Articles

Reviews

Astro Gaming A50 Wireless Headset & Base Station Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 15, 2018
As wireless gaming headsets go, the Astro Gaming A50 comes in at the very high end when it comes to price. These will cost you $300, which is a pretty penny when it comes to upping your gaming experience. We wanted to give the Astro A50 a go and see if it is in any way worth the asking price. We were pleasantly surprised, and let down.
Kingston HyperX Cloud Alpha Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 06, 2018
HyperX has a very big following with its Cloud series headsets. We are looking at its Cloud Alpha wired headset today. No 7.1 surround, no wireless, no software, no nonsense. Its claim to fame are "Dual Chambered Drivers," and is the exact reason we purchased these for review. Are these worth the $100 price tag?
Logitech G933 7.1 Wireless Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 28, 2018
In our recent discussions about wireless headsets, the Logitech G933 has come up lately as one of the headsets to surely be on your $100 short list. So we bought a set, and have done a good bit gaming, movie watching, and music listening this past week and have a good hold on what the G933 is all about.
Alienware Wireless Gaming Headset: AW988 Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 12, 2018
We have spent the last few days living with the Alienware AW988 headset perched on our head and have gotten a very good idea of what the first headset from Alienware in nine years is all about. We gamed, we watched movies, and we listened to a lot of music. We tell you how it did and all the features and build quality.
Corsair HS70 Wireless Headset Review
By Wayne Stovall   June 04, 2018
If you are a gamer, which we know most HardOCP readers are, a good headset is likely your lifeline in any online game when it comes to communicating with your teammates or even your adversaries. We have been using Corsair's new HS70 for a month now and wanted to share our experiences with this $100 offering.
Sound Blaster AXX 200 Wireless Sound System Review
By Earl Keim   March 19, 2014
With its unusual vertical, compact design, Creative's new flagship stereo speaker system features touch controls and a multitude of wired and wireless connectivity options for your mobile phone, tablet, Mac, and PC. Today, we will tell you if there is enough room in the "mix" for great sound as well.
Audio-Technica ATH-ANC9 QuietPointآ® Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   October 03, 2012
Noise-cancelling headphones are very popular with frequent travelers and those who live or work in noisy environments. Audio-Technica's new ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint headphones supply you with three modes of operation that have impressed us to say the least. Now you can get on with grinding in peace.
Soul by Ludacris SL150 & SL300 Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   August 20, 2012
Rapper Ludacris is the latest celebrity to endorse a line of trendy headphones and ear buds. Will his name and manufacturer Signeo's product design come to signify quality audio products with cutting edge looks or are these just two more pairs of glossy plastic headphones with exaggerated bass beats?
Audio-Technica ATH-M50S Studio Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   July 26, 2012
A-T's M50S studio heapdhones are designed to reproduce the aspects of their source audio with extreme accuracy. We will tell you how this product's sound signature affects your PC audio experience when paired with a dedicated sound card.
ASUS DGX, DSX, & Xonar ROG Phoebus Sound Cards
By Earl Keim   July 09, 2012
Asus recently released it's new flagship gaming sound card, the ROG Xonar Phoebus, as well as updated PCI-Express versions of its popular DG and DS sound cards. All three of these cards feature quality components for products in their respective price ranges. Today, we will tell you exactly what each card may bring to your PC audio experience.
Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review
By Earl Keim   June 26, 2012
Corsair's newest PC USB gaming headset shares a similar appearance and feature set with some of its older siblings, but this new model features wireless connectivity. Today, we will tell you if wireless could be the way to go when you choose your next gaming headset that also does a very good job with movies and music as well.
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Sound Card Review
By Earl Keim   May 01, 2012
Creative's latest Sound Blaster flagship sound card features its new SoundCore3D chipset along with a powerful headphone amplifier, a beam forming microphone, and the return of the company's popular front panel audio I/O bay. Is this card a worthy successor to its Audigy and X-Fi brethren?
Audio-Techinca ATH-A900 Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   February 13, 2012
Audio-Technica's open headphones are known to gamers for the wearing comfort and huge soundstage that these provide, but the open back models simply lack bass and isolation. Today, we will see if a pricey pair of the company's closed back audiophile headphones can offer the compromise many of you are looking for in PC audio.
Corsair Vengeance 1300 and 1500 Gaming Headsets Review
By Earl Keim   December 12, 2011
Corsair recently released its second generation of USB 5.1 and analog 2.0 gaming headsets. One model features a new software interface while both carry a redesigned appearance and Corsair's well-known Vengeance branding. We will tell you what both of these headsets may bring to your PC audio experience.
Creative X-FI HD USB Sound Card Review
By Earl Keim   September 20, 2011
Creative's latest sound card is an external model that sports a USB interface and boasts high quality digital, analog, and dedicated headphone connectivity options. We tell you if this may be the audio upgrade that laptop users and those of you with no free expansion slots in your desktop PC have been looking for.
Thermaltake Shock One Gaming Headset Review-In Progress
By Earl Keim   September 14, 2011
While Thermaltake may be a familiar brand name to PC enthusiasts, the company is one of the newest competitors in the PC gaming headset market. Today, we take its USB model, featuring DTS Surround, for a spin in order to tell you if it is worth your hard earned dollar or if the competition in this segment of the PC audio market is simply too steep already.
Beats by Dr. Dre Studio Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   August 11, 2011
Few brands of headphones have achieved popularity and consumer adoption as quickly as Monster's Beats by Dre series. We recently purchased our own pair of the Beats' Studio Edition headphones to tell you if these are merely marketing fluff or the "real deal."
Audio-Technica ATH-AD900 Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   July 01, 2011
Audio-Technica's headphones are known to PC enthusiasts for the precision, positionality, and soundstage that these reproduce when used for gaming. Today, we will examine one of its pricier models. If you look for quality over cost, you will definitely want to know what these headphones bring to your PC listening experience.
Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker System Review
By Earl Keim   June 03, 2011
Corsair's new line of audio products have quickly made the company a worthy brand choice for consumers and a strong competitor for its rivals in the PC audio market. Can the company's first budget entry continue the trend?
ARCTIC Headsets and Headphones Review
By Earl Keim   May 09, 2011
ARCTIC is well known for its processor air coolers and its fans alike. In the last couple of years it has greatly diversified its product line to include products from remote control toy cars to computer audio headphones. Today we look at three of its headphone and headset products and let you know the value of those.
Corsair Gaming Audio Seriesآ™ HS1A Headset Review
By Earl Keim   April 14, 2011
Corsair is back with a new HS1A analog headset sporting massive 50mm drivers, closed-back ear cups, and memory foam ear pads primarily designed for gaming. But Corsair tells us that these do not sacrifice "precision audio response (for) your favorite media." Let's see if these hold up in gaming as well as movies and music.
Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G Sound Card Review
By Earl Keim   March 09, 2011
Auzentech promises to deliver the second generation high performance PCI audio card that will let you know the difference between audio that sounds great and audio that sounds perfect. We put Auzentech's new card to the test.
Sound Blaster Tactic3D Sigma Gaming Headset Review
By Earl Keim   February 16, 2011
Creative and Sound Blaster are longtime name brands when it comes to personal computer sound products and recently it has been diversifying even more. One the heels of its WoW headset, now comes the Tactic 3D Sigma. Worth your hard earned money?
soundscience rockusآ™ 3D | 2.1 Speaker Review
By Earl Keim   February 10, 2011
Antec diversifies into audio with a new brand named "soundscience designed by Antec." Its first and currently only product is the rockusآ™ 3D | 2.1 speaker system. While the guys at soundscience aren't much on capitalization, let's see if they took the time to build a solid set of speakers for your PC.