Articles

All Reviews

Corsair H100i PRO RGB Liquid AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 20, 2018
Corsair has just unveiled its new model Hydro AIO H100i CPU AIO cooler. These work with all new AMD and desktop Intel processors. Its new claim to fame is super quiet magnetic levitation fans. As usual, cooling our highly overclocked AMD Ryzen CPU is our focus, so how does it cool when pushed to the limit?
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Air Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   July 18, 2018
The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO heatsink and fan cooler combo has been around for about seven years and is incredibly affordable. This HSF is a go-to for many folks on a budget and others that just need cooling that is better than stock. What happens when we put it on our highly overclocked Ryzen 7 CPU?
Corsair AX1600i 1600W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 17, 2018
1600 watts is a lot of computer power supply to shoehorning into one small box. We have seen this attempted many times, and many times companies have fallen short. Corsair's new flagship AX1600i claims to be the world's best PSU that has gotten even better. We will be the judge of that and judgement has been passed.
Astro Gaming A50 Wireless Headset & Base Station Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 15, 2018
As wireless gaming headsets go, the Astro Gaming A50 comes in at the very high end when it comes to price. These will cost you $300, which is a pretty penny when it comes to upping your gaming experience. We wanted to give the Astro A50 a go and see if it is in any way worth the asking price. We were pleasantly surprised, and let down.
GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi AMD Ryzen Mobo Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   July 11, 2018
GIGABYTE’s flagship X470 motherboard is a gorgeous piece of hardware, packed with features and bristling with options. It fully supports AMD's Precision Boost 2 technology for new Ryzen processors. This motherboard has overclocking in mind with its design and of course has plenty of Frag Harder Disco Lights, should that be your thing.
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   July 10, 2018
We take The Crew 2 and evaluate ten of today’s latest GPUs in the game. We will find what the highest playable settings are, how video cards compare, and how specific graphics features compare in performance. We will find the best value for gaming, and what graphics settings work best. Is this game worth it, or a graphical flop?
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 09, 2018
The Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000W is angling to be the "best" 1 kilowatt computer power supply ever built. It boasts having some of the best power efficiency and delivery on the market, all while delivering features like being fully modular, a fully silent mode, and Seasonic's 12 year warranty.
Kingston HyperX Cloud Alpha Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   July 06, 2018
HyperX has a very big following with its Cloud series headsets. We are looking at its Cloud Alpha wired headset today. No 7.1 surround, no wireless, no software, no nonsense. Its claim to fame are "Dual Chambered Drivers," and is the exact reason we purchased these for review. Are these worth the $100 price tag?
SilverStone SFX SX650-G 650W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   July 02, 2018
SilverStone is back with us today with its new small form factor SX650-G. This one has a bigger fan and a few more connectors than the previous models, so we are expecting great results from this SFX PSU. This one clocks in at 819 watts per liter and does carry a gold efficiency rating. Flat shorty cables are stock with tiny builds in mind.
Logitech G933 7.1 Wireless Headset Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 28, 2018
In our recent discussions about wireless headsets, the Logitech G933 has come up lately as one of the headsets to surely be on your $100 short list. So we bought a set, and have done a good bit gaming, movie watching, and music listening this past week and have a good hold on what the G933 is all about.
MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC AMD Ryzen Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 28, 2018
MSI’s X470 Gaming M7 AC has a lot going for it with Precision Boost 2. It’s gaming and overclocking focus makes for a compelling option in a competitive sea of motherboard options for AMD’s new Ryzen processors. It has performance and looks as well, and a bit of subtle RGB if that is a checkbox you require.
The Crew 2 Video Card Performance and IQ Preview
By Brent Justice   June 27, 2018
We’ve got early access to The Crew 2 thanks to the Gold Edition, a brand new open-world racing game for the PC. Let’s find out how The Crew 2 performs on today’s GPUs in this preview. We also look at graphics settings and hit a little on Image Quality. Hopefully we will have some insight as we know a lot of readers have been waiting for this game.
Seasonic FOCUS PLUS Platinum 850W PSU Review
By Paul Johnson   June 26, 2018
850 watt computer power supplies from Seasonic are nothing new to us, but Seasonic is taking a bit of a different direction with this Focus line of PSUs. The Focus Plus Platinum has been designed with a small footprint in mind, specifically built for those looking to build high powered small form factor computers like HTPCs.
Cooler Master ML240R RGB AIO CPU Cooler Review
By Richard Gouge   June 21, 2018
Cooler Master's claim to fame with the ML240R RGB is, you guessed it, "THE MOST COLORFUL WAY TO COOL." Its Master Liquid series has recently gotten high praise from us when it comes to keeping your CPU cool using an All-In-One cooler. Cooler Master has taken its successful model and adorned it with lots of Frag Harder Disco Lights.
Gamdias ACHILLES P1 L Gaming Chair Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 19, 2018
When it comes to the trend of gaming chairs, the Gamdias ACHILLES P1 has some features that you will not find on many gaming chairs. It will satisfy your appetite for having Frag Harder Disco Lights, if that happend to be your thing. It is also separates itself from the heard by giving your a pull out leg rest for when you want to relax and take a nap.
Last Gen Games - Max IQ and Perf on Today's GPUs Pt. 2
By Brent Justice   June 18, 2018
It is time once again to play some older PC games on the latest GPUs of today using the latest drivers. We pull from three 5-year-old games and one 8-year-old game today and see if we can maximize the IQ settings in those games at 1440p and 4K. The theme of the day: Older games that still hold up today in terms of IQ.
Enermax MaxTytan 1250W Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 15, 2018
The MaxTytan is the flagship product in the lineup of Enermax power supplies. This is the largest capacity it builds and promises to deliver excellent efficiency. Semi-fanless features makes sure this PSU stays quiet up to ~70% load. It also has a very unique feature in that it will show you the power wattage being delivered on an LCD panel right on the PSU.
Seasonic PRIME 1200W Platinum Power Supply Review
By Paul Johnson   June 14, 2018
With BIG Power comes BIG Responsibility! How does Seasonic go about handling all that power with its new PRIME 1200W PLATINUM PSU? Given Seasonic's excellent track record when it comes to high-end PSUs, we have high-end expectations. Once you see the incredible price you will almost have to buy one. Really.
Alienware Wireless Gaming Headset: AW988 Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 12, 2018
We have spent the last few days living with the Alienware AW988 headset perched on our head and have gotten a very good idea of what the first headset from Alienware in nine years is all about. We gamed, we watched movies, and we listened to a lot of music. We tell you how it did and all the features and build quality.
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero AM4 Motherboard Review
By Daniel Dobrowolski   June 07, 2018
Along with the second generation AMD Ryzen CPUs, we are getting the new and somewhat improved X470 chipset motherboards. We have been beating on the Crosshair VII Hero for about a month now and have figured out what we like about, outside of it being an excellent overclocker for the Ryzen 7 CPUs.
State of Decay 2 Video Card Performance Review
By Brent Justice   June 06, 2018
The new game State of Decay 2 is out, running on the Unreal Engine 4. This is an open world zombie survival shooter and is getting a lot of traction with millions of players. We test and compare video card GPU performance in this brand new game. We will find out which cards suite it best at 4K, 1440p, and 1080p resolutions.
Corsair HS70 Wireless Headset Review
By Wayne Stovall   June 04, 2018
If you are a gamer, which we know most HardOCP readers are, a good headset is likely your lifeline in any online game when it comes to communicating with your teammates or even your adversaries. We have been using Corsair's new HS70 for a month now and wanted to share our experiences with this $100 offering.
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Overclocking Review
By Kyle Bennett   June 01, 2018
With the AMD Ryzen 7 2700 down to as little as $255, now is the time for us to discuss exactly what the benefits, if any, there are to purchasing the 2700 rather than its more expensive 2700X. If you consider yourself a computer hardware enthusiast, and are building a new system any time soon, you will want to give this a read.
Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU 10 Years Later
By Paul Johnson   May 31, 2018
We once again take a PSU, actually two this time, that we have been using for a decade, and run those units through the HardOCP PSU Gauntlet one more time. These two units were used for testing motherboards and video cards and have been pushed hard over the years. How does usage and age impact a top-shelf Gold Award PSU from the past?