasts impressive power and write specifications. This SSD is geared for the budget market, but will it be able to compete with low-cost TLC alternatives?
Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   January 28, 2013
The Kingston SSDNow V300 is yet another value-oriented SSD in Kingston's wildly successful line of mainstream solid state drives. With the pressures of TLC SSDs squeezing the value market we take a look and see if a standard MLC SSD with 19nm Toshiba Toggle NAND and an SF-2281 processor can keep up with the changing times.
Samsung 840 Series 500GB TLC SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   January 02, 2013
Samsung has released the first TLC NAND equipped SSDs into the market, creating the lowest price points we have witnessed for SSDs bringing large capacity SSDs within reach for average users. Today we test the 500GB TLC Samsung 840 Series SSD to test the performance in steady state of a large capacity TLC Solid State Drive.
Samsung 840 Series TLC 250GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   December 19, 2012
Samsung leads the way by introducing the world's first SSD equipped with TLC NAND into the market. The Samsung 250GB 840 Series SSD looks to shake up the market by providing an excellent dollar-to-performance ratio by leveraging low cost NAND and the high-powered MDX controller. Does its performance equal the value expectation?
Samsung 840 Pro SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   December 10, 2012
Samsung releases its new 21nm NAND and MDX controller in one formidable package. Throwing the weight of its NAND foundry and engineering expertise into the push for dominance of the high end results in a compelling product. We take a look at the Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD and its performance.
OCZ Vector 256GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   November 27, 2012
OCZ soft launches the 256GB Vector SSD with its first OCZ-proprietary controller, the Barefoot 3. Geared for steady state performance, the OCZ Vector SSD is designed with the end user in mind. Today we take a look at the Vector and the new controller architecture and see how these fare in our steady state testing.
Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   November 14, 2012
The Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB and its LAMD Amber controller represent the next generation of high capacity SSDs. Typically large SSDs suffer performance degradation compared to smaller counterparts, and today we test the Neutron GTX with its Toshiba Toggle NAND to see if this holds true with Corsairs next generation controllers.
SanDisk Extreme SSD Storage Review
By Hugh Briggs   November 01, 2012
The SanDisk Extreme 240GB is SanDisk's SandForce-powered SSD. Featuring Toggle Mode NAND and the SF-2181 with the latest firmware we give the SanDisk Extreme a spin. How does it stand up to its enthusiast competitors in terms of steady state and out of the box performance?
Plextor M5 Pro SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   October 24, 2012
Plextor brings the M5 Pro with the new Marvell Monet controller powering its banks of high performance Toshiba Toggle NAND. This is the debut of the first SSD with 19nm Toshiba Toggle NAND, the debutof the new Marvell Monet 88SS9187-BLD2 controller. We take a look and see what these new components bring to the table.
SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   October 17, 2012
SanDisk enters the caching solution market with the SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD. This SSD provides instant acceleration to users' computers through intelligent software provided by Condusiv Technologies and hardware from SanDisk. By adding two tiers of data storage, both SSD and RAM, this solution looks promising.
OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB Solid State Hard Drive SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   October 04, 2012
The Vertex 4 is a departure from OCZ's tried and true model of using third party controllers and firmware for its SSDs. Taking control of the firmware with the Vertex 4 gives OCZ the ability to tune the SSDs for speed and performance at lower queue depths and optimize for low latency. We test to see if the Everest 2 Platform delivers.
Patriot Gauntlet Node Review - Portable Wireless & Powered
By Hugh Briggs   September 20, 2012
The Gauntlet Node from Patriot is designed to provide extra storage to mobile users. The ability for any 2.5" HDD or SSD to operate wirelessly as a hot-spot for up to 8 users and to provide a shared data pool is compelling. It does feature support for Android and iOS devices natively. We test the Gauntlet Node to see if it delivers.
Corsair Neutron Series GTX 240GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   September 11, 2012
Corsair and LAMD aim to bring the heat with the enthusiast class Neutron GTX SSD. The new LAMD controller paired with Toshiba Toggle NAND looks to dominate the upper echelon of the performance SSD market. Today we take a look to see how it fares in our steady state testing.
Corsair Neutron Series 240GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   September 04, 2012
Corsair innovates as the first company to market a consumer LAMD controlled SSD. While the Corsair line currently utilizes both of the highest performing controllers on the market, the new LAMD controller has generated more than its fair share of interest, so we take a look and see how the newest entrant to the SSD realm fares.
Corsair Accelerator 30GB & 60GB Caching SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   August 15, 2012
One of the hottest applications for consumer SSDs is using data caching to accelerate the performance of traditional spinning hard disks in your PC. We look at Corsairs Accelerator Series of caching SSDs to test the performance of these value-centric approaches to providing you a better computing experience.
Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   August 02, 2012
We are reviewing the Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD. Corsair provides enthusiasts with both sides of the SSD controller coin by offering Marvell and SandForce controlled SSDs in its product lines. Today we will take a look at the SandForce option with its SandForce SF-2282 controller paired with high-performance IMFT synchronous NAND.
Kingston HyperX 3K Series 240GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   July 11, 2012
Kingston has realized tremendous success with their original HyperX line of premium SSDs for enthusiasts. With the SSD market becoming more value-driven, Kingston has responded with a new HyperX 3K model. Today we will look at the performance of the newest member of the Kingston family.
Corsair Performance Seriesآ™ Pro 256GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   June 07, 2012
Today we review the 256GB Corsair Performance Pro SSD. Corsair provides enthusiasts with both sides of the SSD controller coin by offering both Marvell and SandForce controlled SSDs in its product lines. Today we will take a look at the Marvell powered 256GB SSD and the Toshiba Toggle NAND that Corsair has chosen for it.
Kingston HyperX SSD 240GB & 120GB SSD Storage Review
By Chris Ramseyer   August 17, 2011
Kingston's move into the SandForce SSD market is great news for the consumer. With its new HyperX branded solid state drives in hand, we take a look at these amazingly fast SSDs and examine if an SSD from Kingston should be on your short list for your next storage purchase.
NAND Flash Faces Off - Synchronous vs. Asynchronous
By Chris Ramseyer   August 07, 2011
News flash! All flash NAND is not created equal! Sure, you know about multi-level and single-level NAND when it comes to speed, but what about synchronous and asynchronous NAND inside your shiny new SSD? We have answers and tell you where your money is best spent for real data speed.
OCZ Technology Vertex 3 SSD 120GB and 240GB Review
By Chris Ramseyer   June 27, 2011
Today we take a look at the OCZ Technology Vertex 3 in both 120GB and 240GB capacities. The Vertex 3 was the first SF-2000 based client SSD to hit the market in 2011 and such will be the product in which all others will be judged against. The Vertex 3 is capable of transferring data at 550+MB/s.
Intel Smart Response Technology - SRT
By Chris Ramseyer   May 11, 2011
Cache I/O isn't a new advancement in storage technology but does play a large role in the future of storage on many Intel systems. Today we look at Intel's new Smart Response Technology and give our thoughts while keeping an eye on the future of consumer storage advances.
SSD RAID scaling under Windows 7
By Marc Adams   July 06, 2009
What can you expect when you get your new Windows 7 install working with those crisp new solid state hard drives? SSD drives are not what they used to be already. And just how is that Intel ICH10R chipset serving you?
Intel's New Solid State Drive - Video Review
By Kyle Bennett   September 25, 2008
A lot of smart people have said a lot of smart things about Intel's new 80GB Solid State Drive recently sampled to the media. But some of the basic questions I had on my mind were left unchecked, like, "Is it really faster, or is that just what HDTach tells you on a graph?" We get out the stop watch and a 5-disk RAID array and go to town.