Articles

All Reviews

Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB RAM Experiences
By Kyle Bennett   February 20, 2019
Corsair is adding a huge 64GB RAM kit that many enthusiast High End Desk Top users might be interested in. We take the new Dominator Platinum RGB DIMMs for a ride on both Intel X299 and AMD X399 systems and see how the clocks shake out. And of course, enough Frag Harder Disco Lights to illuminate your house.
Alphacool GPX Eisblock Unboxing and Experiences
By Kyle Bennett   February 19, 2019
Alphacool has always made a great showing when it comes to water cooling our hot video cards. The company has recently updated its Eisblock series of GPU water blocks to include models made for NVIDIA's RTX series of cards featuring the Turing GPUs. We show you these new blocks and tell you about our first experiences with those.
AMD Radeon VII Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   February 14, 2019
The AMD Radeon VII has been launched and we take it through its paces in eight games compared to an MSI GeForce RTX 2080 VENTUS video card dollar-to-dollar at $699.99, and throw in the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Founders Edition as well for a complete comparison. Only real gameplay tested as usual.
ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE II Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 12, 2019
The ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II is an ultra-feature rich solution for today’s discerning computing enthusiast. It does not wear ROG branding, and is clad in white shrouding, letting you know that this is a PRIME motherboard. Is it a bargain priced motherboard? Nope. This one comes in at $500. Let's see if it is worth it.
Seasonic FOCUS SGX-650 650W SFX-L PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   February 11, 2019
Seasonic is FOCUSing more on small footprint high output power supplies, and the new FOCUS SGX series is targeting the small form factor market once again. This beefy 650 watt unit is fully modular, packs a 10 year warranty, is diminutive in size, had good efficiency, and comes complete with an ATX adapter plate as well.
AMD Radeon VII Unboxing and Teardown Video
By Kyle Bennett   February 04, 2019
We show you what is inside the new AMD Radeon VII reviewer's kit, and then breakdown the entire video card to show you what is under that sleek new shroud.
Corsair SF450 (2018) 450W SFX Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   February 01, 2019
The Corsair SF450 SFX is, as you might have guessed from the "SFX" part number, a computer PSU built specifically with small form factor systems in mind. Corsair promises high power density along with "low noise," which are two qualities that many SFF builders are likely looking for. It also brings has Platinum level efficiency and is fully modular.
MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z Video Card Review
By Brent Justice   January 30, 2019
We’ve got a fast factory overclocked MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z video card to review today. We’ll take it through its paces in many games, and find out how it performs, including overclocking performance with the competition. Does the RTX 2060 deliver better performance at a lower price compared to the last generation?
ASUS ROG THOR 1200W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   January 21, 2019
ASUS is getting back into the computer power supply game in a big way. Today we have the Republic of Gamers Thor 1200 that promises to allow you to "HARNESS THUNDER." This is a massive 1200 watt PSU and the first thing that will catch your eye is the OLED panel that will tell you just how much power you're using at the moment.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2060 Performance
By Brent Justice   January 20, 2019
The new NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 GPU is the least expensive GPU to support NVIDIA Ray Tracing at $349 MSRP. What kind of real-world ray traced performance can it deliver in Battlefield V multiplayer with DXR turned on? We take a very fast MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6GB video card and find out. Will it just work?
ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 17, 2019
ASUS brings us the one of it most aesthetically pleasing and expensive Z390 motherboards this generation. Even if you have no interest in spending a ton of money on an LGA 1151 motherboard, you will want to give this Formula a look as it certainly shows us that ASUS is not sitting around on its thumbs on the high end.
AMD Radeon VII Interview with Scott Herkelman
By Kyle Bennett   January 14, 2019
We had the opportunity to talk to Scott Herkelman at AMD about the new Radeon VII GPU at CES 2019, and he was kind enough to answer questions that we had. We get his thoughts on the new Radeon VII, its full specifications and die size, FreeSync, multi-GPU, 16GB of HBM2, AMD getting back into direct retail sales of video cards, and more.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing: i9-9900K CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 13, 2019
We delve a bit deeper into Battlefield V testing and what all impacts your ability to play multiplayer with your brand new NVIDIA RTX video card with all the shiny Ray Tracing bits turned on. In this fifth installment, we head back to give a quick look at just how CPU width in terms of cores and threads impact your gameplay. Clock is still king at the high end.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Ti Performance
By Brent Justice   January 07, 2019
How many frames will NVIDIA Ray Tracing cost you in Battlefield V with the RTX 2080 Ti? We take an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 Ti OC and turn on NVIDIA Ray Tracing in BFV Multiplayer at 1080p, 1440p, and 4K to find out. We test VRAM capacity, which reveals something very important that can impact NVIDIA Ray Tracing performance.
ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero Z390 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   January 06, 2019
Taking a queue from Hollywood, ASUS brings us another sequel to its long running ROG franchise with its Maximus XI Hero. While most movie sequels never live up to the original, computer hardware usually improves on the previous iteration. However, that’s not always the case. Is that the case here? Read on and find out.
MSI X399 Creation Threadripper Build - Start to Finish
By Kyle Bennett   January 05, 2019
Building a new computer for yourself is always fun. We had the chance to do it ourselves recently, and we decided to document the entire process on video. We use the MSI MEG X399 Creation motherboard and the MSI RTX 2080 Sea Hawk as the backbone of our system along with an AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing - CPU Testing
By Kyle Bennett   January 02, 2019
We have been doing some deep dives into playing Battlefield V 64-person multiplayer lately and testing what exactly the cost of using NVIDIA Ray Tracing is in terms of framerate performance using new NVIDIA RTX 2070 and RTX 2080 cards. We did get questioned on using a 5GHz overclocked 7700K instead of the suggested CPU that EA recommends.
Seasonic FOCUS SGX-450 450W SFX-L PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   December 31, 2018
Seasonic is delving deeper into the small form factor end of the power supply pool with its new FOCUS SGX. The SGX-450 has a 125mm x 125mm footprint, is supplied with an ATX adapter bracket, is fully modular, carries Gold efficiency certification, and comes with Seasonic's rock solid 10 year warranty.
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2080 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 25, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
MSI Sea Hawk RTX 2080 Overclocking
By Kyle Bennett   December 20, 2018
MSI sent over its new Sea Hawk RTX 2080 card for use in a build video. This is a fair simple RTX card build that is purchased with a pre-installed All-In-One cooler. We wanted to see how well it overclocked and spent a night of gaming in order to do that and we have to say we were pleased with our results.
Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold RGB
By Paul Johnson   December 19, 2018
The Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold (RGB Sync Edition) claim to fame is that we can now have Frag Harder Disco Lights on, or rather inside of our PSU. While the RGB lighting is not much concern to us, we do however want to know if this Thoughpower stays inside ATX specification, and if so, does it shine brightly while doing it?
Battlefield V NVIDIA Ray Tracing RTX 2070 Performance
By Brent Justice   December 17, 2018
Can the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 muscle up the performance to play Battlefield V with ray tracing enabled at 1080p and 1440p now that the new RTX performance patch has been released? We will find out using an ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 OC and testing Battlefield V using 64-player MULTIPLAYER. Everything just works?
Scythe Ninja 5 CPU Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   December 13, 2018
The Scythe Ninja 5 is a very big CPU heatsink with a lot of cooling fin area, so we expect a lot out of it. The Ninja 5 also comes in a push / pull configuration out of the box. It has cutaways for taller DIMMs and professes to be "ultra silent." Let's put it on this highly overvolted Ryzen 7 and see how it handles over 140 watts of power.
Intel 2018 Architecture Day
By Kyle Bennett   December 12, 2018
Intel invited some of the press out to California to talk about where it is headed in terms of its overall business in the very near future. If news in the CPU world has excited you recently, you will surely want to be up to date with how Intel sees its future in the desktop market. If chiplets and 3D die stacking whet your enthusiast appetite, read on.